We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belavista da Luz
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Wanstead, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic time”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay at the Belavista for a week to celebrate my 50th birthday with friends and family and cannot complement it enough. Both the rooms and the food in the restaurant are faultless with the staff being very accommodating. If you go try and do the Barbeque night by the pool, its great food at a fantastic price. It isn't my first visit and it definitely will not be my last. If you want a quality relaxing holiday look no further.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are so glad that we were able to help you celebrate the big event in style and thank you for you kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    71
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
81
151
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

As the title suggests this is our 2nd review of the Hotel Belavista and I guess not the last....! If you have read the preceding reviews from visitors you will already be well informed about the Hotel, facilities and wonderful staff. Our children love being here and if they are happy we are happy (if could see me now I have a grin from ear to ear). "Jack food" what is Jack food? The Hotel has a poolside bar like any other poolside bar apart from it is run by Jack and his amazing team and this makes this the best poolside bar in the Algarve...! As Jack makes his way past the sunbeds in the morning towards the bar with his bag of goodies that he has either chosen from the market or personally harvested from the sea, there is excitement as people sit up in anticipation of what will be on the lunch menu. Makarel? Sardines? Squid? Sea Bream? Sea Bass? Mmmmmmm. It's obvious that they are proud to present this and really want the dish to be enjoyed. So, this review is dedicated to the Poolbar, not forgetting all the rest of the people who make the Belavista such a great place. (did I mention that the coffee at breakfast is the best I have ever had?).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllenMurrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you again for the generous comments. We are very lucky that our staff try to ensure that our clients see the best of Portuguese hospitality and Jack at the Pool Bar goes to great pains to see that everyone has the opportunity to taste local specialities. We hope that you continue to enjoy our hospitality here and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned from another perfect holiday at the Belavista da Luz. We have visited the Hotel for numerous years now and it very reassuring to be greeted by the same friendly staff who are always willing to help you in any way they can. All the areas of the Hotel are cleaned to the highest standard every day. At breakfast you have a lovely selection of hot and cold food to choose from. Having the option to eat in the Hotel in the evening is lovely as there is a very good al a carte menu as well as a "specials choice"
The Hotel is at the top of a hill but a short walk to the village will take you to the beach and various restaurants. We always choose a large bedroom with a sea view. Thanks to Danny and all the team for a great time!

Room Tip: We always have chosen a large room with a sea view as we love to watch the sun go down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheQuinns_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We are so glad that you continue to enjoy your holidays with us and we hope to maintain and improve our service so that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My family spent 9 nights at the Belavista hotel at the beginning of August 2013.
It was the first time we had stayed at the hotel and therefore were "newbees" compared to the majority of the guests who visit year after year.
The staff are the key to the success of this fantastic hotel,making guests not only feel welcome but part of a big family!
All the reviews i have read are true. The hotel is a safe and welcoming hotel, ideal for young families but not perhaps for teenagers.The restaurant has a good Portugese feel to it and provides good food at a reasonable price.
Having stayed once, we are now hooked and have just reserved three suites for April next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite on the top floor of the hotel to avoid lying in bed and listening to residents above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your first stay with us and that you were made welcome. It is our aim to create a relaxing ambience and it is good to know when we succeed. We hope that you will not be disappointed on your future visits and will look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from a five night stay at Belavista da Luz and thoroughly enjoyed it. I cannot fault the hotel - it was spotless and the staff were excellent, so helpful and friendly. The shape of the building means all rooms look out over the pool area and I think some rooms higher up have a sea view. The rooms have everything you'd need, including a fridge which was handy for keeping drinks cool. There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool - no need to get up early to reserve a good spot - and the hotel provides towels which you can also take down to the beach. The walk down to the beach takes about 10 minutes and slightly longer on the way back because it is uphill. The hill wasn't as bad as I was expecting and at most times of the day, one side of the road is in the shade which helps! We stayed on a half board basis and the food was superb. They have a different menu each night with a choice of three starters and three mains and there is a dessert trolley. The drinks are very reasonable and you settle the bill at the end of your stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it was exactly what we were looking for - a nice, quiet, relaxing week!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteEmmaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your first stay with us and particularly pleased that you managed a relaxing time. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We returned to The Belavista in June for our 11th visit and had another amazing holiday. The staff throughout the hotel are genuinely friendly and very helpful making everyone feel welcome . Nothing is too much trouble .
The rooms,restaurant, bar and pool area are all excellent and we are already looking forward to our 12th visit in 2014.

D & V Bearsden Scotland

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivien c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Holiday spoiled by kids taking over the pool, shouting at the top of their voices. Not a place to go as a couple that are not into kids and want space in the pool. Not much to do in the way of entertainment.
Staff excellent however, service and attention to clients excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you have been disappointed with the noise in the pool but unfortunately for you you have chosen a time when children are on holiday and families are enjoying their annual break. It may be better at this time to choose a hotel that is adults only. I can assure you that most other times you would enjoy a much quieter stay. We do have live music during the week but most guests at this time just come to relax in the sun. During other seasons we have more entertainment on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
1.7 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
3.3 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#6 of 8 in Luz
25 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#8 of 8 in Luz
272 reviews
4.2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 50 in Lagos
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belavista da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belavista da Luz

Property: Hotel Belavista da Luz
Address: Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-147, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belavista da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful beaches and mountains and less than 1 hour from Faro Airport, this is paradise for the short-haul flyer. With old cities to explore and mouth watering menus to choose from Hotel Belavista awaits your pleasure. We provide, satellite tv, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, hi-fi, personal attention at all times. Heated small pool, large pool, tennis court, gym, health club and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Belavista da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing