We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful hotel”
Review of Hotel Luz Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Luz Bay
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent 10 days at this hotel in early September. The only room available to book through Thomas Cook at the time, was a superior room which was very large with a twin sofa bed in the entrance hall area, twin beds in the main part of the room which also had a sofa so plenty of room, but not really necessary for 2 people but great for families that want a separate sleeping area for children. We were on the top floor overlooking the pools facing west so got afternoon/evening sun. Some rooms faced south with larger balconies and there are quite a lot of ground floor rooms with patio. The room was kept very clean with towels changed every day. The room had a full fridge, which we used for drinks, milk etc. There is a coffee maker in the room but you have to pay a daily fee to use it. Thanks to reading a previous trip advisor review, I took a travel kettle so was able to make hot drinks.
The pool area was nice with a a family pool and a children's paddling pool separated from the adult only pool by the pool bar (very expensive). The sun beds were dire and desperately need to be replaced or recovered and they needed more sun umbrellas. The pool was never busy, perhaps because the lovely beach was a very short walk away.
The staff were very friendly and worked very hard.
We were on bed and breakfast and didn't eat dinner in the hotel. Breakfast was plentiful but could have been better. The fruit "juice" was awful, like diluted squash. The "fresh" fruit was mostly tinned apart from delicious oranges. We ate at the Mirage restaurant up the hill twice, one night, Wednesday, they had an all you can eat BBQ which was E14 for adults and kids could eat free. They had a singer on the night we went. An enjoyable evening.
Praia da Luz is a charming little resort, no high rise hotels, beautiful beach, very laid back. Can imagine out of season it would be pretty dead but perfect for the time of year that we went. Apparently it is pretty busy in August.
All in all we would definitely recommend this hotel, but it could be perfect, if they addressed the few issues that I have mentioned.

Room Tip: If you want a large sunny balcony ask for top floor south facing,pool view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelagent52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Luz Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 295 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Spent 10 days at this hotel this September and unfortunately was extremely underwhelmed. The location and grounds are very nice and quite picturesque however for what is apparently a four star hotel we found the rooms to be very basic. Both myself and my girlfriend were extremely disappointed by the general level of comfort in the room in comparison to other 4 star hotel we have ever stayed in. This may seem like nit picking, but I am a firm believer that its the little details that sometimes make a hotel stand out.
If the hotel was rated and advertised as 3 star it would be a very good hotel at this rating, but simple things like a lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, very rough towels, limited storage space and a general lack of homeliness left it feeling decisively average and was lacking a single thing that I could say stood out as excellent.
Thankfully we got the room at a very cheap price otherwise we would have considered asking for a refund so we felt at the end of the day we were getting what we paid for.
Bottom line I would not pay their advertised full rates per room, if you can get a room at a very low price it is worth it so long as you are aware that you will be getting a 3 star experience and not a 4 star one as advertised.

Room Tip: Only stay if can get a good discount.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marclechefster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just returned from a week in this Hotel and I can honestly say this one of the nicest Hotels and well kept places I have every stayed at. The room was lovely and clean towels every day, and the beds changed every two days. BBC 1 on TV so enough to let you know what is going on in UK(not that you want to know)!!!. Lovely breakfast, all you need - Choice of cereals, Fruit., Juices., Tea, Coffee., Sparkling water and Still., Fruit., and choice of eggs., bacon Toast Crossaints and cakes, I could go on and on. The place is really quiet and a great place to "get away from it all". The short walk to the lovely sandy beach is flat although there are some hills in and around Pria da Luz but nothing that is not manageable. I will certainly recommend this place and I am definitely going back.

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are excellent, I can say that in this Hotel there are no bad rooms they all have a gre...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnblaenavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for one night and got a 30% reduction on the room so we felt it was v good value. Lovely large functional room, beautiful well kept gardens and 2 pools plus baby pool. One pool for adults only which meant it was nice and peaceful for an afternoon doze! The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast however was v poor: the orange juice was thin and artificial tasting, the selection of fruit was very limited and mostly tinned, we had to make our own tea, coffee and toast and the cooked breakfast items were greasy and lukewarm. Only 5 min walk from the beautiful beach and choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeckyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

even there is a small place LUZ has quite many places to stay.Spending one week there I can tell you that LUZ Bay is one of the best choice. Well positioned , close to the beach, nice room(even with old towel on the bathroom), good breakfast, cheap wi-fi.
There are 3 pools (including child's one) but only few are coming on the ocean's coast to spend time on the swimming pool.
Staff helpful and well prepared along with free parking
One stupid aspect (but not important) is that there are only 10 TV stations on the cable. \hard to understand but , at the end , in holiday I spent less time in the room.
overall good value for money

Room Tip: All the rooms have view to the pool
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week late August peak season. Hotel is well located 5 mins to the beach in lighted area and pleasant walk.
Hotel is clean with lovely gardens and 3 swimming pools (infants/play or family pool/adult pool. Gardens are well maintained and a pleasure to walk round and the many colours the plants offer enhance the Hotel. Staff attentive and welcoming and always of assistance and ensure your holiday will be a pleasant one at the Luz Bay.
Rooms are spacious with adequate facilities included (coffee machine/fridge and bar/TV). Spotlessly clean and towels changed every day and bedding changed every 2 days. Continental breakfast had been booked in package and was pleasantly surprised this was a full buffet style breakfast that included the usual serials, fruit, hot and cold dishes. Breakfast finishes at 9.30 and attending at last minute some of the hot dishes are nearing the end available and not topped up!
This is a quiet Hotel as is Prai Da Luz in general. Probably only 83 rooms in complex and sitting at poolside is without any difficulty at any point of day and no need to reserve beds at poolside as always plenty available.
It is a lovely place for a quiet holiday with excellent restaurants, enough drinking venues and not over commercialised in anyway, felt like old Portugal as it should be.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel was clean quiet and relaxing, if all you want to do is sit by the pool reading a book then this is the hotel for you .We got upgraded once we arrived at the hotel which we thought great but soon realised this was not as good as it sounded ,we got room 018 on the ground floor and we never got one bit of sunlight on our terrace ,another thing bad about room 018 was all the air conditioning units along the outside of our bedroom wall about 6 in total and when at night they was all in use the racket they made gave me lots of sleepless nights. Breakfast had lots of choice but we never had dinner in the hotel. As for the resort...very sleepy place , if you want shops and nightlife then this is not the place for you , I found it far to quiet if the weather turned bad then they was not much to do either in the hotel or the resort. The highlight of the holiday was the restaurant called mirage...great service, great food in a great setting , went there most nights and got friendly with the staff a great set of guys. would I go back to praia de luz....no, far too quiet for my liking

Room Tip: take a travel kettle with you if you want a cuppa
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onslow1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
3.1 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
3.5 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
0.6 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
3,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
427 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 52 in Lagos
1,438 reviews
4.1 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#6 of 9 in Luz
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz Bay

Address: Rua do Jardim | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luz
Price Range: $34 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luz Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luz Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing