We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but service just too slow”
Review of Jake's Bistro - CLOSED

Jake's Bistro
Price range: $11 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food but service just too slow”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Here few days ago and food was fabulous and waiter for pleasant but the service was so slow -we entered at 7.15 or so and left at 9.15 when I had to leave with 3 year old. Our kids were very good-age 7 and 5 and 3 but It was just too long to wait !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hally71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value and good fun”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Visited jakes bistro with my family after seeing recommendations on trip advisor and looking for a good value informal meal that suited all the family. Does not look much outside but when you go downstairs it is a lovely cosy friendly environment. We all had starters onion rings,chicken wings bruschetta and best of all humous which was to die for the best I have ever tasted made you want to lick the bowl. Main courses were spaghetti and meatballs,lasagne,beef stifado and chilli con carne. All the food was very tasty and generous portions left 4 stuffed happy diners. With plenty of wine and drinks the bill only came to 60 euros fantastic value for good food in lovely restaurant with friendly genuine service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Worth seeking out- underground treasure”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very quiet, with lots of character. We had starters of sticky ribs and BBQ wings which were gorgeous, the meat just fell off the ribs. We had a range of main courses also with meat that just fell apart and melted in the mouth, all of the dishes were very flavoursome. The only downside to the meal was the desserts, slightly undercooked crumble and microwaved pancakes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We ate here recently, service and food both good. Doesn't look great from outside, but inside its cheerful and friendly. The menu is really quite interesting, different from other places we ate at in Luz. Good value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeanLobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“dont be put off by the entrance”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely little restaurant, staff really helpful, very good value (quite cheap) woud highly recommend it. Clothes did hold the cooking smell though.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's Bistro also viewed

Luz, Faro District
Luz, Faro District
 
Luz, Faro District
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing