We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standards have been maintained!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belavista da Luz
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We've just returned from a week's holiday at this hotel, after an absence of ten years and found it as friendly and welcoming as ever - almost like we had never been away! The obvious difference is the absence of the original co-owner Derrick who was a larger than life character and we were very sad to hear he died in 2010. However his son Danny is keeping standards up, together with Vincente the other owner who provides service with a smile at breakfast every day. We'll definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

We are so glad to hear that we did not disappoint when you returned to us recently. We try to create a welcoming and relaxing ambience here and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Belavista da Luz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 333 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you are planning a short break in Praia da Luz, you could do worse than stay at the Belavista.

It's a family run hotel and the staff try their very best to please. Off season is quiet but the weather can still be brilliant and it's a great place to stay if you want peace.

In the summer it's busy but they still cope well and service doesn't suffer. Rooms are basic but comfortable and very clean.

Great outdoor pool with outdoor bar and barbeque ktichen poolside.

Great for kids and adults alike. There is also a tennis court although the space around the court is a little less than you might expect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope to entertain you again in the near future and will try to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Belavista is exceptional in the warmth and genuine friendliness of all the staff. Its location is great within walking distance of an attractive beach, and easy drive from Lagos and other parts of the Algarve. The restaurant is very good and provides very good food. We chose to visit new locations and countries each year, but Belavista has attracted us back on at least 5 occasion - and arranging to return next year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We will strive to maintain and improve our service for your visit and will look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night break at the Belavista with three friends on a golfing break.
I have stayed at the Belavista about 10 times and it never fails to delight. Although the hotel is 20 years old, it is in very good condition and is kept immaculately.
I must commend the reception staff who on our golfing breaks efficiently organise tee times, car hire and restaurants when required and are genuinely friendly and chirpy in all that they do. There is a family atmosphere throughout and the staff obviously enjoy working for Kate and before he died much too prematurely,the charismatic Deric. Danny is continuing the family tradition and certainly is maintaining the high standards.
There is an excellent choice at breakfast, and dinner is well presented and of very good quality.
We will be back again in 2014 and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moley59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind review . It is good to know that our service is appreciated and we hope to maintain and improve for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We loved the Hotel Belavista da Luz. The staff were exceptional - nothing was too much trouble. It is a small friendly hotel and great value for money. It is a good walk from the beach and other amenities but it has its own pool and a range of activities are available. We only had breakfast at the Hotel as we went out each day and were only there for a couple of nights but the food looked good (not cheap).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CF0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind review . We strive to maintain a good service and make our clients feel welcome. I am sorry that you felt that our menu appeared expensive but we do offer daily specials at very reasonable prices and hope that at some later date you will visit us again and try some.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because others praised it. However, the warmth and genuine friendliness of the staff made every aspect of our stay a pleasure. It is also well planned, and bright. They keep it immaculate all over.
The breakfasts were excellent.
We would recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandriaSion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review and we are glad to know that you felt welcome . We hope that we will have the opportunity to entertain you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Agreeing with all the positive comments already posted I would like to praise the owner, Kate and her staff. I was there 30 March - 6 April and had the misfortune to be robbed in the street. Thanks to Kate's generosity I was able to make the many calls back to the UK, from the hotel phone.

Anna, one of the Receptionists, insisted on driving me to the Police station in Lagos to get the report for my insurance company - for which the Police charge you Eu13!!! - and then spent over an hour typing up an English translation for me, all on her day off.

All the staff speak excellent English and one of the waiters, whom I nicknamed Sinbad (you'll see why when you meet him) served us with Faulty Towers humour which was very amusing.

Travelling around by public bus is cheap and the drivers all seem to speak a bit of English and I found out at the airport that there is a shuttle mini bus to Lagos for around Eu24.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is 01 or above. The rooms start at 001 which is ground floor and most solo l...
Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank VeroniqueUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that we were able to help in unfortunate circumstances. We do try to make our guests feel secure as it helps promote the relaxed atmosphere that we hope they can enjoy while they are with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
0.9 mi away
Luzmar Villas
Luzmar Villas
#5 of 9 in Luz
140 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 52 in Lagos
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 52 in Lagos
1,435 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
0.7 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#6 of 9 in Luz
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belavista da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belavista da Luz

Address: Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-147, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Price Range: $68 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belavista da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful beaches and mountains and less than 1 hour from Faro Airport, this is paradise for the short-haul flyer. With old cities to explore and mouth watering menus to choose from Hotel Belavista awaits your pleasure. We provide, satellite tv, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, hi-fi, personal attention at all times. Heated small pool, large pool, tennis court, gym, health club and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Belavista da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing