We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, easy place to be”
Review of Hotel Luz Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Luz Bay
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Kildare
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Peaceful, easy place to be”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Spacious, clean, friendly hotel. A very relaxed place. If you're looking to "party, party" it's probably not the place for you but if you want to get away from the world it's lovely. We had a really spacious room - I think they all are from talking to other guests. 3 pools - one for adults only, one paddling pool for kids with an adult size pool beside it. There is a kids club but they're rarely in the pool area so if, like me, you're there without kids it's not a problem. Plenty of loungers in sun or shade. Snack hut beside the pool: drinks are a little expensive - a local beer is €4 here compared to €2.50 in the bar by the beach, salads are lovely and fresh, menu has not much local and a lot of fast food (probably by demand), only 1 woman working it all day so you might have to wait a few minutes as she tries to take orders and serve and cook all by herself. Breakfast is good: a wide variety of continental & cooked options. Wouldn't recommend the dinner though: it's a buffet and pretty limited - especially when there's some great restaurants close by. (especially recommend Cafe a Fabrica - looks like a burger joint but the chef really knows flavour) It's about a 4-5 minute walk to the beach. (assuming you're walking at a snails pace to avoid overheating). Bus stop to take you to Lagos is at the top of the hill about 2-3 minutes walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CM1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    119
    65
    27
    17
See reviews for
53
176
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful relaxing stay at the Luz Bay hotel. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and the rooms are spacious and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is really good too. The surrounding areas are beautiful. It's well worth hiring a car to visit the amazing coastline. We wouldn't hesitate to visit again.
Warning to other drivers, do not follow sat nav directions they lead you to the hospital in Lagos! Check out directions on map before you arrive. Otherwise absolutely fab holiday to Portugal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Luz bay hotel is a lovely quite hotel that has all the basics. Very clean rooms and nice gardens. The adult pool is great for couples and people wanting some quiet relaxing sun bathing.

Breakfast was nice but a bit repetitive as most are! The hotel staff are nice and very helpful.

The location is great as all the restaurants, shops and beach are 5 minutes walk.

Try chiccas, dolfin and lime tree these were our favorite restaurants!

*luz is lovely but be warned it is hour and half from faro and the beach chairs cost €15.00 these were the only down sides to the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at Luz Bay from 21st August to 1st September we were a family group of 17 including 2 under 3's.
We were very pleased with our rooms at the hotel our room was 008 on the ground floor, it was very spacious and very clean and tidy with a travel cot they had provided for our daughter. We had a nice balcony with table and chairs and a clothes horse to dry any washing. We were quite disapointed not to have a small kitchenette in our room and not even a kettle but we found that a short walk to the first floor had a lovely little kitchen with everything you could need Washing Machine, dishwasher, plates, cutlery, iron/iron board.

If we could pick the hotel up and put it in a busier livelier place we would have, it was a bit quiet for us and not very practical because of the massive hills and cobble stones as one of our family members was in a wheelchair and we had 2 pushchairs! The hills were not stated in the Tomas Cook brocher.

We thought August would be a great time to visit Praia da Luz but out of our whole holiday only 2 days were wind free and were not talking a little breeze it was almost a hurricane! The sun umberellas were blown out of the holders several times, we are just glad no one got hurt! If you have something to eat or drink in the pool bar watch it doesnt get blown away... The pool bar had a nice selection to choose from when they have it in stock but the prices are a bit expensive 8euros for a small pizza! (4 slices)
The 3 swimming pools were a good size but absolutly freezing, and when the wind blew it was horrible. One of the days we sat round the pool we had to bring our blankets we were sooooo cold. The sea is also freeeeeezing!

Our favourite restaurant was Allora which is up the road to the hotel it has very nice Italian food but we did find mostly all the restaurants needed to be booked first. Others to check out are The Galley which have lovely seafood and a beautiful view of the beach, if it wasnt so windy 'Look' that have massive burgers and Barocca who do a great BBQ, But we found it hard to go too far because of the long walks.

The Hotel bar was nice but found the drinks in the eveining were a bit pricey e.g 3 small baileys 15euros! The Breakfast was a nice selection, but the evening buffet was E.A.M.A.Y.L for 16euros each we found it nice but very repetative and a bit plain at times.

3 days before we left we found a huge crack in our ceiling which had water coming out, we later found out it was a leek from the room above. They dealt with the problem quickly considering it was 10pm. They upgraded us to 026 which was bigger but there was one problem with the location it was even windyerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!! it must have been 30mph winds at night we could NOT sit on the balcony at alllllllll!!!!!!!

Overall a lovely holiday shame the wind put us of of Portugal FOREVER!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was our second time back at the Luz Bay Hotel. We spent 10 days there back in June. When we booked we specified a room with a balcony and we were pleasantly surprised to find that we had one of the superior rooms which was split on two levels with bathroom, lounge and kitchen area downstairs, and bedroom upstairs. Both floors had balconies which was a bonus ! The rooms were cleaned and the towels changed on a daily basis with the bedding changed every other day. We found the hotel complex very clean and tidy, and the staff very friendly and helpful. We especially liked the fact that the Luz Bay has 3 pools, one of which is strictly adults only..which was very much appreciated.
The buffet breakfast was a bountiful mix of hot and cold dishes, the bread rolls are very moreish. You can eat in the hotel restaurant of an evening, however there are plenty of very good and varied restaurants in Praia da Luz which is within 10 minutes walk of the hotel. If you want a truly top class eating experience, you cannot do worse than eat at either Fortaleza da Luz or the Dolphin Restaurant. Both are a top quality eating experience, with great views across the bay.
If you fancy a cocktail whilst enjoying a blast from the past then you have to visit Carlos Bar,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just arrived back from a week at the Luz Bay Hotel and only have positive comments regarding the hotel. It was extremely clean with beds being changed every other day and towels every day. The rooms are well equipped and a very good size, ours had a large balcony that we made good use off especially at night. The buffet breakfast had plenty of hot and cold dishes to choose from and staff were always attentive and polite. The grounds were lovely with great landscaping and colour, the gardener was always tending to the grounds. There are 3 pools, one for children one for families and one for adults only which we welcomed. The pool area took delivery of new sunloungers on oursecond day which was great as they were extremely comfortable. The hotel itself was very quiet at night which if your looking for a more lively holiday I dont think this would be the place for you. Praia da Luz itself has some good restuarants and a lovely beach but beware the sea is extremely cold!! Lagos is much livlier and only 25 mins on the local bus and well worth spending a day there. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing holiday in a good location.

Room Tip: Room on first floor near reception and above the dining room, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LourdesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here from June 28th for 10 days. Lovely place with well maintained gardens in a peaceful setting.. I liked the idea of the 'adults only' pool although on our last day some kids did invade our idyll........someone complained but I think that as the kids were Portuguese they weren't told to leave !!
Our room was on the first floor and although we only booked a double I'm sure it could have slept 6 easily as there was a bed settee and coffee table at the other end of our large bedroom as well as another room with another settee....very spacious !! ( for info room 125 )
Breakfast was wonderful with everything you could want although the bacon was a bit undercooked - I put mine through the toaster a few times - it did the trick !!! The fresh fruit was especially good.
A few niggles though !!
The prices in the bar and pool bar were crazy and we could understand why not so many people used these facilities ....the pools, even the kids pool which was shallow, were freezing and though the weather was scorching there was a real wind around so if you did manage a dip you really felt the chill getting out !!! (the sea was even colder !!)
Not sure if the weather is always like this in June/July but we could never eat outside at night as it was too cold and we always had to wear coats or our woolies !!
Luz itself is very quiet , just a few bars and restaurants - most close at 10 !!! Very different from it's neighbour Lagos....
Found everywhere expensive and couldn't believe they were charging €15 for a sunshade and 2 beds on the beach.!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo1355Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
3.1 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
3.5 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
0.6 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 52 in Lagos
3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#6 of 8 in Luz
32 reviews
0.7 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
0.4 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz Bay

Property: Hotel Luz Bay
Address: Rua do Jardim | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luz Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luz Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing