We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, lovely location”
Review of Estrela da Luz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Estrela da Luz
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have just returned from a week at this hotel and we all thoroughly loved it.
The apartment was gorgeous. We had booked a 2 bedroomed self catering and received a 3 bedroomed one which we fell in love with instantly. It was huge! It had all the essentials needed for self catering including ample plates, bowls, cutlery, pans etc. There was a dishwasher and a washing machine too.
Ample towels and all bedding was provided (you can rent towels for the beach and pool if you wish)
As we checked in late, it was brilliant to find 2 large bottles of water in the fridge along with 2 cartons of milk and enough tea, coffee and sugar to see us through till the morning.
There is a restaurant in the hotel which was lovely and there are plenty to choose from in the town itself.
The beach is about a 20 minute walk away (downhill) and is lovely and sandy with restaurants and bars along the front.
There is also a cashpoint near the front too.
We went with 2 teenagers which was fine, but although there was a separate kids pool (which was lovely) there was nothing else for the under 16's to do other than a games room for the older child. We did go out of the main holiday season though so maybe they do more in the school holidays.
Overall, I highly recommend this hotel and would love to return very soon :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Simolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 637 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just spent a week in this wonderful resort complex and are determined to return again and again, so impressed were we with what was to offer.

There are one or two minor issues which I will highlight, the review should be 4.5 stars really but that not an option

Firstly the positives

This is excellent gated resort, with wonderful security. Each apartment has a reserved parking space in an underground car park, access to which is via an electronic remote controlled gate. You pay a €50 deposit for the remote which is returned at the end of your stay. Obviously this means your car is safe and secure and additionally it is always nice and cool when you get into it.

Entry into the complex is via a pin code through electric gates or through reception which is open 24 hours a day

Our apartment was on the second floor of two, and I would recommend asking for second or third floor with a sea view (ground and first floor may have obscured view)

The apartment we had was two bedrooms and was extremely spacious, it had two bathrooms and it was kitted out with everything you need to live there never mind holiday there - dishwasher, washing machine , microwave etc etc
Excellent furnishings , lots of towels, shampoos, conditioners etc etc

We arrived and found two large bottles of water in the large fridge freezer as well as two cartons of milk and enough tea and coffee to get you through your arrival

Lots of balcony space and plenty of furniture , beds firm but comfortable

Each room had independent air conditioning which was effective and quiet, underfloor heating also present

Wifi in the room with a decent signal

Electronic window shutters also present

Extremely clean and all items in excellent condition

Basically the accommodation was five star - we had one minor gripe which was the lock had broken on one of the patio doors so we couldn't lock it (not a major issue as we simply closed the shutters) we discovered this about 9pm on night of arrival , reported it with a request that it be fixed the next day - it was sorted by lunchtime - no issues whatsoever

The resort boasts two restaurants, with a limited menu offering basic affordable food which you can take away

Three swimming pools - one adult only, one mixed, and one toddler pool - something for everyone, didn't see any incidents of sun lounger towel protection all week, plenty of furniture available

Also indoor pool and excellent gym facilities

Poolside bar open at about 11am which offers again basic snacks and drinks

Our room was directly above the restaurant/bar and we didn't hear a peep (despite the World Cup,being shown )

Ticked every box for us - highly recommended in respect of the accommodation

Negatives
There is a slight issue of noise in the apartment, you can hear furniture being moved in adjoining apartments or footsteps from above, but this is minor and it's not the type of place were people are up,till all hours so its quite minor and did not really bother us

The resort is a few minutes walk from the beach and restaurants, great to walk down to , but a little bit of exertion is required to walk back up to the complex when pushing a buggy as we were, don't get me wrong it's not a major slog at all, but if you have a wheelchair or any issues with walking then Prai da Luz is not for you, the whole village is on a slope so you can't avoid an uphill walk.
This complex is well situated and is one of the nearest to the beach so it's very doable as long as you are not disabled or have major fitness issues

We loved it here, Praia is a fantastic location for families or those wanting things a little quieter, it's not a disco town, you can drive for 6 or 7 minutes to Lagos for that if that's what you want

Basically if you want to stay at Praia Da Luz, then stay here - you can't get better than this accommodation - we will definitely be back and will bring more family with us

Highly recommended

Room Tip: We had room C2D and would ask for this again, it is above the bar but as I mentioned we didn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank WelshDragon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a large (5 building} condominium complex that is managed by a company for short-term rentals. Everyone that we met from the complex spoke excellent English. Reception Office is a little hard to find (and so is your apartment the first time). There are 2 restaurants and 3 bars on the property. You will get new towels every third day. Sheets will be changed every 7 days. Every apartment comes with a full size refrigerator/freezer and a washer (there is a drying rack on the balcony). The pools are large and crowded, mostly with the vacationing British. Short 3-minute walk to a grocery store. Short 5-minute walk to the beach and several restaurants. Check-out is strictly enforced and is at 10am. Check-in is at 4pm, and not a minute before. This is a tourist town, and like nearly all Portuguese, they are polite and do not mind that you do not speak the language. Wi-Fi is DSL-based and is horribly slow.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Spent 10 days here end of June 2014 - The Apartment was super we stayed in a Studio Apartment - huge double bed, lovely bathroom with bath, fully kitted out kitchen, and wonderful beach views! The pool area was lovely, indoor pool and spa was great - especially the fact that they had Adult only hours!
Staff were friendly and helpful. Fab holiday!!

Room Tip: B1C was a away from pool area so very quiet and had beach views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Estrela da Luz is a wonderful place to stay! I am sitting on my EDL balcony now and staring at the ocean. In addition to the bedrooms, the rooms have a large living room, as one reviewer stated, they are large enough for a dinner party. The staff is patient and attentive, especially if you make a little effort to speak some Portuguese. They have a small but fully equipped gym, great indoor pool, jacuzzi and small sauna. The facilities don't ever really get crowded except in the height of the season in August. The kitchens are fully equipped, it is fun ,making my own coffee and orange juice in the morning.
The location is 5 mins from the beach and a wonderful supermarket called Baptista; go early and get freshly baked bread and the local favorite Pastel da Nata.
Estrela is also a 5 min drive from my favorite beach town, Burgau . Go there for Corso's Pizzeria and Hugo's live music at Smuggler's Bar. Also a great place for wine and the World Cup.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ono2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The apartments are great, they are very large, clean, all with balconies and have washing machines and fully stocked kitchen. Great for families, groups of friends and couples. Remember, this is not a hotel. But the rooms are cleaned and services every couple of days. They are great for self-catering and are so large you could throw a dinner party! But there is a hotel car/restaurant called Hugo Beaty's attached to the building which serves decent food and drink until about 2am. Sample the homemade lasagna it is really nice. The apartments have two swimming pools - one for the children and families and one for adults. The only downside (well, it irritated me) is that the rooms do not have numbers! I was in block A floor 3 room 2, or something, so my room was A 3 2 which is difficult to remember is you have to tell the staff. Also, in block A you can't get straight into the hotel's facilities unless you walk out on to the road through a security gate then back through another gate which seemed daft. But this is a lovely place - I didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Some of the larger apartments have two floors which is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wilkinson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The apartments are bright, clean and spacious. The pool & facilities are spotless. The location is 5 minutes from the beach.

The best part for my group of friends was the separation of the family and adult pools so that both groups got what they were looking for. There is also an indoor pool, sauna and gym which was well maintained.

Staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: All of the apartments are lovely. Top floors seem to have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gerhealyjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
12.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
19.6 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrela da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela da Luz

Address: Rua Professor Manuel Augusto Alves Catarino | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-136, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luz
#1 Spa Hotel in Luz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luz
Price Range: $58 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Estrela da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Da Luz Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Resort Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing