We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirage Restaurant - CLOSED

Mirage Restaurant
Price range: $22 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

During my stay in Luz I visited this restaurant with my girlfriend for our 4 year anniversary and the dinner was excellent. We had a appetizer, three course meal, wine, water and coffee. The menu had a healthy choice of regional dishes and international classics. I had the carpaccio, chicken breast in mustard-cream-sauce and mixed fruit salad all of which were delicious and well presented. The staff was very friendly. They did forget to put the wine on the bill, however we corrected them on that matter and even so, we only paid €70 for the two of us. I recommend that you try this restaurant if you visit Luz. The restaurant also has a bar but it wasn't anything special.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MatteoVega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    14
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

After many years in Praia da Luz this was our first visit. Should have tried it before- it was excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“12 years doing Luz before finding Mirage. Easily the best in Luz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just finishing 10 days in Luz after coming here for 12 years. Unusually, best meals we've had this year where the ones I'd cooked myself - town has definitely gone down over the last few years - until trying the Mirage. Everything about the experience was spot on. Nice surroundings, superbly friendly and accommodating staff, wide and varied menu but, above all, excellently cooked food with quality ingredients. Prices are very reasonable - cheaper than much poorer establishments in Luz. Wine choices and prices are good. So delighted with tonight's meal that I felt I should write a review straight away to encourage other visitors to Luz to come here at the beginning of their holiday. We're going home tomorrow but will definitely head straight back here next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank curryfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We managed to find this place its not on the sea front. When we turned up we asked if it was ok to have a drink first. Whist we was having our drinks the manager brought a plate of fresh fish over to tell us the specials. When we sat down they gave us bread and olives. The food was amazing and delicious whether you order fish or meat dishes. Great atmosphere and waiters were great and helpful especially when we asked for their opinion on their favourite deserts !!! Best night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dover455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Undoubtedly N1 restaurant in Luz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

After a disaster service at Fontaleza de Luz, an average meal at italian Alloro and unwelcoming evening at N1 Chicca we booked a place in Mirage. This was the highlight of our holiday! We arrived early and had a luxury of choice where we want to see (which took about 15 min for our kid and a lot of patience from stuff). Eventually we settled around big round table inside in a beautiful surrounding (photoes attached) and magical service began. We felt being treated like royals from Gerardo. He made our evening special! we had a long discussion about the menu, his recommendaion were spotless. He brought us fresh fish/seafood on the platter for our choice and we went for fish on the grill and king prawns for mains- what a delight. The cover with bread with variey of butter and pattes were yummy. Gerardo kept delivering extras for our kids, looking after wine, cheerfully chatting through our holiday experience, sights in the area we need to visit. If we had not visited the place we would have left very dissappointed about the food places in Luz. Such a shame Mirage is out of the way from seafront and main street but definetely worth a visit! THANK YOU GERARDO for making our evening so special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NikAndNataliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirage Restaurant also viewed

Luz, Faro District
Luz, Faro District
 
Luz, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing