We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime food and drinks”
Review of The Coffee Cup - CLOSED

The Coffee Cup
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: I f you want a snack this is a hidden jem. In the St James complex Praia da luz. All home made and cheap & always served with a smile from Sue.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lunchtime food and drinks”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Finally the coffee cup has reopened and we weren't disappointed! We own an apartment on St James so this is a welcome addition to our holiday experience. Great selection of sandwiches, salads, jacket potatoes and breakfast menu. Also on offer are homemade cakes, drinks, alcoholic beverages and snacks. Very friendly owner, lovely food and great value we will definitely be back can't wait to sample the very extensive menu superb!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola23ros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's open!!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Coffee Cup has re-opened with Bianca at the helm. Great selection of food to choose from, wonderful sandwich fillings any way you like...baguette, panini, toastie, wholemeal...the list goes on.

There are jacket potatoes and salads, fried breakfasts, all sorts...and the prices are much more sensible than most cafe's in Luz.

Bianca is really friendly and welcoming and I am sure will do very well with the new Coffee Cup!! Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank supremegermalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luz
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Will be reopening - soon?”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

After talking to the owner of this lovely establishment I was told that our Coffee Cup will be reopening I hope sooner than later as we have lost too many good places in Luz

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalusia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Coffee Cup - it's empty, and for sale!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Probably another casualty of the economic crisis in Portugal. Sadly this is the view of the restaurant from outside - all closed up and with a For Sale sign in the window. I was therefore not able to review the place but thought that since it's still showing as No. 1 in Luz, people might like to know. Since I was not able to put a N/A rating I have given it an arbitrary 3 Star rating.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank VillaPoniente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“"GREAT LITTLE COFFEE SHOP WITH LOVELY FOOD"”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Tucked away in the St James Appartment Block in Luz this lovely little cafe run by mother and daughter Susan and Natalie is an absolute gem.You are looked after from the moment you enter until the time you leave and you will enjoy the food, especially the home made cakes.
Well worth a visit!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter grafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Cup also viewed

Luz, Faro District
Luz, Faro District
 
Luz, Faro District
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing