We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Luz Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Luz Bay
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week late August peak season. Hotel is well located 5 mins to the beach in lighted area and pleasant walk.
Hotel is clean with lovely gardens and 3 swimming pools (infants/play or family pool/adult pool. Gardens are well maintained and a pleasure to walk round and the many colours the plants offer enhance the Hotel. Staff attentive and welcoming and always of assistance and ensure your holiday will be a pleasant one at the Luz Bay.
Rooms are spacious with adequate facilities included (coffee machine/fridge and bar/TV). Spotlessly clean and towels changed every day and bedding changed every 2 days. Continental breakfast had been booked in package and was pleasantly surprised this was a full buffet style breakfast that included the usual serials, fruit, hot and cold dishes. Breakfast finishes at 9.30 and attending at last minute some of the hot dishes are nearing the end available and not topped up!
This is a quiet Hotel as is Prai Da Luz in general. Probably only 83 rooms in complex and sitting at poolside is without any difficulty at any point of day and no need to reserve beds at poolside as always plenty available.
It is a lovely place for a quiet holiday with excellent restaurants, enough drinking venues and not over commercialised in anyway, felt like old Portugal as it should be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    112
    53
    24
    12
See reviews for
46
157
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel was clean quiet and relaxing, if all you want to do is sit by the pool reading a book then this is the hotel for you .We got upgraded once we arrived at the hotel which we thought great but soon realised this was not as good as it sounded ,we got room 018 on the ground floor and we never got one bit of sunlight on our terrace ,another thing bad about room 018 was all the air conditioning units along the outside of our bedroom wall about 6 in total and when at night they was all in use the racket they made gave me lots of sleepless nights. Breakfast had lots of choice but we never had dinner in the hotel. As for the resort...very sleepy place , if you want shops and nightlife then this is not the place for you , I found it far to quiet if the weather turned bad then they was not much to do either in the hotel or the resort. The highlight of the holiday was the restaurant called mirage...great service, great food in a great setting , went there most nights and got friendly with the staff a great set of guys. would I go back to praia de luz....no, far too quiet for my liking

Room Tip: take a travel kettle with you if you want a cuppa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onslow1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from a 2week stay at this lovely hotel,our room (125) was a garden view room so it was quite private and quiet.The room was very spacious and well equipped,towels and sheets changed every day,all the staff were were friendly and helpful.Luz is a beautiful little town and the beach only 5minutes walk from the hotel.We travelled on the local bus from the church to Lagos and from the terminal there we went to different places,just ask at the ticket office for a timetable.We stayed on a B/B basis and ate out at night,favourite restaurants were The Galley(on the prom) and The Pariso(on the beach).Will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mammamia26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosyth, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Looking for a relaxing holiday then this is it. Hotel clean comfortable staff friendly breakfast plenty of choice dinner menu restricted if you are like me fussy but a wonderful restaurant at the top of the hill called Mirage (where they do things that aren't even on the menu for you, if they can).If i was returning to Praia de Luz then i would definitely stay here

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Saved our life!No where to stay after booking problem with airline.Problem taken on board by Felicity and room offered with no drama. Wonderful place great facilties(I was sorry it was only for one night)Must return.Brothers Frere

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just back from a 2 x week stay at Hotel Luz Bay. On arrival we found the reception Lady very helpful and friendly and explained everything to us.
She also gave us a bus route so we could pop to Lagos which is an amazing place for only 1.60 euros each - takes about 25-30 mins- worth a visit and bus stop up end of road.

Given directions to room I was surprised it was so basic when inside- I had paid extra through Thomas Cook for a deluxe/superior room which had a bedroom and a living area but the living area was just a sofa bed and table,(this area never used- only for towels and coats when coming through front door) we spent all our time in bedroom as this had the tv and balcony over looking pool.
It was great to have the fridge in the room for water and fruit etc ,this also has a mini bar with several cans of fizzy and water. I would advise taking a travel kettle as I did, the room has a coffee machine which is 10 euros to use.

The layout of hotel was very easy to get around, and always spotless in the gardens and around the pool areas. A lot of people used the pool bar which was open everyday even when grey. The hotel has a small laundry area above room 003 which has a microwave, cooker top, iron and iron board at no extra cost. Im afraid I was unable to use the washing machines and no coins available as an outside company had not emptied it. Thank god for clothes drier outside on the balcony and hand washing powder I got from in town.

Rooms cleaned and towels changed everyday of our 2 week stay even though they say only changed 3 x a week.

The staff around the hotel from reception- bar- gardeners-cleaners- and waitresses/waiters always so polite and happy to help- thank you.

We paid extra for the safe which I never have an issue with as this is important to me- it was 15 euros a week and 15 deposit which you get back.

The only downside to the hotel was breakfast!! this was served between 8-10am but as being on holiday some days you want a lie in and we went for breakfast 9.30am to find no bread, hot food dried up and scraps of fruit left. We don't eat a lot but got a tut when asking for some bread on a couple of occasions. Otherwise lots of choice for all nationalities.

My only bit of advise is to take a thick jumper/coat as really chilly in the evenings and windy all day- its a warm wind during the day which is nice but god its cold in the evening.

Great stay fantastic restaurants and only 5 min walk from a lovely beach and promenade, I would visit this hotel and resort again.

Also a really big thank you to the reception Man on the morning of 20/06/13 at 5.50am who phoned a taxi for me as our transfer had forgot us !!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnie78Cornwalluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel is clean, good value and welcoming. It doesn't have ultra modern rooms like the adjacent Villa Baia apartments, but if you want hotel service with daily room clean, breakfast and beautiful gardens/pools then go for Luz Bay. The staff at reception, pool bar and breakfast were very nice too. I would stay here again. Its a short walk to the beach. Plenty space to park the car.
It would be good if they could provide free WIFI although it is available for small charge. Same with room safe. I think it would be better to charge an extra 15 euros per room per week and offer these as included in your holiday price.
It would be good for families or there's a separate adult only pool area, which is a great idea too. I honestly couldn't find any fault with this hotel, I should really keep quiet about it so its not fully booked for my next trip!!

Room Tip: We opted for a superior room for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bev11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
3.1 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
3.5 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
5.0 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
2,881 reviews
4.1 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#7 of 8 in Luz
21 reviews
4.3 mi away
Luzmar Villas
Luzmar Villas
#5 of 8 in Luz
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz Bay

Property: Hotel Luz Bay
Address: Rua do Jardim | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luz Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luz Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing