We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”
Review of Estrela da Luz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estrela da Luz
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

So with all the positive reviews I was still a little skeptical but having been there last week I can say that this place is excellent. We went for a three bedroom apartment and it was enormous. The main room had an en suite which was the same size as the main bathroom, both had twin sinks in there. There were also 3 balconies with 1 being shared between two of the bedrooms. The kitchen was well equipped with a washing machine and dishwasher and had plenty of cutlery and glassware.

The only downside was that the apartment we were in (A2A) had no air conditioning which I was surprised at but it was not needed. There were external shutters on all windows which kept the apartment cool.

The adults only swimming pool was excellent and was nice to just lounge around without children. The interior sauna/gym/swimming pool were all excellent.

Definitely recommend

Room Tip: Make sure if you are going in summer to get a room with air con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flidmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    119
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
220
258
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Brilliant, honestly this was everything we could have asked for. Superking size bed, loads of room, kitchen was fully equipment (better than my own in fact). Very clean, a genuinely lovely place, it was good value too compared to other places on offer, we paid £575 for 8 nights in sept 2012. I don't have a single gripe. We even got upgraded to a 2 bed apartment, that said we didnt use the second room. I think each or many of the apartments are individually owned, C2D (our room) was fantastic though. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have stayed in many places over the years and this has to be the best accommodation we had booked a 2 bed however upon arrival we had to phone and check we were in the right apartment we were given a property with 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms and there was only 2 of us!!! The place was spotless inside and out and the restaurant had the nicest staff stopping everyday and having a chat and even remembering orders fantastic place and lovely area would definately stay here again and again and from someone who doesn't like to go to the same place twice thats saying something.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bwillis444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We arrived and discovered our 3 bedroom apartment was actually a luxury penthouse with loads of space, really high quality furnishings and fantastic sea views. Our 14 year old had a double room to himself and our 10 and 13 year olds were happy to share their quirky twin bedroom, (with a great double shower room in between). Our double was massive, with a small balcony and a second bathroom just next door. The kitchen had everything you could ever need, (much better equipped than mine at home!) and the entire apartment was sparkling clean.
Reception staff were helpful and friendly and even checked us in on line for our flights the day before departure.
Swimming pools were adequate, although towels were removed if you left your sunbeds for more than 30 minutes. A larger children's outdoor pool area would have been beneficial, as it did get quite busy and sunbeds were limited. It didn't cause us any major problems however and with the beautiful Luz beach being only a ten minute stroll away, it didn't really matter anyway.
Altogether our stay at Estrella was fabulous and we're really hoping to return next year. We don't normally do this so it really had to be outstanding!

Room Tip: If you want entire peace and quiet, ask for a room away from the front where the bar / restaurant is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo, plus a pull out couch and 3rd bathroom in the loft. We had 3 balconies with different views of the resort and town. The condo was modern and clean and had a full kitchen if you wanted to cook. The resort had many families (mostly British) with 2 outdoor pools and an indoor pool/gym/ spa area. The community of Luz is very safe and nice to walk around. Many of the restaurants offer British meals but we found lots of variety. Economically this was an excellent place to stay. Meals and drinks were very reasonably priced in Luz. We were not a far drive from Lagos and booked a kayaking trip from there which was a highlight of our week.

Room Tip: You may not want a room too close to the childrens pool if you are not traveling with youngsters as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank familyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very nice spacious rooms with a fully equiped kitchen and separate living area, and two balconies. Nice swimming pools. Only one big disadvantage: the hotel is very noisy. If somebody in another room moves a chair, you can hear it in any room in the building. Moreover there is bar with loud music that can also be heard in your room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed in a large three bed/two bathroom apartment for two weeks at the start of July. The apartment had everything you could need and was spotless as was the entire complex. There were three pools, one of which was adults only and one was indoors which was a big bonus as the outdoor pools were quite cold. The onsite bar had pool tables and games which the kids enjoyed. They had a reptile show one evening and a kids club one night a week which allowed us to get out for a quite meal for 2! Staff were all very polite and helpful and reception even printed our boarding passes. The town of Praia da Luz was very nice and was just a short walk away as was the beach. The beach was fantastic with cliffs in the background and excellent watersports available. The restaurants in the town were of a very high quality. I have never experienced so may excellent restaurants in one town. We spent a morning in Sagres which I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dublin18_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
12.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
13.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 52 in Lagos
3,168 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
409 reviews
19.6 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrela da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela da Luz

Property: Estrela da Luz
Address: Rua Professor Manuel Augusto Alves Catarino | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-136, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estrela da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Da Luz Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Resort Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing