We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, friendly staff and excellent food quality”
Review of Hotel Luz Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Luz Bay
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We have just returned from a week's holiday, our intention was to relax and relax we did! A very quiet location with restaurants and bars in very easy walking distance. We stayed on B & B basis which was really beautiful and also we ate here a couple of nights also. We were really well looked after by highly trained staff and nothing was too much trouble for them. If you are wanting a get away holiday then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orewachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 302 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2010

My Husband and I have just spent a week at Luz Bay Hotel, we couldn't fault the place, staff and service. The rooms were immaculate, towels changed every day. We had bed and breakfast and the choice was excellent all very fresh. The hotel is in a lovely position five minutes walk to beach, a good bus service into nearby towns, a couple of supermarkets which stock everything you need.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birbeck29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Went to the Luz Bay Hotel the first week of May so it was very quiet. The hotel itself is worthy of a Four Star although i would recommend just booking in as a Bed and Breakfast guest. We had a standard room that was plenty big enough and also had a fridge which came in handy for storing bottles of water. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the seafront which is gorgerous and there are plenty of small cafes, restaurants and bars to choose from.
I would recommend the Duke of Holland pub and you MUST go to Pastelaria Chicca which is a small Cafe that serves the most wonderful food all 100% homemade and the desserts are to die for. The owner is certainly a character you wont forget.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louisehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

A low-rise low-key hotel. Delightfully laid out and in quiet location about 5 minutes walk from beach and 10 minutes from town centre. Resort is also a delight. We had superior room which was excellent. Buffet breakfast is first rate. You may wish to avoid going half-board though: buffet dinner was remarkably cheap but very boring - go on, try the good restaurants in the town instead! We went off-season when whole area was quiet and low-key. We would certainly wish to avoid high season when it is much hotter and far more crowded.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrynEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I stayed here with my 21 year old son for three nights (whilst visiting my daughter who's working in the town) and I would thoroughly recommend it. Our twin room wih a balcony was very comfortable and spotless throughout. The balcony had a table and two chairs. We had a fridge in our room which was ideal for chilling our drinks. Our room and balcony was cleaned thoroughly every day. Our stay included breakfast and we were spoiled for choice with the variety on offer - there was even chilled champagne available. The staff were very helpful. A socket in the room was broken and within a couple of hours of me reporting it to reception it had been repaired. There is a buffet dinner available in the evening but we preferred to eat out locally. The hotel is only a five minutes walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mungo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

spent two weeks July / Aug 2009 - Nice hotel allrooms are very spacious and quite comfy too, all overlooked pool area. Pool was never crowded which suited us as we wanted a nice quiet beak. Very breezy late pm almost every day - Blew almost all parasols out of stands so no shade available when really hot. Breakfast was realy good and evening meals were simple but very nice - Different versions of chicken, pork and fish every night as well as salad galore 12.50 euro that you can buy as you go.Luz is pretty quiet and restaurants can be a bit pricey - 12- 18 euro wil buy a nice meal but food is a little less expensive in Lagos - 15 mins or so on the very good bus service only 1.30 euro.. In Luz Would recommend Dukes rest - had two really nice meals - Valentinos was good also the Fortelensa was a nice atmosphere but not good value for money the Sunday Jaz BBQ was expensive. Lovely small beach that is quite busy but clean. Two cash machines in the square - Go to Spa just 50 meters behind the square as other small supermarkets charge much more. Kelly's bar is probably the only decent pub - the bull is ok for a quick drink but no atmosphere. Luz is a lovely place but VERY QUIET if you are looking for a night club - You wont find one !!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourbyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Hotel was clean, well organised with pretty garden area and nice pools. One was reserved for adults which, selfishly , I appreciated now ours are grown up. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice although the appartent absence of fresh juice was a puzzle. And what's with tinned peaches when the shops are full of luscious locally grown fruit? The staff were pleasant helpful and efficient. The hotel is just a short walk to the pleasant beach and a choice of restaurants. On the main road just across from the post office is a pastry shop which is well worth a visit for fresh orange juice and wonderful local cakes. When we booked we ticked sea view, understanding that it might not be available. It was surprising to find (despite exploring other floors) sea views were minimal. We were also a bit disappointed with our 'superior' room. The superior meant we had a walk trhough room as well as the bedroom. However as the bedroom opened on to the balcony it felt as if it was the wrong way round. We would have had the same use from just a bedroom.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dweenCumbriauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
2.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#9 of 53 in Lagos
1,465 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
439 reviews
1.3 mi away
Luzmar Villas
Luzmar Villas
#5 of 9 in Luz
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz Bay

Address: Rua do Jardim | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luz
Price Range: $22 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luz Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luz Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing