We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but food average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Galley

The Galley
Ranked #37 of 55 Restaurants in Luz
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: http://www.luz-info.com/bars.htm#Galley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great location but food average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

A superb location overlooking the beach but the service and food lets it down slightly. It is probably Ok for lunch and breakfast but dinner let it down, maybe because this was a quite time of the year

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AstirGrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    121
    116
    63
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

An above average restaurant. Pleasant, nice menu, good service, good house wine, great views over the bay.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good quality food presented by caring staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

During our holiday week in Portugal, my partner and myself bot both found this restaurant excellent both with the food but also with the atmosphere. Both th Portugese and English staff were very informative and friendly, talking us through menu options and providing guidance where needed.

My partner orderred the Chicken Piri Piri while I ordered the mini stuffed squid, with additional salad. The quality of the food was outstanding, very fresh and cooked to perfection. The chicken was flavour filled but not overly spiced, the squid was filled with an appropriate cheese and was not overcooked. The salad was simple but obviously freshly prepared and the chips were crisp and as expected. The size of the servings was fine and the final bill was reasonable given the quality presented.

We would go back and have the business card filed as a reminder.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whaleshome2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a bit disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

we were recommended this place by a friend but we were a bit disappointed after our visit. we got there quite late as per english standards but early as per portugese standards to find it was a bit 'dead', i understand that october is a bit out of season but there are still plenty of tourists here in luz so i think we should have taken that as a sign. we had the cover of bread and sardine paste, we were looking forward to trying sardine paste after seeing it on a few menus and were a bit disheartened to be given a pot of pre made paste, considering we are in the sardine capital why cant they make their own fresh paste? we then shared a starter of fresh melon and parma ham, parma ham, why parma ham?! we arent in italy? why not some nice portugese ham? for mains i had grilled salmon, i was greeted by a massive slice of what we would call a salmon steak in the uk with the bones left in, if i am paying for fish in a restaurant i am paying for them to remove the bones! it was so dark on the terrace which was nice and romantic but i could hardly see to pick of the bones, so i pushed and prodded around till most of the salmon was mush on my plate. i can say however that the salmon was a lovely flavour and cooked very well so it would have been fine had the bones have been removed. my partner had the duck in grand marnier which he said was ok but nothing special. we left as quickly as we could, no pudding or alcohol as there was no atmosphere and the waiter merely plonked things in front of us without whispering a word in english or Portuguese.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PinkLondon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
150 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Go For The Fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We’ve been hear a number of times and at €12.50 the fresh grilled fish is superb and the view over the beach, if it’s not too dark, is excellent. We found the service this last time excellent, I was amazed at how the staff worked together like a well oiled machine. Book or get in early if you want a seat outside, it’s very popular, our only gripe is that they’ve stopped serving litre carafes of wine, making you pay out more on a bottle but it’s still a good value restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gbf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Galley also viewed

Luz, Faro District
 
Luz, Faro District
 

Been to The Galley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing