We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh dear!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of OndaLuz

OndaLuz
Ranked #4 of 55 Restaurants in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: OndaLuz on the entrance to Praia da Luz, near when Rua da Varzea meets the Rua Direita, is a really nice traditional Portuguese Restaurante, know for its fish dishes, but it also has a wide variety of meat and seafood, you should also try the house especial lamb.
Buckinghamshire UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Oh dear!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I really like this restaurant and have been using it ever since they first opened.
I visit Luz three/four times a year and on every occasion make a point of eating there at least twice.
The food is good and the price you pay for the food and wine makes it excellent value.
However they seem to have become victims of their own success.
Nowadays more often than not they are full and as they still only have the same number of waiting staff as when they first opened the service standard has declined.
On my last visit it took 15 minutes to get a drink and 30 minutes to get the starter.
Hopefully they will recognize they have a problem and rectify it.
Will I go there again. Absolutely

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amberley46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    103
    27
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“FIRST NIGHT BLISS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

After a long day struggling to get our holiday started, where else is there to go? Open until midnight, it's the only place guaranteed to be open - still giving the consistent food and service that we expect any day and any time. Sea Bass char grilled to perfection (twice), chicken piri piri and spaghetti bolognese devoured by the 9 yr old. Just magic. We arrived shortly after 10, bags still in car. Stumbled out just before 11.30, happy to be back in Praia da Luz once again. Thanks to Carlos and OndaLuz.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We visited this restaurant twice during our stay and the food was really really good. The owner and staff provided a very warm welcome. The fish soup (only €3) was better than in any other restaurant in Luz and the potato skins were excellent. My wife had the monkfish and prawn kebab both nights and loved it while I had the fish stew - this is normally a dish for two but the owner was kind enough to serve me a single portion. This was the best dish I tasted in Luz. We have three teenagers and they also all felt this was the best food they had in our visit to Luz (we were in six or seven other restaurants). Also the value was excellent - the five of us each had starter, main and dessert plus two large waters, three cokes and a bottle of wine and the bill was €107.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mckejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Simple, Quality Portuguese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The food here is home cooked style Portuguese - wholesome and plenty of it. The monkfish cataplana is delicious, so much so I shall have it again on my next visit. The fresh fish is also good asyou would expect. The waiters bring the fish round on a tray for you to view before you buy.
The service is very polite and efficient.
As the rerestaurant is not by the seafront the prices are lower.
Gets busy so worth booking.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Malc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luz
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Service was fast, efficient and friendly the food freshly cooked (the kitchen is open to view) the chefs really know their stuff, the waiting staff are funny and fast moving, how they get around the many tables is beyond me, you must book as this is a justifiably very busy restaurant, the Duck is a real gone to heaven dish and should be asked for when you book check the deserts as you go in and they will reserve a good one if asked, maybe I am giving to many secrets away. So it book the table book the duck and reserve a desert, you won’t be disappointed or ripped off, Portuguese food and service at its very best

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OndaLuz also viewed

Luz, Faro District
Luz, Faro District
 
Luz, Faro District
 

Been to OndaLuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing