We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total luxury!”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
10 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 30
Luz, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Liz F
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Total luxury!”
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our stay at Quinta Oceane was everything we hoped it would be. The house has everything you could possibly need for a week of fun in the sun. We all had an amazing time and really did not want to come home! The location is quiet and within a comfortable walk to the beach and a gorgeous ice cream shop. Loved the outdoor kitchen/bbq area at the house, didn't feel the need to go out for dinner every night as we loved bbq's with fish bought from the fish market in Lagos that morning! That is an experience worth trying! The best thing about the holiday was not hearing any complaints from the kids, they were far too busy in the pool and playing table tennis, they had a whole week without watching TV! I would definitely recommend this villa and hope to visit again soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCJames10...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wow amazing villa!”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Fantastic villa for large family holiday.
Bright open spacious living areas and good sized bedrooms although most of the holiday was spent in the outside area. Pool is amazing, could not persuade the kids to get out of it. Also many other activities including table tennis, badminton and table football which kept everyone entertained. Did not need to travel far from the villa to find supermarket, great restaurants and delicious ice cream. Everything else, including spectacular views, was more than catered for at the villa.
Would highly recommend this villa to anyone and cannot wait to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaFarra...
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A well equipped tranquil Villa”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A very stress-free location - beach/shops market stalls within walking distance. The villa is has everything you need for a perfect holiday..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misssunsh...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stop searching - this is the villa you're looking for!”
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We visited Quinta Oceane as a party of 17 girls in March 2017 and WOW what a place it was! If you’re looking for somewhere spectacular, this is it! The pictures do not do it justice.

The booking/payment process was simple and communication was excellent throughout. We arrived quite late in the evening and were met by a lovely man named Geoff who, before even arriving, had picked us up a number of essentials, drinks etc. He gave us the keys, showed us around and popped back down the road to collect a Chinese takeaway for us all as we hadn’t had time to eat that evening. What an absolute gem!

All bedrooms were of great size; each had two twin beds, an air-con/heating unit and its own en-suite bathroom. The bathrooms were all incredibly modern, clean and the shower pressure/heat was excellent. The kitchens (inside and outside) were both equipped with absolutely everything you could possibly need for self-catering, including a juicer for the lovely oranges growing on the trees outside! The lounge/dining area had comfortable sofa’s and ample seating for everyone to relax. There were board games, books, DVD’s, a Wii console, Amazon TV and a radio to play about with also. The outside area was the absolute best part for me – the swimming pool was huge and cleaned regularly, and there were lots of inflatables to mess around with. The jacuzzi (although a little cold) was refreshing and the sauna was definitely worth paying extra for! There is an electronic gated entrance for extra security and ample parking for many vehicles!

We had a few small issues occur during our stay, namely I think because we were the first group of the 2017 season, but these were all rectified quickly by Geoff who was polite and helpful throughout. Make sure you mention any issues – if they don’t know, they can’t help you! Our deposit was returned quickly and in full.

Overall, we absolutely loved Quinta Oceane and were sad to say goodbye after only one short week! If only we could have stayed longer. Thank you so much to Doug and Geoff for such a wonderful stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickmc55
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Luz great - Villa not so.”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
6
people found this review helpful

We had a group of 17 people (10 adults and 7 children ranging in age from 12 to 3) celebrating a 50th Wedding Anniversary. The villa is a good size and adequately accommodated our group.The property is located at the end of a very rocky, dusty dirt track approx 300/400m from the road. Not good for the car or body. The walk to the beach is about 25 minutes downhill for a reasonably fit person but a lot more difficult for more mature guests. The walk back from the beach/town is uphill and taxis are difficult to get. If you have dinner at night you may need one or more designated drivers to get back to the property.

There are 10 bedroom and some of the beds were very uncomfortable. We were only advised there were substitute mattresses available when we got home - a bit late. Despite a number of requests the AC failed to work in a couple of bedrooms for the duration of our stay. Anybody sleeping in a bedroom on the top level needs to be careful as there is a marble winding staircase and low roof at a particular point. Fine if you are under 5ft 6ins tall.I am 6ft 1in and had a few scrapes.

The kitchen and living area on the middle level are just about adequate for a group of our size. The toaster was broken when we arrived and we replaced it at our own cost with no questions asked. Additionally the couches in the living area are badly damaged and a number of our party got some stains on their clothing. Very disappointing when you have paid €12k for a 2 week stay. We paid a further €120 for WiFi that was useless and a total waste of money. Dont buy it.

The best parts of the villa are the external BBQ area and swimming pool. The kids really enjoyed the pool and kiddies pool.There is also a fuzzball table (good fun), a table tennis table (bats were unusable), all weather badmington court (we had to buy new racquets and shuttlecocks) and an outdoor sauna.

While the property ticks a number boxes a lot of the furniture is tired, faded, jaded and requires upgrading. The villa needs a lot of TLC. This was a big family occasion and consequently we did not complain nearly as much as we should have.

The biggest problem arose when we requested a refund of our deposit and were advised that it was being retained to replace damaged towels and bed linen.According to the owner the stains were caused by fake tan or sun cream.for all 17 people. Amazingly none of the towels or linen was damaged in Week 1 when we would have had the opportunity to reasonably contest any problems.We have had ongoing correspondence since mid July and the owner has made a number of ridiculous suggestions including posting all the towels and bed linen back to Ireland. We now recognise the deposit will not be refunded and we have ceased communication.
Draw your own conclusions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool are and BBQ
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
The clients did indeed stay at my villa in July this year and on return home to Ireland the main traveller sent an email dated Mon 25/07/2016 saying what a lovely and great holiday they’d had.

On Tuesday 26/07/2016 I received a breakage report from the villas Management Company stating that a lot of the linen were damaged:
Week 1:
DUVETS SINGLE COVER – 5
PILLOW CASES - 3
SHEETS FLAT SINGLE – 6
Week 2:
DUVETS SINGLE COVER - 7
SHEETS FLAT SINGLE – 5
TOWELS LARGE - 16
TOWELS SMALL – 10

After initially saying what a lovely and great holiday they’d had, after the damage report was sent to the clients they then changed their opinion making accusations - which were not brought to the Management Company’s attention at the time - even though the rental terms clearly state the Management Company must be informed.

The Laundry Company also sent a report which was forwarded to the main client who bluntly refused to accept any responsibility.
I then asked the Management Company to email photos of each damaged laundry item, to which they did.
I forwarded all photos to the client but again she simply would not accept the proof.
The majority of items had unsightly yellow stains and brown patches.
The damaged bedding and towels were in such a bad state and unfit for use that new linen had to be purchased to replace. Invoices from the local linen company were provided.

In trying to resolve the issue I sent another email to the client suggesting that I would pay the postage cost for all of the damaged linen to be sent to her home for her to see, and if she could remove the stains successfully I would be happy to reimburse her for each clean /non stained item.

On Mon 08/08/2016 I received an email from a different member of her group with a clear blackmailing message saying that he will be posting a review on the Trip Advisor website if the deposit was not fully returned.

On Tue 09/08/2016 the main client sent another email saying that she does not wish to waste any more time on this matter as we are clearly not going to reach an agreement.

At this stage, still trying to resolve the issue amicably, I even offered to pay again for items to be sent to the laundry to be rewashed adding a stain remover solution, bleach or vinegar, to try to get rid of the horrible stains.
The client replied saying that she does not believe that my suggestion was a viable or practical option.
I acknowledged her email and stopped further communication.

‘some of the beds were very uncomfortable’
The Management Company were not made aware of this, the comment was emailed to me after the clients return and I replied that if she had let me know at the time I could have the Management Company check and if necessary replace, having said that, we have never had any complaints about any of the beds.

‘Despite a number of requests the AC failed to work in a couple of bedrooms for the duration of our stay’
The villa is equipped with a centralised air conditioning system and if two of the units didn’t work then the whole system would stop working. The Management Company were informed by the clients that the AC ‘failed’ and arranged for an AC engineer to investigate, twice! The AC engineer reported that the clients didn’t know how to use the AC remote controls.

‘The toaster was broken when we arrived and we replaced it at our own cost with no questions asked’
The previous clients did not mention there was a problem with the toaster and the complaint clients did not inform the Management Company of a problem. According to the Management Company the toaster has been replaced with a basic inferior model.

‘WiFi that was useless and a total waste of money’
The villa is fitted with two broadbands. One supplies TV online and the other one is for the clients’ usage. Each are 24Mb speed which is the highest available in Luz. The Management Company went to the villa on Thursday 07th July to investigate the Wi Fi issue. They tested the Wi Fi on their mobiles and were able to access the internet. The Management Company reported that some of the Wi Fi routers have been “fiddled with” and asked the clients not to touch the settings.

`Table tennis bats were unusable, we had to buy new racquets and shuttlecocks.`
The villa is rented on a self-catering basis, sports equipment is not provided, however, if requested we always replace racquets and shuttlecocks, in this case the Management Company were not informed.

As much as I appreciated the booking from this client, I wish they’d booked another villa for their holiday and avoided a lot of time wasting for us, the Management Company, AC Company, and Laundry Company.

There is indisputable proof of the damage caused by members of this group from the villa Management Company and from the Laundry Company.
The villa has a great reputation with a high percentage of returning clients year after year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The kids absolutely loved the pools!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing