We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belavista da Luz
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our first visit to Portugal, and I must say definitely not our last. The hotel Benavista da Luz was the best hotel we have ever stopped in; and we have travelled all over the world. The staff were extremely helpful, (especially Anna at reception), and the waiters were most pleasant and entertaining. The facilities at the hotel were perfect with gym, tennis court , and swimming pools. Also available was a massage with Anna Carina, (Best massage I have ever had). All in all a wonderful holiday, thanks to the staff and most pleasant owner Vincent. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    69
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
80
146
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We've just returned from a week's holiday at this hotel, after an absence of ten years and found it as friendly and welcoming as ever - almost like we had never been away! The obvious difference is the absence of the original co-owner Derrick who was a larger than life character and we were very sad to hear he died in 2010. However his son Danny is keeping standards up, together with Vincente the other owner who provides service with a smile at breakfast every day. We'll definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We are so glad to hear that we did not disappoint when you returned to us recently. We try to create a welcoming and relaxing ambience here and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you are planning a short break in Praia da Luz, you could do worse than stay at the Belavista.

It's a family run hotel and the staff try their very best to please. Off season is quiet but the weather can still be brilliant and it's a great place to stay if you want peace.

In the summer it's busy but they still cope well and service doesn't suffer. Rooms are basic but comfortable and very clean.

Great outdoor pool with outdoor bar and barbeque ktichen poolside.

Great for kids and adults alike. There is also a tennis court although the space around the court is a little less than you might expect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to entertain you again in the near future and will try to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Belavista is exceptional in the warmth and genuine friendliness of all the staff. Its location is great within walking distance of an attractive beach, and easy drive from Lagos and other parts of the Algarve. The restaurant is very good and provides very good food. We chose to visit new locations and countries each year, but Belavista has attracted us back on at least 5 occasion - and arranging to return next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We will strive to maintain and improve our service for your visit and will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night break at the Belavista with three friends on a golfing break.
I have stayed at the Belavista about 10 times and it never fails to delight. Although the hotel is 20 years old, it is in very good condition and is kept immaculately.
I must commend the reception staff who on our golfing breaks efficiently organise tee times, car hire and restaurants when required and are genuinely friendly and chirpy in all that they do. There is a family atmosphere throughout and the staff obviously enjoy working for Kate and before he died much too prematurely,the charismatic Deric. Danny is continuing the family tradition and certainly is maintaining the high standards.
There is an excellent choice at breakfast, and dinner is well presented and of very good quality.
We will be back again in 2014 and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moley59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review . It is good to know that our service is appreciated and we hope to maintain and improve for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We loved the Hotel Belavista da Luz. The staff were exceptional - nothing was too much trouble. It is a small friendly hotel and great value for money. It is a good walk from the beach and other amenities but it has its own pool and a range of activities are available. We only had breakfast at the Hotel as we went out each day and were only there for a couple of nights but the food looked good (not cheap).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CF0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review . We strive to maintain a good service and make our clients feel welcome. I am sorry that you felt that our menu appeared expensive but we do offer daily specials at very reasonable prices and hope that at some later date you will visit us again and try some.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because others praised it. However, the warmth and genuine friendliness of the staff made every aspect of our stay a pleasure. It is also well planned, and bright. They keep it immaculate all over.
The breakfasts were excellent.
We would recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandriaSion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and we are glad to know that you felt welcome . We hope that we will have the opportunity to entertain you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
3.5 mi away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#8 of 8 in Luz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,953 reviews
4.2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belavista da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belavista da Luz

Property: Hotel Belavista da Luz
Address: Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-147, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belavista da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful beaches and mountains and less than 1 hour from Faro Airport, this is paradise for the short-haul flyer. With old cities to explore and mouth watering menus to choose from Hotel Belavista awaits your pleasure. We provide, satellite tv, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, hi-fi, personal attention at all times. Heated small pool, large pool, tennis court, gym, health club and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Belavista da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing