We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Vila Margarida

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The pool and part of the garden seen from the first floor terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
The pool and part of the garden seen from the first floor terrace
The beautiful outlook from the first floor terrace.
Cool shaded poolside cabana-if you fancy a bit of shade-or great for poolside lunches.
Large pool terrace, plenty of space to catch the sun!
Plenty of sunbathing space around the pool
The lovely cool, shady outdoor lounge area with lovely views
Modern fitted kitchen
Dining room to bright, light kitchen
From the first floor terrace.
Pool terrace and Vila Margarida
A cool shady spot in the lovely gardens.
Private tennis court in the garden.
First floor dining terrace with sea views and views to the cliffs overlooking Luz Bay.
One of 4 modern bath/shower rooms at Vila Margarida.
Orchard area in the garden, orange, grapefruit and lemon trees. Handy for breakfast or a G&T!!
Long sweeping private gated driveway to Vila Margarida.
Large light airy lounge
Large light airy lounge
Dining room-spacious and opening onto first floor terrace-ideal for a pre-dinner drink!
Dining room-spacious and opening onto first floor terrace-ideal for a pre-dinner drink!
Covered terrace runs along to open terrace area with outside dining area.
Veranda looking to pool and gardens
The lovely cool, shady outdoor lounge area with lovely views
The lovely cool, shady outdoor lounge area with lovely views
Arriving at Vila Margarida!
The beach early in the morning.
The prom at Luz
The prom at Praia da Luz and beach -just 8 minutes walk from Vila Margarida
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Luz, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dawn C
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed in Vila Margarida at Easter, & had beautiful weather to make the most of the grounds & lovely warm pool. There were 6 of us so we had masses of space. The villa is very tastefully decorated & the garden beautiful. Everything was immaculately clean & well maintained. I don't think the photos did it justice. It was a week of luxury!
The barbecue area has it's own hob, sink, fridge, large table & chairs, all under shade & next to the pool.
Although Faro is closer, we flew into Lisbon where we hired a car & had a day there each end, which was really worthwhile.
Remember that you can't drink the water in the villa (because it comes from a sink hole) so you need to bring some when you arrive.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2016
Thank you for this lovely review Dawn, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Vila Margarida.
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 3, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review that I have only just seen!!! so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Best wishes
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
roy w
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“beautiful villa with a views to match.”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This villa is absolutely beautiful , the pool and gardens are fabulous and with its own tennis court , it lies on a massive plot.
All you need is here for a holiday of a lifetime with it being situated perfectly in Luz .
The management company are always at hand for help and advice and respond quickly to any problems.
The swimming pool was like a bath and maintained weekly.
Overall a perfect holiday location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: upside down living keeps you fit
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2014
Thank you for your kind words-we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Vila Margarida so much and hope we might be able to welcome you back or another stay some time.Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2014
Thank you for your response-we are so pleased that you loved Vila Margarida as much as we do
Best wishes
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TRMan2014
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely spacious villa in large grounds with fantastic views and close to all amenities.”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Really enjoyed our stay over Christmas 2013 with the family. There were eight of us but the villa is so large we were still rattling around! This is the fifth time we have returned and we still find new things to do and see. We had the pool heated for the 2 weeks that we were there.It was lovely, like a warm bath! We adore having breakfast on the terrace and the wood burner makes the lounge very cosy in the evenings.
Christmas eve saw us down at the BBQ grilling sardines! A lovely memory.
The journey from Faro takes about 1: 20 mins, the motorway is not very busy (the locals don't tend to use it much since the tolls were added.)
The local shops are excellent . Baptista is a little pricey but they do sell most things.There are larger supermarkets a few minutes drive away in Lagos.
We are very grateful to Fiona Harris for letting us rent Vila Margarita.
A really well equipped villa in a superb location.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and much valued return visits! We look forward to the next time
Best wishes,
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanharan...
Llanharan, Wales
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“SHEER LUXURY ONTHE ALGARVE”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We booked this villa from Owners Direct and found its owner, Fiona Harris, excellent to deal with, ready to offer advice and information on the slightest query.
We used Easyjet and Ryanair and both were punctual and efficient. It is about 1 hour from Faro airport and we used Suntransfers. Their admin was admirable as were two of the three journeys booked for our family, but one of our pick-ups at Faro was almost two hours late and then got lost in Praia da Luz resulting in an unwanted late arrival. However, the company apologised and offered discount on a future booking.
This was soon forgotten as the pleasures of a superb luxury villa unfolded. It was extremely spacious with good sized bedrooms, en-suite for three and sharing for the family twin rooms. One bedroom was on the first floor.
Living and dining facilities offered an indoor dining room and three outside areas. The BBQ was well set up with gas rings, fridge and hot and cold sink alongside the fire.
The pool and the playthings were a constant delight our grandsons, while the older members made great use of the tennis court.
So extensive were the picturesque grounds that one could have charged an entrance fee to walk around them! A gardener attended regularly.
It was very secure with a full alarm system, key safe and personal safe.
Filamena, a charming house manager, came twice in the week.
We also had a visit from Nicola of the Rosemary Reynolds villa management company, apologising for a mix up over our pre ordered groceries and offering two bottles of good cava as recompense. One small matter of a difficult balcony gate was mentioned, and next day a man arrived to fix it.
Views of the sea and colourful cliffs were possible from the first floor balconies
It is a walk of about 10 minutes down to the sea front. Praia da Luz is a pleasant low key resort, a complete contrast to the “in your face” costas. It has a spacious sandy beach with water sports, but beware of the strong winds and currents – pedalling a pedalo into the wind proved very difficult.
It has a range of restaurants, we found the Pasmina Indian near the church one of the best we have ever visited, while the Fortaleza opposite offers sea edge dining and excellent food.
There are two supermarkets close to one another – the Spar and the Baptista, both offering a good range of food and other things, and both apparently willing to deliver large orders. These are 6/7 minutes walk on the way down to the western edge of the sea front.
Nearby Lagos is very much worth a visit – historic, scenic and with narrow streets full of bars, restaurants and old churches, A bus from the church runs every 45 minutes and costs only E1.60, taking about 30 minutes. However, a taxi ride is about ten minutes and costs less than E10.
In summary, a more delightful way to spend a week would be hard to find – sheer luxury.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious luxury with excellent facilities
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2014
Thank you for your delightful and comprehensive review. You have captured Vila Margarida so well!!!
Best wishes,
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing