We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good holiday despite some negatives” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luz Ocean Club

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Luz Ocean Club
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
HATFIELD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good holiday despite some negatives”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just returned from the Ocean Club which we booked with Mark Warner as had our toddler with us. The kids club was great and we took advantage of this every day by spending 3 hours in peace by the adult pool. Had to eat out every night as Mark Warner would not tell you what the evening menu was until much later in the afternoon and as it was quite a walk back to the Mill restaurant it was just easier to eat out than risk it! We did try the BBQ on our first day for lunch and it was bland to say the least. Lunchtime menu which you paid extra for too was not up to scratch; both expensive, very limited choice and not well cooked. Breakfasts were fine. Despite the food, the resort itself was nice although the swimming pools were freezing as none are heated. Our apartment was nice, bigger than expected but so noisy! Doors slamming every night with people leaving and arriving. Luz itself is lovely and we are are lucky enough not to have to worry about the cost of eating out. We made the most of this holiday with great weather and time away from work. Not sure if I'd book with Mark Warner again as don't think we got the value.....And lastly - the airline - OMG !!! We were lucky enough not to be delayed as others have but shabby, smelly aircraft with awful flight times. Certainly made you appreciate being back on the ground when landed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KatathaniHatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    57
    30
    14
    11
See reviews for
115
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just returned from ocean club (where we were on a self catering package) having had a great family holiday. The apartment was excellent as were the pool, staff etc.
We ate out every evening. The restaurants in Luz are ok, but pricey for what they were, but a 1.60 euro bus ride to Lagos gives you a much bigger, better, less costly alternative.
all in all a great time had by my wife & I & our 2 kids (14 & 11)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We booked direct with Ocean Club having read the reviews on here and flew with Easy Jet, paying less than half what we would have done with Mark Warner for the fortnight and boy are we glad we did! The appartment was fine, very spacious 3 bedroom, a bit tired living areas but with excellent brand new bathrooms and satellite TV for keeping up with the Olympics on BBC! The bar and restaurant by the pool, where the MW half board guests were tied to eating was shocking! As someone has already said, run by kids who were lovely but were in need of a damn good manager to crack the whip. We only ate dinner in there on the first night and would have been gutted if we had to eat there every night! The service for lunch was sloth-like! But they did give us a free round of drinks on one occasion to compensate. Unfortunately we had my wife's purse stolen from the bag by the pool, the security left something to be desired, we were never asked for our cards to show we were guests. Overall the pool areas and tennis courts etc were great and we didn't miss them not being in kids clubs. The beach is lovely and there were some great places to eat. We'd go back to Luz but not sure if we'd use the Ocean Club again? Some of the other 4 star appartment resorts around the town looked much more the ticket!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We didn't stay at The Ocean Club as we have our own villa in Luz but decided to try the Pizzeria one night for supper.

This has to be the worst meal we have ever had in Luz - we have been coming for the past 12 years. The garlic bread we had to start was more like garlic biscuit. We ordered 3 pizzas which were all very poor - the bases were very hard and really not acceptable.

Pizza Real near the seafront and Pannini in the main street are a million times better. We live and learn as they say and we definitely will not be returning here again - a huge disappointment especially given the lovely setting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The apartments within this complex are privately owned and obviously rented out to Mark Warner and Thomas Cook. We stayed in a 1 bed apartment which was billed as 4* in the Thomas Cook brochure. The apartment itself was very basic and dated, especially in the bathroom where there were hooks hanging off the walls. Simple things like lightbulbs were gone in every room and by the end of the holiday there were no lights left in the living room at all! Reading through the information we got from reception when we checked in, rooms got cleaned every other day, towels changed every 4 days and bedding changed once a week. For a four star I would have expected this every day as we have previously had in 3*! I resorted to washing the towels myself in the apartment! At home I checked on the hotels website and in the brochure for facilities in the apartment. We were supposed to have a hairdryer and a fan in the room (which we found out half way through the holiday!) We arrived on the Saturday and asked for a hairdryer on Monday morning. I was told that housekeeping would drop it off that afternoon. This did not happen. I went back down on Tuesday to be told it would again be dropped of that afternoon. Again it was not. I went to see another person on the reception by the pool who phoned down. They then said to her that as it is peak season they didn’t have any left but would buy one and have it first thing in the morning for me. Again, they did not and I had to return to reception that afternoon. As I was down there, there was another guest asking for a second fan in their room as it was so hot. I then asked where our first fan was, especially as we had a baby in the apartment. The man on reception was very rude, saying it is peak season, I cannot give you what we haven’t got! At this point I contacted the resort office, who subsequently contacted the hotel reception. They blatantly lied to them saying that they had already dropped them off that morning. The lady pleasantly returned my call and explained this, to be told that I was sitting in my apartment and they had not. She got back onto the reception of the hotel who delivered it within 15 minutes of the phone call.

Also, when we arrived at the hotel we were told that the cot had to be paid for locally (20 Euros) which was not made clear at booking. Checking on the Thomas Cook website whilst we were away, this was not stated on there either, however the resort office said it was in the small print in the brochure.

The facilities in the complex, however, were excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful (excluding reception staff). Although their were complaints on here that the restaurant was a 15 minute walk away, it didn’t seem as long as that and the food was lovely when we got there. There was a small children’s pool which my 18 month old daughter loved, with toys provided and a small playground.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bow961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

As a family we have just enjoyed a very relaxing week at the Ocean View Club in Luz. We travelled with Mark Warner and found the unusual combination of a large self catering 2 bedroom flat with half board and hotel faciliities suited us well. Ocean View seems to consist of a large number of flats within Luz village with 3 communal pools scattered about and a central area called the Mill for the bar , restaurant and central services
Our apartment was large and well appointed with 2 bathrooms , a terrace with dining area and views of the sea, and a well equipped kitchen. It worked well to have our lunches on the terrace and it was easy to buy supplies from the local supermarkets.
The beach in Luz is lovely and child friendly , sandy with rockpools at either end and a nice promenade. It reminded us of a Cornish cove with better weather. A sun umbrella is essential in August. The sea when we were there was freezing , and the Atlantic is a very different temperature from the Med. Beach Hut Sports were good for a dolphin watching trip and kayak hire.

We enjoyed the food at the Mill Restaurant - it was a bit like a ski chalet set up, good quality menus and interesting dinner party type cuisine and enthusiastic and pleasant young UK staff.. The early children's teas and creche in the evening worked well for us.The only negative was the fish choices were not usually fresh and some more local options would have been welcome.
The children's pools were busy and popular- the adult only pool was very quiet and a welcome oasis of calm and relaxation.
We enjoyed the tennis and the mountainbiking on offer with Mark Warner and also coastal walks. A great and peaceful resort .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Ocean Club Mark Warner Resort in Luz, Portugal.

The kids clubs provided for our children were excellent. The staff were attentive and caring and our children loved it, giving us a great rest. They asked us each day when they could go again, had great fun and made great friends.

However, unfortunately all other aspects of the holidays were quite poor and unacceptable.

Breakfast was of very poor quality and often ran out. The toasters were invariably broken and croissants not available etc.

Lunch was awful and on several occassions we waited well over an hour for a tasteless limp salad.

The children's buffet was despicable and though you were told it was served between 5.30 and
6 pm, on often there was nothing left by 5.45 pm.

The quality of the food at dinner was much better but you would wait at least an hour between courses and there was very little professionalism.

Basically, this (very tired) resort is run by a group gap year students working long shifts for little money. They are very pleasant students but in severe need of support and training, no proffessionalism. The resort manager is hardly ever to be seen.

Our flight was delayed by 9 hours on the way out, the flight was so budget it was not a pleasant experience, and Mark Warner could not have cared less that we experienced such a huge delay.

The childcare is so superb that it is such a shame that Warner have it so wrong with the rest of the holiday. It is shocking that they can get away with serving the food they do and using such an awful airline considering the cost of the break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#8 of 8 in Luz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
0.2 mi away
Estrela da Luz
Estrela da Luz
#2 of 8 in Luz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luz Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz Ocean Club

Property: Luz Ocean Club
Address: Praia da Luz | Vila da Luz, Luz 8600-160, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luz Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Luz Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz Ocean Club Hotel Luz
Ocean Club Portugal
Luz Ocean Hotel
Luz Ocean Resort
Ocean Club Apartments
Ocean Club Praia Da Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing