We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food & The Staff Are So Nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Galley

The Galley
Ranked #38 of 55 Restaurants in Luz
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: http://www.luz-info.com/bars.htm#Galley
Colchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food & The Staff Are So Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We ate here three times in one week just because the food was good but the staff were second to none. They could not help my little girl enough and nothing was too much trouble. They went beyond the call of duty and really helped as we were a little frazzled at times. I would recommend any of the fish dishes as its always fresh and also book if possible to get a great view of the bay itself. I cant say more positive things about this so give it a go as you wont be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    120
    116
    61
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice view service poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We waited far too long for a couple of toasties, well over an hour and other tables that came in after us were served first. When it arrived some was missing, not much of an apology, brief sorry, and walked away. Food average. View great, but that's about it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caz769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great service, and great food, fantastic location overlooking the beach, The Galley seemed to attract all ages which contributed to the over all atmosphere
We will be visiting again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“GETTING BETTER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We came back here after a few mediocre experiences in the past. We got seated at the front with a cracking sea view. Restaurant was busy but service was faultless. We had sea bass, piri piri chicken, spag bol and a I had a vegetable curry which was ace. Wine was great also and not over the top on price. Overall, very pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Was our first restaurant on holiday, very busy, needs more staff.
Even so staff still had time for chat, house wine and food where very good and good price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Galley also viewed

Luz, Faro District
 

Been to The Galley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing