We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great short break”
Review of Estrela da Luz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Estrela da Luz
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a lovely four night break at Estrela De Luz. Our apartment was spacious, clean and well equiped (group of 8 friends for some b'day celebrations), the wifi is fast and free, the staff are helpful and friendly and the weather for mid October was amazing. We didn't visit the spa or gym (it wasn't that kind of break) but there were people using those facilities and it looked well equipped and treatments reasonably priced.

The pools are nice but we didn't spend much time there as the beach, which is only a 5min walk, is really beautiful, clean and quiet. There are heaps of places to eat and drink and we tried our best to visit as many as possible. All eight of us agreed we'd come back with families if not together again.

Great value for money, and I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parkgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 638 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

when with the wife, the mother and mother in law. Being close to the beach was great as the mother and mother in law enjoyed strolling to the beach in the morning leaving myself and the wife to enjoy the pool. Apartments were superb, could not fault the quality of the accommodation.
Used the restaurant/bar regularly and the food on offer was excellent, the staff were welcoming, friendly, professional and care about customer service.
The pool area was clean and well maintained.
Would return without any difficulty.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgsgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I were in Portugal for a total of 3 weeks. During that time we had the use of a rental car which allowed us to visit the country extensively and also gave us the opportunity to stay at 7 different hotels along the way. This was not one of our favorites. We stayed in room E2E...building E on the second floor in room 3.

Pros: Studio apartment was large and spacious especially since there was only 2 of us. Apartment was quite clean. Having a clothes washer and dishwasher in the apartment was a definite plus. Kitchen was large for an apartment and was well stocked with utensils, cups, glasses etc. Small balcony offered a partial view of the ocean which was marred by a view of a run down apartment complex. Fast wifi and close proximity to stores, restaurants and the beach.

Cons: The noisiest room with the thinnest walls ever!! While we only stayed for 2 nights....it was 2 nights with no sleep. The people above us had a child who liked to run back and forth across the room and who thought that other guests would also appreciate the sound of chairs being pushed and scrapped constantly across the floor. They also had late night guests that were loud and boisterous until 3:30 in the morning. The mattress was one of the worst that I have ever had the displeasure to sleep on.....it was not only hard.....it had steel coils poking through in many places....by the time we checked out...we had bruised hip bones from laying on our side and sore backs.....the sofa bed was more comfortable. It was nice that there was a clothes washer but there was no dryer....the clothes rack is useless on a cloudy day. Check in time was 4:00pm and Check out was at 10:00 a.m...(ridiculous in my opinion).

Overall I would not return. Initially I was wowed by how large the unit was but soon realized that the negatives outweighed the positives although I could see how larger families might like the spaciousness of the units, I for one need my sleep especially while vacationing and I was glad to leave and continue on to my next destination.

Room Tip: Pray that you don't get room E2E....the coils in the mattress will give you nightmares!! Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KarmaTravels007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Definitely come again next year. Great location for family stay. Beach is 10 minute walk, several supermarkets and tasty restaurants are right aside. Very friendly staff.
If you're tired of the day heat, then you could have a swim in several inland pools. They even got one for the small children!
Thanks a lot!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPGromov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for two weeks at the start of September and loved the place. Staff were really helpful and printed off our hire car papers for us and found my missing hat.

The apartment itself was huge. We booked a studio apartment and were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment, which was huge. Lovely kitchen, big balcony, spotless bathroom. Only gripes were the bed was rock hard and we were woken early each morning by the family above, whose children decided that 7 in the morning was the right time to scream, shout and scrape chairs around the floor. There was no sleeping through it. As all the floors are tiled you can hear everything.

I wouldn't go back purely because on holiday I want to relax and sleep until at least 8 and I wouldn’t want to chance getting unlucky and have noisy people above me again!

The room itself was faultless though.

Room Tip: Go for the top apartments!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monsterwilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

After a All inclusive holiday last time we went away, we wanted the same high standard of accommodation but with the opportunity to go out somewhere new every evening. Estrela is an amazing complex in the quiet resort of Luz. The adults only pool very popular and yet still quiet. Accommodation self catering and yet you get the nice touches such as extra pillows, uk sky tv, shampoos and soaps. One really nice touch, water and milk in the fridge plus coffee, tea and sugar sachets so you can have a hot drink on your first morning without hitting the local supermarcado. Also left for you a couple of washing and dishwasher tablets.

The apartments are very big and well appointed. The wireless works well (writing this to you on the balcony using said wifi) and aircon thankfully powerful.

Included is free use of a very nice gym with a lot of equipment (all working). Do not miss the fantastic spa. The whole body massage the best this writer has ever experienced. (reserve a couple of hours after for a nap, you'll need it)

Staff very helpful and friendly

Note, taxis are cheap and plentiful. 10 euro to go to Lagos for a day of lounging by the marina or go on a boat trip.

Highly recommend and will be coming back

Room Tip: Go one bed apartment. Huge. Get apartment towards the front of the complex to avoid the pool heater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stinus1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We came here with our four small children and really love it. We got a two bedroom apartment. It was HUGE. Plenty of room for all of us. The children's pool was fantastic, as was the adult pool. We loved that there was also an adult only pool so we didn't have to worry about the kids bothering anyone. The beach was right down the street and was beautiful. There were many restaurants and shops nearby. The beach boardwalk was fantastic to stroll in the evening. Couldn't have asked for a better place. Oh, and the gym was much better equipped than normal hotels, free weights, modern cardio equipment.... highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murphyfamilyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
12.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
19.6 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
13.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrela da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela da Luz

Address: Rua Professor Manuel Augusto Alves Catarino | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-136, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luz
#1 Spa Hotel in Luz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luz
Price Range: $53 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Estrela da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Da Luz Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Resort Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing