We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Portuguese Family Retreat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Lontra

The heated saltwater pool with sea view from the terrace.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The heated saltwater pool with sea view from the terrace.
The terrace is gated from the pool and the garden so you can keep adventurous little ones safe. Lots of room for parking cars.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The heated saltwater pool with sea view from the terrace.
The terrace is gated from the pool and the garden so you can keep adventurous little ones safe.
Lots of room for parking cars.
The bright, clean sitting room offers seating for all guests.
The salt water pool is kind to young, sensitive skin and eyes.
The garden is fenced from the pool providing a safe place for little ones to play.
A well equipped, clean modern kitchen.
The master bedroom has a double bed and en suite bathroom.
The second main bedroom has a en-suite shower room.
A balcony off the third bedroom offers quiet space for people to relax.
The fourth bedroom is clean and bright and has plenty of room for travel cots!
all beds are made with white bed line and bath towels are provided.
The house has three bathrooms and a separate loo. All are clean and bright.
Running around the garden!
Gin and Tonic anyone?!
Fresh croissants on the terrace!
Large steps into the pool make the perfect place for splashing about safely.
Lunch - quiche from the local deli!
The dining room comfortably seats eight but hopefully you'll be on the terrace in the sun!
Beach towels provided free of charge
dinner as the sun sets...something from the BBQ or ask for meals to be provided by a local chef.
A boat trip dolphin watching.
The nearby town of Lagos has lots to offer - markets, restaurants, grotto trips etc.
A view to remember!
Plenty of toys for little ones...
There are beautiful beaches from family friendly Luz beach (5 minute drive) to wild surfing beaches
The house has three clean and modern bathrooms (two en-suite) as well as a separate loo.
The spacious sitting room. wifi & free view included.
The master bedroom has a sea view. The en-suite bathroom has both a bath and shower.
The pool is fenced from the terrace and garden - perfect for keeping toddlers safe!
and relax .... children in bed, glass of chilled wine in hand and comfortable sofas.
A traditional Algarvian villa - beautifully modernised and deceptively spacious for 8 people.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Luz, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JoeyRoey
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Portuguese Family Retreat”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A fabulous property, with everything you need for a holiday with a young family.

This four-bed villa is fresh and bright and beautifully decorated. Three of the bedrooms are big and airy, and the third is a smaller twin. The storage is INCREDIBLE!

The owners have twin boys so the cupboards are stocked with loads of pre-school toys, kids cups and plates, dvds, playmat and toys for baby, baby bouncers, and there are two highchairs. The pool is also completely fenced off from the house and terrace so we found it easy to keep the kids away from the pool (we have a 3 year old and a 9 month old). The salt-water pool was a new experience for me and it was surprisingly lovely - no chlorine sting and my highlights didn't go green! (If you haven't experienced it, it's a mild salty water, not like the sea - more like swimming in tears?!)

Take DVDs as there is a player, but if you forget there are a load for kids and a few for adults. A large dining room, loads of crockery and glasses, and a huge terrace with a big table would make this a perfect villa for a group of friends or two families.

Unfortunately there is no air conditioning, and it was 42 degrees when we were there which was extraordinary and hotter than the kids had ever experienced. However there are fans in every room and heaps of windows to throw open during the day. The villa is situated up the hill from Praia da Luz so the view out to sea is amazing and you get the benefit of the breeze coming up the coast. It was quite lovely hanging by the pool.

Luz itself is a short drive away - in fact you COULD get away without having a car....but remember the hill! It's a sweet town with a nice beach, handful of good restaurants, Piri Piri takeaway, chinese, pizza (things to give mum a break) and a small, really well-stocked supermarket. Hire a car though and there are heaps of great day trips - we visited Lagos, and ZooMarine and the coastal towns but there is also the Zoo (?!) and water parks if you are brave!

I could go on all day about this fantastic place, but I'll summarise by saying - if you want a fabulous family - of friends - holiday in the Algarve, this is your place. We had a wonderful, wonderful time.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2017
Jo, Thank you so much for your amazing review of Casa Lontra. I am so pleased you had such a wonderful time in the place we love so much. I can't believe it was 42 degrees when you were there - that is HOT HOT HOT and fairly unusual for the Algarve. Maybe global warning ... and if it continues we'll have a look at the dreaded aircon! Thanks again for your lovely words - I really appreciate it. Let me know when you want to come back ;)!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin B
Tarporley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent for all age ranges from 3 to 70”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Everything we required and more. Very relaxing with plenty of furniture and heated pool. Very friendly staff including house manager, pool attendant and house cleaner. Place was quiet but with easy access to Praia da Luz and its facilities.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
Dear Martin Thank you for taking the time to review Casa Lontra. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahPhil...
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“We were all over the moon with our stay and couldn't believe how comfortable and well catered for we were!”
Reviewed May 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Finding a property to meet everyone's wishes was a tall order when taking into consideration the wide age range of our party (2 - 69 and everything in between), however we were all over the moon with our stay and couldn't believe how comfortable and well catered for we were - in fact, it became a standing joke that by the end of the holiday, come hook or by crook, we'd find at least one thing that hadn't provided and, if you exclude chopsticks (which of course are totally unnecessary), we failed miserably! A truly beautiful villa, perfect pool, great location, and close to all amenities and stunning beaches too!

And as if that wasn't enough, we experienced a truly easy, professional and friendly service from all involved in the booking and management of our stay!

What's not to L*O*V*E!?

Thanks Claire and family for sharing your special place with us (and your toys too boys), fingers crossed we're back some time soon! x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It still fills us with joy when other families enjoy the villa as much as we do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I wish it was mine”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This villa is just fantastic. We came back for the second time as it's exactly what we need. A home from home and we didn't want to leave!

It's beautifully clean and equipped with everything you could possibly wish for, especially if you're staying with children. No need to even pack toys and books.

The pool is fantastic and my children adored it. Nice to be able to safely lock the gate too for piece of mind.

The views are breath taking and it's so peaceful at all times of the day. I love first thing in the morning when the birds are waking up. Just sitting on the terrace in the sunshine. Stunning.

Definitely worth hiring a car if you're staying here, there's lots of parking.

Luz itself is a fab area with a lovely beach and fab restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Casa Lontra and for saying such nice things! Given you last stayed the year we bought and refurbished it and everything was all brand new, I am even more delighted that several years on you found it just as clean and well equipped. Makes all the thought and hard work we put in worth it! Thank you and Best wishes Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPLoughre...
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family holiday in the Algarve”
Reviewed May 26, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a terrific one week stay in Casa Lontra; 5 adults and an energetic 18 month old!

The pool area is really well set out and organised, with ample shade from the sun provided by parasols over loungers. This area is locked off by gates, providing security that the little ones won't wander where it isn't safe.

The living area is comfortable, with a lovely open kitchen and dining area - there's good fridge storage and all of the usual white goods (including washing machine and dishwasher).

For travelling with a toddler, Casa Lontra is perfect - safe, comfortable, plenty of toys and books, high chair/potty/audio monitor etc - it really is a home away from home.

There are plenty of amenities in Luz (around a 10 minute walk down the hill) - supermarket, restaurants, bars and a quiet sheltered beach (at least it was quiet in May!).

We would happily go back to the area and this villa in particular again. Many thanks!

(Suggestions for improvement: a door rather than curtain to partition the bedroom and living areas to limit the noise, the shade awning over the patio area was recently damaged - this would be really helpful for keeping one area cool and shaded from the sun in the heat of midday)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Wi-Fi was a little slow (a minor quibble - perfectly adequate for checking email etc)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
A new awning is on order so it will be ready for your next visit!
Best wishes
Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ally19720...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic child friendly villa”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at this villa with friends and between us had 3 under 3! The villa had absolutely everything we could need for our stay...toys/books/DVDs/high chairs/cots...this list goes on. It made our stay so much easier. I especially loved how the outdoor areas were divided and gated so we never needed to worry about little ones. The owner was extremely helpful and recommended a caterer who we used a few times during our stay...great food...great value...and no cooking for us! The area is lovely with lots to explore and gorgeous beaches nearby. We would definitely recommend Casa Mimosa!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2015
Thanks so much. So glad you had a great time and that the gates made life easier for you and safer for the little ones. So important in my mind!
For anyone confused by the two names Casa Mimosa is the name one of our baby friendly villa agencies uses - it's the same place as Casa Lontra!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TesniSian
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous family friendly accommodation!”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

With 3 children aged 4 and under it could have been a stressful holiday, but no. The villa was superb. All the facilities we needed and more, with toys and books for the children, lovely relaxed rooms with en suite bedrooms for the adults. The photos on line don't do it justice! The open plan layout of the villa means that you can see the children playing and know that they are safely away from the pool which is gated. We really enjoyed our time there.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2015
Hi Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so pleased you had a wonderful stay and the house worked so well for you. Making it family friendly was our aim from day one so it's great to hear that we got it right. Best wishes Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing