We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
49
33
10
2
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
49
33
10
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short walk to the town kayak trip visit lagos a ground floor room hot breakfast recommend this hotel peace and quiet a great place to stay lovely hotel large room late at night sea view night stay pool area lovely pool bus stop hire car
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 101 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is amazing... Nice service, great apartments and more than a fair prices. They even have a bar within a complex where you can sit outside in beautiful green garden, right next to the swimming pool.
TIP: avoid taking breakfast because it's rather poor (only cereal and milk) and costs 5€

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank crosokol92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandro C, Gerente at Vilamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2018

Thank you for your review.
Although it's a nice review all and all, it lacks truth when it comes to the breakfast.
Our brekfast has cakes, croissants, white bread, cereal bread, toast, different types of cheese and different types of ham, sweet, honey, butter with and without salt, chocolate in the likes of Nutella, olives and several different types of vegetables, including sauces such as zaziki, 3 different types of cereal, sesame seeds, dried fruit, fruit salad, oak milk, almond milk, regular milk, orange juice, a machine that makes several different types of coffee with freshly mowed coffee, several different types of tea available, sugar, Brown sugar, sugar free, scrambled eggs, bacon or sausages everyday, plus more… you can eat and drink as much as you want for 1h30m for 5€ and you say it's poor?! I really felt like mentioning this was necessary, although your review was, as I said, all and all, positive.
Thank you once again.
Regards,
Vilamar Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here from 19 Oct to 29 Oct and really this hotel is good value for money. The staff are excellent and the rooms clean. We ate a couple of times at the bar and couldn’t fault the food and at the BBQ which was excellent value and very good. We had a hire car so we’re able to visit many places recommended by staff during our stay. Overall this is a decent hotel and as mentioned good value for money.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank lindylou1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

The exterior comepletely lets the hotel down, we almost asked the shuttle to keep driving when it stopped here.
Staff friendly but a funny smell of grease fills up the hotel corridors and rooms. Pool was clean and good sized just very cold which was too bad in the heat as it was quite refreshing.
No entertainment. There is a bbq twice a week but the man only wore an apron and wa sweating over the stove so we didn’t try the meats although we heard it was lovely.
Twenty minute walk downhill to the beach and restaurants which was a healthy option for us however would be a struggle for some people.
Needs work done but the holiday is what you make it :)

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank sandj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandro C, Gerente at Vilamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Hello!
Opinions are opinions, everyone is entitled one and it counts what it counts.
We appreciate feedback when it is constructive, not when it is criticism for criticism's sake!
All I can consider constructive is your comments on the outside, which are a bit vague. Perhaps you should know, before anything else, that this is a building composed by 13 fractions, which one of these 13 fractions is the hotel. Like any building of this kind, there are areas that belonge to the building, areas that belong to the private fraction owners and areas that belong to the hotel. It does not depend on us alone to change any communal, we cannot change privately own areas, all we can do is maintain and improve the areas that belong to the hotel.
It's easy to criticize when you do not know the reality and what exactly you are talking about. I will not dignify a response to the rest of the things I have read as I do not think they are worthy of a reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Hotel set in lovely gardens with a view of the sea.Staff in hotel very friendly could not be faulted.Food at snack bar Very good and better priced than in resort.No bars or facilities near hotel ,fifteen minutes walk downhill to supermarkets.Taxis back to hotel from Praia about five euros and worth it when hot.Hotel advertised as being in Lagos but it is a thirty minute ride away and buses are not very frequent.Rooms in hotel very clean,some with a sea view.Hotel website says all rooms have a terrace or balcony but there are two rooms which do not if booked if booked on some online sites.All in all a good budget hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank kenneth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Lovely hotel/apartment complex. As others have said, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Place is really clean. Snack bar is just what you want. Pool and grounds are well maintained and cleaned almost every day.

Only downside is the distance from the town. I'm a fit 59 and its a 12 minute walk (downhill) into town for some shopping ( Spar supermarket is excellent and comes with my recommendation). Uphill, even early in the morning, is a hike and you are going the sweat ( and I'm saying that in October).

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lemmy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews