We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A consistently outstanding hotel in a quieter corner of the Algarve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belavista da Luz
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I have been visiting the Belavista since 2004 for our summer 'chill out' and have just returned from another superb stay at the end of July. We travel all over the world but have yet to find another such place that we would return to on a regular basis. In fact this year we thought it was even better than ever as the food (always excellent in the past) had improved yet again with a revamped menu (but retaining the old favourites such as the Steak Diane cooked at the table for us) and remains very good value for money. We ate in 11 nights out of 12. In this weight-conscious world it is also probably one of the last places to serve fried bread at breakfast and we always indulge!

So what else do we like about it? Great rooms with fridge, kettle, cups, plates, bottle opener, milk provided every day, very clean and spacious (we recommend a larger room with sea view) and good sized bathroom. Great balcony with table and chairs; the extremely helpful and friendly staff - it is impossible to single out anyone as reception staff, waiters, pool bar staff and everyone go out of their way to make our stay a good one, nothing at all is too much trouble. The staff are also interchangeable, you are never met with the response that it is someone elses domain/problem; the fact that the hotel is family run and personally managed, a rarity these days; the extra touches such as fruit in our room on arrival, a bottle of champagne and flowers for our wedding anniversary which we celebrate every year at the Belavista; the friendliness of the other guests whether they are regulars or new faces - far from feeling like a 'club' it is more of a family friendliness where you feel totally relaxed and at home; the relative quietness of a small hotel, no loud music or noisy teenagers; plenty of sunbeds around the pools, one of which is heated; the fact that drinks and food are reasonably priced and we don't feel we are being ripped off so are happy to give the hotel our custom (as do so many of the guests); excellent poolbar facility for drinks throughout the day and light lunches. In fact the Belavista provides everything for a great relaxing holiday without leaving the hotel (unless you want the beach and sea of course!)

Could anything be improved? For us we just find the beds a little too hard although mattress toppers are available which we request, it would be good if the hotel invested in some new softer/thicker ones or new mattresses.

All in all this is a little gem - please don't let anything change at the Belavista!! Just about to book again for next year....

Room Tip: Well worth booking a larger room with sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swisstrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this very comprehensive review. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Regarding the toppers, we hope to have more available for your next visit to help you to enjoy a perfect sleep and therefore a relaxing holiday which is our aim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Belavista da Luz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 333 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed one night here. Hotel has a lovely pool with amazing views. I agree with other reviewers that it felt a bit "cliquey". Service was excellent. Rooms were dated and breakfast was very "English". Hotel is a bit old-fashioned and sound proofing was non-existant. I'd happily stay here for a few days or a weekend but not more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the corridor as it is loud.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diarmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your review and I understand that you found it noisy but unfortunately at present we are full of families with exciteable young people who need entertaining.I am sure our receptionists would have done their utmost to give you as peaceful a time as possible if they were able and am sorry if you were disappointed. also being a smail hotel it only takes a few rooms of returning guests to give a club feel but our clients are generally very sociable and not exclusive. I do hope that we may have the opportunity to impress you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just returned from 11 nights at the Bella Vista. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. We would generally endorse most of the previous comments re helpful staff and levels of cleanliness etc and also that there can be a bit of a 'club' feel caused by larger groups of returning guests.

We stayed b&b and our room was quiet and spacious, with a decent fridge capable of making ice and the air con worked well. The beds are very firm, even with the mattress toppers (arrange with reception and are a must). Room cleaning was generally good although dusting was a bit hit and miss.

Breakfast was good with an English bias, (no black pudding though) croissants were brioche type (not great) and perhaps some other prepared fresh fruit would have been nice, other than melon. UK cereals. Same offering every day, some variety would be good. Mr Vincent (who built the hotel) serving coffee is charming and a nice personal touch.

We only ate once in the hotel as we wanted to explore Luz of an evening. The cooking is very good although can get pricy for a family with small children.

The pool area is very pleasant with good sun beds and plenty of umbrellas. The larger unheated pool can be a bit bracing but the heated smaller one is like a warm bath by comparison, too warm really.

The pool bar serves a reasonable selection of snacks and meat/fish cooked over a charcoal grill for lunch, although more variety of grilled meats/vegs would have been better (kebabs for eg). Special mention to Jack, who works very hard in the bar/grill and is very friendly with kids.

Please be aware that the hotel is at the top of a very steep hill, which seems to go forever once you've been up it a few times!

Luz is very pleasant and well presented although even in late July seemed very quiet of an evening. Not a place for teens.

Room Tip: All rooms have pool view and balcony, probably best to avoid ground floor as are quite shaded. Large...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hornseaontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I have taken on board your comments and will look,again at our various toppers to ensure we have sufficient choice and double check the dusting. We try to cater for all needs in our breakfast buffet and supply any reasonable request should we have any shortcoming. We are here to please our guests and hope to have the opportunity again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at the Belavista and our experience was even better than the first , which I thought could not be beaten . The staff at the hotel are absolutely fantastic and the efforts that they make to give 100% customer service actually deliver 110% with nothing being too much trouble . The cleanliness of the hotel and pool area are second to none and one comment that was made to us by another guest sums it up " I always look for something that is dirty but even though I have even looked under the sink I cannot find anything ! " .

Last year we ate dinner at the hotel on two out of the ten nights we stayed, this year we ate in ten nights out of twelve such was the value and quality of the food and of course the fantastic service .

We are already looking forward to our next visit , thanks Danny for a great holiday

BARRY & JACKIE

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so glad that we did not disappoint on your second visit and hope to maintain the momentum for any future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have just returned from Belavista and feel we had to write a review of the Hotel. We had booked a suite, which we thought was 2 bedrooms with separate bathrooms as we were accompanied by our teenage daughter and her friend only to be disappointed to find that there was only one bathroom and one of the double beds was a folding out settee. The mistake may have been partly ours but the description on the web-site (not the hotels own site) was a little misleading.
A quick trip back to reception offered us the opportunity to have 2 separate rooms for only a little extra, well worth it in my opinion.
The outstanding feature of this hotel is the staff - they are all so polite, helpful and friendly. Reception staff were happy and efficient at booking excursions for us also, ensuring that we did not pay any more than we had to.
Breakfast is also excellent and dinner in the restaurant, although a bit more expensive than some of the options in the town, is still good value for money.
The only downsides were outside the direct control of the staff. The hotel tends to attract an older clientèle which meant that entertainment options for 2 teenage girls were restricted. The other minor irritation was the hill to and from the town with the footpaths proving to be difficult for female footwear (cobbles) and a steep climb back up.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LA_176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here and that we were able to satisfy your initial requirements. I would like to mention that regarding the hill back from the village that we usually have someone available to collect any guests with walking difficulties by prior arrangement. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have never written a review of any hotel I have stayed at whether its been good or bad, but I have to let everyone know about this amazing hotel.
I cannot fault it, amazing hotel with staff who go out their way to accommodate you in a fantastic setting.
I will be coming here as often as possible after my first stay. don't think twice, book it now!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funky2460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Wow! Thank you for your comments. We hope that we will not disappoint on any future visits and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay here. We were looking for a relaxing stay after a busy working year and we certainly got it. Everything is well run and the staff are what make the place so friendly. Room, food, service, amenities are excellent. The nearby beach is gorgeous and restaurants lovely. We hope to come back sooner rather than later! First class and real value for money.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank simonlamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you for your very generous comments. We are glad that we did not disappoint and will endeavour to maintain and improve our service for the future. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
0.9 mi away
Luzmar Villas
Luzmar Villas
#5 of 9 in Luz
139 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 52 in Lagos
3,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 52 in Lagos
1,431 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
0.7 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#6 of 9 in Luz
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belavista da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belavista da Luz

Address: Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-147, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Price Range: $67 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belavista da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful beaches and mountains and less than 1 hour from Faro Airport, this is paradise for the short-haul flyer. With old cities to explore and mouth watering menus to choose from Hotel Belavista awaits your pleasure. We provide, satellite tv, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, hi-fi, personal attention at all times. Heated small pool, large pool, tennis court, gym, health club and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Belavista da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing