We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent for longer family stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luz Bay
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent for longer family stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Modern but very nice hotel not far from the beach. Offers big rooms aither on the ground or first floor. It consists of several separate houses which of them having about four rooms or you may call them apartments. Very spacious bedroom together with living room. TV set, air conditioning, desk, chair, fridge, sejf and big wardrobe included. Very clean and tidy. Big bathroom with bath tub and a series of nice smelling cosmetics. You can rest on the terrace just in front of your room (table and chairs available there). If you wish to do some washing there is also a drier available on the terrace. Beautiful flowers and plant on the terrace, two swimming pools just at the hand's reach. Sunbeds for free. The garden in which the houses are situated are very pretty and beautifelly groomed. Restaurant offers breakfasts, dinners, suppers (not included in the price of the apartment). Nice and friendly staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are just perfect:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    103
    49
    22
    8
See reviews for
44
139
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is our 4th visit to this hotel and we absolutely love it. Staff are excellent and accommodating. The lady and chap on reception are very helpful and the restaurant manager is always very welcoming. The breakfasts here are very good with an assortment of cereals, breads, preserves, hams cheeses and a hot buffet section too. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and our room, a superior tŵin, overlooked the pool, with a sunny aspect throughout the day. Rooms are kept spotlessly clean with daily maid service. Relaxing by the pool and total peace and quiet are what we enjoy when we stay here. We always feel totally chilled out after a week here and it has to be said that this place is the highlight of our holiday calendar. Look forward to returning later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bamb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethard On Sea, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

While it is a little hard to find and was not signposted, we found this hotel in January 2013. The hotel/apartment was lovely, the staff friendly and the breakfast beautiful. Praia da Luz is beautiful, small and relatively unspoilt. It only cost €42.00 for the room for 2 persons including breakfast - great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just returned from a very relaxing 1 week break here. The hotel was immaculate and the hotel staff were great. The main lady on reception was particularly helpful. I can't understand why others have rated this hotel down based on the area being quiet...Luz was quiet but it is to be expected at this time of the year. The hotel was super!

Luz was a great resort, no awful high rise buildings, a selection of very good restaurants and a lovely beach. Perfect for couples who want a chilled time. A few of the restaurants were closed but some very good ones were open.

I would suggest that you hire a car if you fancy an explore around the area....we would do this next time. It's really inexpensive. We pottered around Luz for the week and went on a few walks.

Great hotel and would go there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaFletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Me and my husband went to stay at this hotel for a relaxing break (i was 4 months pregnant) and relaxing is exactly what we got!

If you are an older couple this might be your thing, for us this was far too quiet. To see any excitement you needed to get a taxi, the local pubs nearby didnt have any entertainment, the beach was lovely but no sun loungers you had to take your own, and there was literally about 10 people at any one time in the area when ever we walked out.

Extremely quiet and quite freaky as you were literally in the middle of nowhere!
The hotel its self was very quiet too no one about, and the meals were very limited i think there was about 5 different hot bits in the tray and that included all your veg too.

this hotel was aimed at older people (ie - 70 plus) we were 28-30 and it was far too quiet - everyone was in bed at 9-10pm!

Thanks

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank york123047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Like my last review, I'll keep things brief. The hotel is in a nice area, is very clean and very quiet. It's ideal if you want to wind down and not be disturbed. Like previous reviews have mentioned, ask about everything you want to know as the staff are not interested. Carlos, the chief staff manager is about the most dis-interested person I've ever encountered. The rest of the staff bar the maids and one gentleman we met were all the same.

You have to pay for the safe which is 30 Euros, you get 15 back as deposit but everything else is extra. The maids clean your room regardless of you leaving the do not disturb sign out, we didn't notice anything go missing but that did trouble us.

The rooms are very nice, very clean and spacious with en-suite, no basic things like kettles though.

The local area has plenty of restaurants, one for almost every night of our week for our tastes. We recommend Restaurante Saffron Kitchen, a fantastic Indian place! Spar is also nearby which is handy for snacks. The beach is also fantastic, brilliant viewpoints and plenty of places to get a small snack at while you take in the view.

Lagos is about 30-40 minutes away by bus which has about 1-2 days of exploring in it with touristy and local shops.


In summary: If you can get it very cheap and you can't find anywhere else, go but don't expect 4* service to go with the 4* venue. If you can afford somewhere else, you'll notice the difference.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xCobyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is exactly what we wanted. It is very very clean indeed. The staff were lovely. It was very quiet this time of year. The evening meals were nice. Not a great deal of choice but what they give you, they did it well. The local beach is fabulous. Take the coastal walk from Luz to Lagos for some great holiday snaps. We had to climb a very steep hill to start the walk so be warned it's not for the faint hearted. Car hire is necessary. If you are into golf, Espiche Golf course is a short drive away. Great price at only 35 Euros a round. It's a new course that's not quite finished yet which is why the price is what it is. Be warned about car hire companies at Faro Airport. They will milk you for every penny. Research it thoroughly before hiring. If you are going to use the motorway there is toll charges now. I would recommend this hotel if you are after a quiet holiday. Would I go back? Yes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
3.0 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#16 of 50 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
0.9 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#7 of 8 in Luz
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Estrela da Luz
Estrela da Luz
#2 of 8 in Luz
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz Bay

Property: Hotel Luz Bay
Address: Rua do Jardim | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luz Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Luz Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing