We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luz Ocean Club
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belavista da Luz(Luz)(Great Value!)
$98
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vilamar Hotel(Luz)(Great Value!)
$47
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luzmar Villas(Luz)(Great Value!)
$66
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz(Luz)(Great Value!)
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$44
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
83
61
35
14
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
61
35
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden poolpalm bayfully fitted kitchenlate dealtwo storeythese issuestennis courtsplenty of sun loungerscafes and restaurantsbuilding workrelaxing holidaylocal supermarketwatersidepizzeriavillageaccommodationbedroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 205 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2007

Stayed for just a few days and was not long enough !

Got to the airport where we were dealt with by the Mark Warner reps (bright red flowery shirts). Thomas Cook also feature this property but Mark Warner do Half Board including watersport. Thomas Cook do Self Catering.

Transfer to the property was about an hour and we arrived in darkness.
Had a huge 2 bed apartment, very very spacious, very clean and had a great big balcony with a side sea view. TV, Fridge, Washing Machine, 2 bathrooms, 2 twin room and a pull out sofa bed.

Woke up to glorious sunshine and decided to go for breakfast. My only snag about this brilliant resort is that depending on your room and board basis, you may have to walk quite far to breakfast and dinner but it does build up the appetite.

The beach is only a short walk away down a small hill and you
pass watering holes en route so you won't get too tired.
Food and drink are reasonably priced and there is a supermarket for the bottles of Rose and beer a couple of
minutes away, beware cobbled streets so high heels should be
avoided ladies unless you are confident at walking in them after
a night out.

Lagos is a short taxi ide away and will cost about 10 euros.
The night life is great but finding good bars can be difficult but follow the lcals at kicking out time. Dring the day, it is great for familiies with a lovely promenade and coffee shops where you can sit and watch the world go by.

The Ocean Club is a great place to stay and great value and should be a place that you should go !
You can get there from most regional airports and needs not to be missed.
Book it tomorrow.
Hello Jack

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ADAMGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Just back from spending a lovely two weeks at the Ocean Club. Arrived after a long transfer but it was worth it. Paid for a one bedroom apartment for four but was given a two bedroom three storey house. What a result!.

The Thomas Cook Rep was fantastic, and couldn't do enough for us.

The house we had was lovely, homely, spacious and clean. We were right opposite the Tapas pool and bar. It was fantastic for the kids. We were lucky in that our holiday wasn't over shadowed by the Maddie thing but did see the press three or four times but they were very discreet and didn't ruin our holiday.

Found a lovely restaurant called the Dophin, run by South Africans and possibly had the best meal I have EVER HAD! Expensive but worth it if you are treating yourself.

Praia Da Luz is quiet and not that large. Best to book tables at semi decent restaurants or you may have to skip dinner, but the ones we did visit were very good, Reasonable food and not bad prices. The beach is nice and not too far from the Ocean Club.

The staff at the Tapas bar were great and the pool was lovely and clean. We should know the kids spent most of the two weeks we were there in it!. We also had dinner at the Tapas bar which was a great surprise.... really nice food, well presented and the staff were pleasant.

Overall we were extremely happy with our holiday and would certainly recommend the Ocean Club and Praia Da Luz. Take a tip and hire a car. We found some fantastic almost deserted beaches not too far away (but do mind the nude sunbathers!).

Will certainly be visiting Portugal again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MagsandGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

We had a marvellous holiday despite our concerns over the awfully sad Maddie situation. Our apartment was perfect - 5 mins stroll from the beach, sea view, fully equipped and spotless - what more could we ask for. The food in The Millenium was alright but certainly not as good as some of the local restaurants especially the two opposite the church (can' t remember their name!s). This is a very relaxing family friendly resort and our only "bleet" would be that there is nothing much going on in the evening...BUT that really is a minor complaint when you measure up the beautiful surroundings during the day. There are 2 great pools, tennis courts, the option to travel on lots of organised day excursions (we recommend the beach safari!) a beautiful promanade with cafes and restaurants. Lagos is a short bus journey away and has a great market and plenty of decent shops for those in need of a retail therapy fix (shops in Ocean Club are rather sparse). Would I go back - yes!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JJMTwickenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

I have just returned from a week at the Ocean Club and would thoroughly recommend it. Having seen the mixed reviews I was worried that we'd made the wrong choice but that certainly turned out not to be the case.

We (a young couple) travelled with Mark Warner who were excellent from start to finish, we were met at the airport, given plenty of water on the transfer along with all of our check in information so that we did not need to go through a laborious checking in process when we arrived at the resort. When the coach arrived (a 10 second walk from our apartment) we were personally taken to our apartments by one of the Reps.

On waking up the next morning we discovered that we had a sea view and were very close to the Tapas area which has it's own pool. The Millenium restaurant where breakfast is served is a 5-10 minute walk away but the road has a pavement and I did not feel unsafe at any time walking along it. The breakfasts are the same every morning as they are in most establishments and whilst this is the case, they have a great selection of fruit, cereal, toast, pastries, cooked breakfast and continental style breakfasts which never disappoint. The evening meals which are served in the same restaurant can be quite samey but whilst we were there they had an italian night, a BBQ night and a portugese night so there is alot of effort made and in the deal which we went on you can swap dinner for lunch giving you the opportunity to try the local restuarants for a change.

The lunches served in both the Tapas and Millenium restaurants are fairly pricey as they have a captive audience but the supermarket is fully stocked and the apartments have great facilities if you want to make lunch yourself. As with all European resorts they know how to serve a great cold beer and huge measures of wine and spirits all of which is very competitively priced. The staff are friendly and helpful whenever you need them.

If you are looking for a wild holiday this resort is not the place to go, however if you are looking for something relaxing and refreshing you may well find just what you need here.

On a final note, do try the local restuarants, we ate in a couple down by the church which were outstanding.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank New_Reviewer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Yep, this is the same resort where Madeleine McCann was abducted. I picked Portugal because we have a 10-1/2 month old baby and I didn't want to deal with jetlag and timezone change! The press was at a distance and I didn't feel their presence around.

As someone else mentioned, the resort is spread across the village mixed in with residential homes. The streets are NOT good for a buggy because you have to hug the walls as you walk about 10 mins to the Millennium Restaurant. I think if your kids can walk this wouldn't be so much of a problem. The biggest negative is the walking especially Rua Direicta which is the main cobbly road and and as I mentioned, a distance away. The cars whizz pass you so fend for your life.

The Mark Warner childcare was great for our daughter, she was the only one in her age group so she was spoilt. The food at the Millennium was okay, you'll find something to eat but it is Britishfied meaning you'll find sausages and chips on the dinner menu. Breakfasts are boring and that's when you have to make the trek to the Millennium! The highlight dish has to be their lunchtime sardines. Freshly grilled. I found their lunches the best of the meals but it's the same menu everyday. This may not be an issue with a lot of you but coffee is not free at meals--squash, a bottle of red wine, and water are. Even soft drinks you have to pay for.

The staff is fantastic. You know they are trying hard for you so mention it on the Comment Card they give you in the end of your stay.

The room we had was lovely. The beds are not comfy and expect single beds although you may be a couple. Nevertheless, the kitchen is a great addition, and the view (we requested above ground floor) was overlooking the water.

Foodwise, I HIGHLY suggest going to some of the restaurants near the Church and along the beachside. The fresh catch of the day is what you want to indulge in. Sea bass, bream, swordfish, and prawns are made with flavour and they are FRESH unlike something you'd find in your local UK market.

If you need some supplies, the one supermarket they have should suffice. They're stocked with a lot of British goods, and they get the Brit newspapers the same day! I suggest you bring a good supply of nappies as they tend to run out very quickly. Same with baby wipes.

You'll meet some nice couples and families. We played tennis to our hearts' content so we finally felt like we were on vacation. The childcare is btwn 9-12:30 and 2:30-5:30. I think that's a bit limiting but that's just my view. You can arrange for the evening service as well but I don't know anyone who used it.

The weather was super so that made things even better. My advice is enjoy the village but bring a good pair of walking shoes and a rugged buggy if you have a baby.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank zabrinacollings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews