We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt by noisy gardening”
Review of Luz Ocean Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luz Ocean Club
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This would have been a great place but was ruined by the noise of gardeners machinery cutting hedges etc. It was really stressful hearing to the sound of chain saws, leaf blowers etc most days. Why cant they use hand brushes and shears and let holiday makers have a peaceful stay?
Pity. The management should understand that people dont like being subjected to loud noise of machinery on holiday.

Room Tip: The sound of the gardeners chainsaws etc will reach you everywhere. Horrible stressful noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rog m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 205 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have just returned from a 12 night stay here & we had a fabulous holiday. We were very pleased with our apartment which was very spacious with lovely sea views. The complex is on a slight incline so the further back your apartment is the more you have to climb slightly so maybe for the less mobile ask for an apartment on the same level as reception or in that area then you hav'nt got to far to walk. The staff were very helpful & couldn't do enough for you especially Didi , Fernando & Fatima in the pizzeria restaurant. There are lots of restaurants around luz to eat but we highly recommend the Mirage restaurant on the complex which serves outstanding a la carte food & is delicious. The bus stops in the complex so jump on the bus & go into lagos for great shopping & the dolphin trip & cave trip is brilliant which is bookable from the beach hut on luz beach. Cant wait to go back next year :-)

Room Tip: Most rooms have good sea views even ground floor so ask for sea view you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian-jenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Luz Ocean Club is as many reviewers have previously said, seems to be a collection of privately owned apartments spread out over a very wide area of Praia da Luz. We discovered to our cost, that this is most definitely NOT A HOTEL with apartments added, as we were led to believe by the travel agents. It seems that the majority of guests are people with very young children, travelling with Mark Warner's holidays, along with some other guests from Thomas Cook's travel. It follows then that most of the amenities are provided in the main, for young families, which most I gathered seemed to enjoy.. Upon our arrival at the main reception, we were asked to wait for some time until a mini bus was available to transport us, group by group to our accommodation - the alarm bells should have rung out then. We were transported to our apartment, given a map of the Ocean Club amenities unfortunately with no scale or distance indicators, between them. As seasoned travelers, we thought that we had booked into a hotel plus apartments, which had lots of amenities, was near to shops, overlooking the sea / beach a as illustrated in,both Thomas Cook's brochure and the Ocean Club's own handbook. It turned out that we had in fact been booked into an apartment,removed from the main sites and over half a mile from the main reception. In addition our accommodation was a further quarter of a mile away from the beach area, up a lengthy hill with an incline of 1:8 approx, suitable for the very fit and able, not for the elderly and definitely not for anyone with even the slightest disability. Our apartment was clean and well laid out, with most things necessary for self catering. Unfortunately it had an very old TV which had at least a 100 German channels and only three English news channels, no telephone, no microwave, and as the apartment did not have a safe, we had to book one in the main reception some distance away. This meant a good walk uphill and downhill every time we wanted to access our safe, to visit he beach areas, the pubs, the restaurants and the shops etc. My wife and myself consider ourselves to be reasonably fit for our age however after seven days of trekking up and down we felt absolutely shattered, and looked forward to returning home. We did ask our rep to get us moved downhill and to look into ways of increasing the number of English TV channels available to us, (no action taken) however we were informed that as it was late in the season, most of the apartment contracts were expired and a move could prove to be difficult, when we made enquiries at the main reception we were informed that no such request had been made.( In fairness I have to say that another couple, one with a walking difficulty did manage to arrange a move down to the main apartment buildings near to the town centre)
The dinner in the Mill Restaurant was of a good standard, both in quality and choice ; the young members of staff did try hard to provide a reasonable level of service, and any request was dealt with promptly. The restaurant could do with some decorative improvement but I would of thought that it is reasonable to expect, an a la carte restaurant,to provide a side plate for bread/butter etc, a saucer for under your teacup, along with a fabric napkin..I am quite sure that the main buildings of the Ocean Club, together with the amenities offered and its central position in the town centre and beach areas, would provide holiday makers with young children, a very enjoyable holiday, however I can only advise that after our experience, anyone booking with Thomas Cook, should take great care with their booking, to ensure that their accommodation is in the main Ocean Club complex,not a daunting, twice daily, lengthy hill, route march, which could seriously test, even the most able athlete.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank flarg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I visited the Luz Ocean Club with my girlfriends family and we had a mixed experience of this hotel during our stay. The half-board holiday was booked with Thomas Cook. This "hotel" isn't really a hotel (although it was sold as one), but more a collection of apartments. The apartments are privately owned (some rooms had books, family photographs, personal items) so the interior varies quite a bit.

Apartments:

All apartments occupied by our party had similar layouts as we were in the same block but that's where the similarities end. One of the apartments had comfy sofas, a large flatscreen TV, modern bathroom, washing machine etc. The second apartment was average but had brown water for the first couple of days. in contrast the apartment I stayed in with my girlfriend, her aunt and uncle was a slight let down. Our bedroom had the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept on, the television (not necessarily important) was bought in the 90's and halfway through the holiday on a peaceful evening while sipping some wine on the balcony a massive hole developed on the bottom of the boiler developed from corrosion damage which flooded the entrance and dining area. I isolated the water and power to the boiler while my girlfriend and aunt rushed to the reception only to be told to wait until tomorrow until someone could come to fix it. They didn't even come up to make sure the boiler/apartment is safe. The boiler was replaced the next day around 3PM and we had brown water for the rest of the holiday.

The Food:

The Luz Ocean Club has two restaurants. The main restaurant located at the main pool and the pizzeria at the family pool (The pizzas were excellent). The main restaurant was a 10 minute walk uphill from our apartment block (even though we were told that the entire club was fully disabled friendly). This trip was also difficult as we had a baby pram to navigate the journey with. The food was probably the best part of our stay. The daily a-la-carte menu offered a good selection of international dishes which tasted great and were presented beautifully. I was really quite surprised by the dinners we had. The restaurant staff was a mix of british guys and girls who were either on a gap-year or gaining experience and they were very friendly and characterful. The breakfast was good but had a small selection. However this is true for most places. We did not eat on the barbecue/buffet night but our family said it was disappointing so might be worth avoiding.

The Resort:

The little village of Luz is beautiful. The beach front is very picturesque however some travellers might miss the lack of nightlife opportunities. There were 2-3 bars which were mostly empty, but this might be because it was the end of the season. There are a handful of restaurants which offered tasty food at a very good price. One of the restaurants was so good, I will write a separate review on this. I haven't visited the nearby city of Lagos, but one of the waitresses recommended going there. A quick TripAdviser search should give you a list of restaurants/places to visit. We did go to the Splash and Slide water-park, which was well worth the €25 entry.

Conclusion:

All in all I had a good holiday, although I would say that since I hadn't been on holiday for 2 years at that point. The benefit I had was that our party occupied 3 apartments which enabled us to compare the differences. To be fair I should have mentioned the uncomfortable beds to the staff after the first night and we might have been moved to a better apartment or had the mattresses changed. Apart from the apartments the Luz Ocean Club is a pleasant place to stay. So if you get a good apartment you will enjoy your stay, otherwise ask the staff to put you in another apartment if possible.

Room Tip: Check your apartment (especially the beds) and make sure you are 100% content. Then you should have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MatteoVega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Really lovely apartment. Good facilities. Everything you need fridge freezer. Cooker. Microwave. Etc. there is an iron and board so we didn't need one. Cleaning was good but at silly times. 5 in evening on a few occasions! But it was good, the check in was not good with the receptionist going through everything with you that was all in the book. They also took our c card details on a piece on paper which I was not happy with. Location wise it's perfect. Near the beach, village, restaurants. The pool is fantastic and we stayed at appt. 6 which was really near the pool. Good choice.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Ciara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in the half board section of the Ocean Club, with meals in the Mill Restaurant. Wow! Buffet style on arrival day but after that fab a la carte meals, with homemade food which was fantastic! The apartment was amazing, with great sea and pool views and so relaxing (although being towards the end of season it was probably a lot quieter than during the school holidays!). The complex is spread out in 3 different areas - 2 family pools and 1 for adults only. The tennis was great (thanks Jake!) with 5 courts available. Luz itself is on the quieter side, but a nice village with a decent choice of restaurants and you must try the ice creams from the shop opposite the church. Not many opportunities to try out your Portuguese, as everyone speaks English. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinders24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Perfect place if you are looking for a relaxing break. Apartments are well equipped and spacious with great sea views. Luz is a small village with fab beach and lots of restaurants. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelleleete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#9 of 9 in Luz
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#6 of 9 in Luz
48 reviews
1.0 mi away
Luzmar Villas
Luzmar Villas
#5 of 9 in Luz
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estrela da Luz
Estrela da Luz
#1 of 9 in Luz
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz Ocean Club

Address: Praia da Luz | Vila da Luz, Luz 8600-160, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luz
Price Range: $244 - $832 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luz Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Luz Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz Ocean Club Hotel Luz
Ocean Club Portugal
Luz Ocean Hotel
Luz Ocean Resort
Ocean Club Apartments
Ocean Club Praia Da Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing