We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Praia da Luz

Praia da Luz
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful unspoilt resort. We have been visiting here for last 7yrs as a family. Everything is within walking distance. Lovely beach. Water sports available at Beach Hut Sports on the beach. Friendly and professional staff. Would highly recommend the dolphin sightseeing trip from the beach. Book in advance though as popular. Nice restaurants. Would highly recommend Aconcha which overlooks the beach for both lunch and evening meals, and recommend The Dolphin (South African menu) both warm and welcoming staff, and The Fortaluza for lunch and evening meals, the views are unbeatable. Lagos is only a short bus ride or taxi ride away, the bus costing only €1.60 if you fancy wandering around the shops and harbour. There is 2 main supermarkets Spar and Baptista. Recommend Baptista for freshly baked bread throughout the day and fresh meats/delicatessen counter, all reasonably priced. As always avoid highly priced imported recognisable products which can be expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    257
    74
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely town, people and beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

For our family Luz is a niced sized town, big enough for the basic shops and restaurants. Found a cafe on the beachfront that was good value for money. On the beach there was a company offering 15 minutes on a Jet Ski for 40 Euros, I had my 15 year old daughter behind me and 13 year old son in front of me and we shot around a circuit at full pelt. We couldn't believe how much fun it was, the sea was a little choppy and we hit 52kph and took off. 15 minutes may not sound like much but it was all we could take. My son and daughter also went out on a sofa towed by a speedboat and found that fabulous too. We had a car which we thought essential as there are lots of other things to do out of town (particularly in Lagos and the tiny beaches to the south of Lagos near the lighthouse). Reflecting the rest of Portugal that we went to I thought that no one was trying to rip us off and everything was as advertised. A credit to the people.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Agree with most of the reviews below.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I agree with most of the reviews below. The one that listed just three restaurants should
have looked further, as there are approx 40 eating places in walking distance of the beach,
which is central to most faciliteis be it banks, supermasrkets,bus stops, restaurants, bars,
self catering apartment and of course a safe sandy beach. Dianahat says it's bpring, but the once time capital of the Algarve is 15 minutes away. There is so much to do, Look at Luz Info for a very full list of things to do..How nice to escape the "big city " and get back to small friendly village with n apartment over looking
the beach...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bassbottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Highly recommend for family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Praia da luz is a small town with a fantastic beach and good restuarants but is totally unspoilt by mass tourism, so absolutely perfect for families/couples. Lovely staff in shops and restuarants. However, it is quite a small town so the restaurants get very busy so I would recommend booking in advance.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cornwall in the sun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Praia la Luz is a little unspoilt gem, super kind and friendly and so relaxed. We, the visitors, are from all over the world and you will not find just Brits, there is a greater number of Spanish, French, Portug, Italian, Scandinavian etc. We adore this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kerstin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Praia da Luz also viewed

 
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Praia da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing