We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Luz”
Review of Luz Ocean Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luz Ocean Club
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just returned from 1 week at ocean club Luz . Accommodation was great - big apartment , big sunny balcony , well equipped if wanted to eat in and also had washing machine .Fiji palm 7 .it was clean and very comfortable . We booked with Thomas Cook on a half board basis . The food / service was really not very good . Mark Warner guests I'm sure would be equally disappointed with this as we were .it seems like young people are running it all ,who don't seem to know what they are doing . The food was s possed to be A l carte !!!! We arrived on a number of occasions where they had run out of food and were offered chips to fill the plate . Breakfasts were edible if you enjoyed over cooked scrambled egg , beans and cold mushrooms . The toaster was always not working . Just not sure how they can get away with it ?! Do the Mark Warner gusts never complain ??? I'm sure the day time tennis and the crèche and child care are great for them ( included in their holiday price ) but in our opinion the food was just not up to standard and a big let down even for us commoners !! . Luz has great eateries So please don't waste your money ,or the 15 min walk up to eat at the Mill restaurant . Would go back and stay at Ocean Club but defo NOT with food included . Thomas Cook was affordable and flight was good .

Room Tip: Don't go there to eat !
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigboy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Luz Ocean Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 204 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

I visited this resort at 26 weeks pregnant as our final getaway as a couple before entering family life - and subsequent no so relaxing holidays!!

While the resort, swimming pools, food, beach weather were all lovely, the accommodation and service provided by Thomas Cook was poor. I wish we had travelled with Mark Warner.

Unbeknown to us (prior to arriving) some of the apartments are privately owned, and therefore personally maintained (or not as the case may be). Despite reporting our concerns to the Rep (no telephone, lose electrical wires, broken bed, very poor quality bathroom, leftover chicken bones thrown into the garden by the cleaner) we received no response (think she was too busy entertaining her visiting family) and had to put up with the apartment for a week. When we later complained to Thomas Cook they were under the impression we had turned down the option to change apartment??

Room Tip: Book with Mark Warner
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

All in all a great holiday resort, quick one hour transfer, with a friendly greeting and shuttle bus on arriavl. 4th floor appartment which i have to say was excellent in all areas, fantastic views from both very large balconies. Perfect for the children apart from the chilly sea!

I would highly recommend the resort and Ocean Club. Many great restaurants along the beach front, two perfectly adequate supermarkets avaiable.

Anyone going will have a great holiday especially as the sea warms up.

Travveled with thomas cook which was suprisingly faultless, only issue was Manchester running out of fuel for the plane on the way back.

Enjoy

Room Tip: Request a 4th floor apartment as the views are great
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gm_cpchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Booked through Thomas Cook (half board), the transfer from Faro took nearly 2 hours - can be done in 50 minutes if the driver will pay the motorway tolls ! Depends on the bus company you get allocated. Apartment was first floor with fantastic view of gardens and sea. Apartment was clean although in need of updating. Ocean Club arranged transport from reception to your apartment which was great. Reception staff very helpful. Ten minute walk from Garden area to Mill Restaurant where meals are served. Food was great, service too - although they came under pressure at 7pm when all the families with younger children turned up expecting to eat at the same time - BOOM...Only one kids dish offered per night but even our fussy son was happy because of the quality and taste. Pool areas clean and most importantly not too busy, there were always free sunbeds available. Luz is a lovely,lazy town with plenty of places to eat - Bar Habana at the beachfront do great food. Beach was perfect, rock pools for the kids. Overall, highly recommend for a quiet family holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Ocean Club is looking as spruce as ever with plants and flowers around the pools. The staff have just come out for the season and are keen to please. A really good place for little ones. Yes - because the properties are dotted around the resort there is a little walking to and from the sea and pools - but with a choice of three outdoor and one indoor pools you cannot be too far from one of them. Would recommend for a family holiday in 2012.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chrissiePortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

we visited in august 2011 with 2 young kids aged 6 and 4 and had a lovely time. there was lots to do, the accomodation was good, and the resort is busy enough without being tacky or noisy.
Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank molod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Spacious apartment ,
Good food, and lots to do among the crash waves of the nearby beach

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alfred63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.7 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
5.3 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#6 of 9 in Luz
39 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#9 of 9 in Luz
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luzmar Villas
Luzmar Villas
#5 of 9 in Luz
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz Ocean Club

Address: Praia da Luz | Vila da Luz, Luz 8600-160, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luz
Price Range: $234 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luz Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Luz Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz Ocean Club Hotel Luz
Ocean Club Portugal
Luz Ocean Hotel
Luz Ocean Resort
Ocean Club Apartments
Ocean Club Praia Da Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing