We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luz Ocean Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luz Ocean Club
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Really lovely apartment. Good facilities. Everything you need fridge freezer. Cooker. Microwave. Etc. there is an iron and board so we didn't need one. Cleaning was good but at silly times. 5 in evening on a few occasions! But it was good, the check in was not good with the receptionist going through everything with you that was all in the book. They also took our c card details on a piece on paper which I was not happy with. Location wise it's perfect. Near the beach, village, restaurants. The pool is fantastic and we stayed at appt. 6 which was really near the pool. Good choice.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    57
    30
    14
    11
See reviews for
115
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fawley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in the half board section of the Ocean Club, with meals in the Mill Restaurant. Wow! Buffet style on arrival day but after that fab a la carte meals, with homemade food which was fantastic! The apartment was amazing, with great sea and pool views and so relaxing (although being towards the end of season it was probably a lot quieter than during the school holidays!). The complex is spread out in 3 different areas - 2 family pools and 1 for adults only. The tennis was great (thanks Jake!) with 5 courts available. Luz itself is on the quieter side, but a nice village with a decent choice of restaurants and you must try the ice creams from the shop opposite the church. Not many opportunities to try out your Portuguese, as everyone speaks English. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinders24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Perfect place if you are looking for a relaxing break. Apartments are well equipped and spacious with great sea views. Luz is a small village with fab beach and lots of restaurants. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelleleete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Have just had an amazing family holiday here.
Staff very helpful, apartment more then expected, we had a garden room, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 living areas and a fully equipped kitchen with cooker, fridge freezer and a washine machine also patio area in the garden all to ourselves (with a view of the sea).
The apartment itself could do with updating, the furniture old and worn, sofa needed a good clean too! And beds were not very comfortable but with all the walking and activities there were no problems drifting off to sleep!

A trip to Lagos for shopping will cost approx. 12 euros give or a take a euro depending on which route you go, fab shops, mini markets and stalls. Some lovely places to eat there and in Praia da Luz itself (check out Jakes near the church) fab homely grub if your missing a English food.

We took a trip to Zoo marine, not recommended if you have very small children as the coach takes ages to get there, we left at 8:20, got there at 12ish and was back on the coach for 5:30 was long drawn out day and with 3 children it was a bit much! Also took a boat trip from the Lagos marina with Days of Adventure, we went out to sea, saw dolphins swimming and jumping was lovely (aside from the sea sickness) it was a very bumpy boat ride as there were storms out at sea and if you get ill take some tablets or something otherwise youl spend a lot of time at the back of the boat looking into the toilet!!

The beach was 10 mins walk down hill from the apartment, lovely sandy well kept beaches best iv ever seen, and the pools available with the ocean club were situated in a different part of the resort around the corner and up a hill about 10 mins walk (please beware of the hills, heels not recommended on this holiday!) The pools were clean, baby pool safe and gated off area with some toys to occupy toddlers too, lots of loungers and some shaded areas.

Supermarkets located almost everywhere if like us you choose self catering (glad we did) most staff in shops can speak English, and fresh fruit, veg and meats are available in large quantities, also products from England are available like chocolate and cola etc but these do cost more.

All in all a fantastic holiday, already know were going back again soon. Cant fault it not one bit!!

Room Tip: Garden view room great if you have children, they can sit in the garden and play as its enclosed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manicmummyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

On our first visit to Portugal we were very impressed by what we seen of the country. It is a fabulous place to go as a family. Everywhere you go children are catered for and the hospitality of not just the locals but the British workers as well made every visit to a restaurant, pub, water park, ice cream shop so simple and hassle free. We have no complaints from the 2 weeks we spent in the Algarve.

The Ocean Club resort is extremely well located with pools, supermarket, beach, bus stop, pubs etc all within a short walk. Some of the restaurants were just first class and well worth attending, especially Chicca's. Just go and see for yourself! The Dolphin eatery requires a reservation due to the demand for a table due to the hosts hospitality and first class food quality.

From the airport we shared a coach with a family of 5 to the resort which was only 50mins away. On arrival at reception (at lunchtime) we checked in made our way to the apartment and could not believe our luck when we entered. We had been allocated a ground floor apartment with two double bedrooms, full kitchen, dining area, lounge, two balconies and a huge terrace area that lead straight out onto a landscaped shared garden. Oh and there was a big BBQ as well!!!

Top Tip: Make sure you book a hire car in advance if you are on holiday at peak times. Car hire is extremely popular.

Portugal is a great place and we cannot wait to go back. Enjoy.......

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor. All rooms have sea views anyway so go for the garden space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was nervous before going abroad for the first time since having my youngest four children. I needn't have been. They had a wonderful time at the kids clubs with enthusiastic, professional nannies. I was delighted and my husband and I really enjoyed our tennis lessons with Jake, and our time by the adult-only pool. It was bliss.
There aren't many teenagers due to the lack of inclusive watersports, but our 16 year old still made friends and had a nice time. Our 12 year old also made new friends and happily went to the Kidz club for her age group.
Our little ones enjoyed "film club" (the evening crèche) which we used on several nights, but not all of them, just because they ended up rather tired the next day.
I was very impressed at the enthusiasm and friendliness of the staff. They were all young, but 95% of them had excellent attitudes and were very keen to help.
We will go back!!
Also have to mention the excellent size of our three bed apartment, with two large bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen (washing machine, dishwasher, cooker), air con throughout - it really was an excellent size, clean and modern.

Room Tip: If you have young children, ask for an apartment near the Mill, as most things are based there. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I don't understand a couple of the previous reviews? We're they at the same place? I saw one broken plant pot that was still in one piece and not dangerous. Other than that everything was great - the food, the MW staff, the accommodation and the pools. The children looked like they were having a ball. It was also very hot, and those 20year old restaurant staff worked very hard and still managed to make us feel part of the family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 9628andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#8 of 8 in Luz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
0.2 mi away
Estrela da Luz
Estrela da Luz
#2 of 8 in Luz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luz Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz Ocean Club

Property: Luz Ocean Club
Address: Praia da Luz | Vila da Luz, Luz 8600-160, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luz Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Luz Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz Ocean Club Hotel Luz
Ocean Club Portugal
Luz Ocean Hotel
Luz Ocean Resort
Ocean Club Apartments
Ocean Club Praia Da Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing