We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best so fare in luz”
Review of Aquario

Aquario
Ranked #10 of 56 Restaurants in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Commercial centre Edeficio Luztur.
Tromso, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best so fare in luz”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

have been here for a holiday in luz , and have a very good meal With starters , maincourse and desert i Aguario. the best so fare after many meals on othters restaurant before . can not understand at this is nr 6 at rating . nr 1 if you aks mee and my wife

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wawil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    32
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A great restaurant.”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

In my eyes this was the best restaurant that we ate at in Luz. The food was excellent and we had a wonderful evening. I really enjoyed my scallops and beef stroganoff. It is a small and intimate restaurant. Would definitely go back if ever return to Luz.

Helpful?
Thank Anne470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best in Luz by far”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The quality of the food, service and staff at this excellent restaurant are in sharp contrast to the location of it, which could easily put off any potential customers who might happen to walk past. This restaurant is far and away the best restaurant in Luz and indeed the surrounding areas. It's small, intimate, immaculately clean and with a comparatively small menu, but everything is prepared to an excellent standard with imagination and flair and without fuss. We've been numerous times and the standard never drops an inch. The fact that even in low season when you walk past virtually empty local competitors , you may well still need to make a reservation to get a seat here is testament itself. The brothers that own/run the place are both modest and charming simultaneously, and deserve the success that they enjoy. If this restaurant was in London you'd be waiting weeks for a seat and paying a ridiculous premium to boot. In some ways I'm reluctant to promote the place, at the risk of not getting a seat again, but it's worth people going, and certainly worth a drive out, should you be in an around this area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Exceptionally good restaurant”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

In our opinion, the best restaurant in Luz. Run by two brothers, this place is a delight.
With only 24 covers and a floor area of about 70m2, this manages to be an intimate dining spot.
The quality, presentation, ambience and service were excellent. It compares with Vista Alegre in Lagos.
We started with the couvert which consisted of several plates containing such things as mussels in cheese sauce, caviare on small biscuits, and cured ham. €3.50/head.
Flambeed prawns in garlic butter and brandy was served on a bed of boiled rice and was a real treat at €9.0
We all had saddle of lamb which arrived exactly as ordered and in a generous quantity. In common with most Portuguese restaurants, you will not be overwhelmed with vegetables, but hey, you can have those at home!
Wine is not cheap. As an example, a bottle of Casal Garcia is €13. In the supermarket it is €3.30.
With coffee and brandy, the meal came to €178 for four persons.
WiFi available

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Back again!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Back again! Once more, food and service exceeded expectations. Simply cannot fault Aquario. It's not the cheapest place, but it is definitely the best in Luz, and in Lagos too. More than a meal, it's a dining experience . Beef Wellington is to die for and cooked exactly to your liking.Well done guys, keep up the good work.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol23263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquario also viewed

Luz, Faro District
Luz, Faro District
 

Been to Aquario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing