We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, but far away from great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2010

just returned from vila valverde - great room, rather poor service. of course, germans are always happy when they are welcomed by germans, but - sorry - this, still, is portugal. after 10 days in portugal i never felt farther away from portugal than in vila valverde.

cold eggs for breakfast, staff looking away when you greet them, minibar "empty", no showers at the outdoor pool, no towels.

again, room was almost perfect. we had number 15 and if you and your partner don't have a problem with a bathroom (and toilet) glass door, just go for it. stay away from the shower, don't know who has planned it, but must have been a person who does not like to take a shower.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank martin_austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 169 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2010

This small Design Country Hotel is really a gem: embedded in peaceful surroundings, with outstanding interiors and a very nice service. I spent already my fourth holiday in this house since 2004, this time for a short break of a few days only. I was once again impressed by the unique ambiance and even more by the fact, that the owners and staff are still trying harder. The place was already beautiful and got yet a little bit famous the last years. But the owners are continously investing and really taking care of the apple of their eye. This winter the lobby hall and all rooms have been renovated or/and changed in decoration (of course the originality was kept). And today you can even find more lovely details and facilities: e.g. an espresso machine in each room, free of charge, an artificial small "beach" next to the swimming pool, mountain bikes to rent, special green fees for golfers, massage and physiotherapeutic treatments on request. For individualists, couples (perfect for honeymooners!) and all those who are looking for something special: there is no better place like this in the Algarve!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Klaus1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

my husband and i stayed at vila valverde and got married on praia do camilo. from the moment we drove up the winding driveway, i was impressed. the architecture and design of the place is impeccable. the staff is multilingual, incredibly attentive, and remembered little things about each of us ("would you like a coffee with milk again this morning?"). we arrived a day before our reservation and they were completely accommodating, our room was already prepared and we were able to make ourselves at home immediately. we stayed in a superior room, which was spacious and well-designed. the evening of our wedding, we had dinner on our room's private balcony. it was the BEST dinner i have ever had. i had the monkfish and my husband had the pork chops, both on the recommendation of the staff, and both were absolutely delicious. i was so impressed by every detail.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

Excellent hotel wth fantastic modern decor from the minute you enter the reception. Room booked was a superior room which was exceptional, very spacious and even had the benefit of our own private terrace/garden which the children loved to play out on!Grounds kept to a very high standard and outside pool and beach is a fantastic idea (although a little cold for our time of stay!!!) we did however make the most of the indoor pool which kept our children entertained! Only dissappointment was fact not more catered for children (i.e. high chair for restaurant area) however we have already booked our return trip but this time as a kid free experience!!! Staff were very friendly and helped with nay queries or requests we had - Can't wait for the second trip for some relaxation!!! Already recommended to family and friends who will be visiting later in the year!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Nice property Hotel, we stayed 2 nights it was very relaxing atmosfere.
We booked one standard room trought the internet site of the Hotel with the credit card and everything was ok....dispiste in the begining we was afraid for giving the credit card details.
The prople from the Hotel staff are friendly and help us finding a nice restaurant where we had some fresh fish.
We can say to other potential clients Vila Valverde is defenitly one place you should visit.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank weekendtravelLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

We made a reservation 3 months in advance and paid in full. When we arrived, we were told they were "overbooked". August in this area is very busy and hard to find accomodations. They put us up in a resort in the center of lagos that was not comparable to V.V.. There was nothing we could do. It is a nice property but customer service was not a priority. They did refund one night but that did not make up for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HR2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2006

What a wonderful place! We have so enjoyed our time here. The attention to detail in the architecture is beautiful and in the service, so appreciated. We will tell all our friends and hope to return ourselves one day! Many thanks!„
Elizabett&Jason Boston - USA 2006-11-09

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank portugalalgarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.7 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
13.1 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,495 reviews
3.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#9 of 53 in Lagos
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda
2.7 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
439 reviews
18.9 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel

Address: Estrada da Praia da Luz | Valverde, Luz 8600-209, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luz
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luz
Price Range: $140 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very nice design, with special emphasis on aesthetics, functionality and comfort turn Vila Valverde in an exclusive place for individualists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel Valverde
Vila Valverde - Design And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing