We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special occasions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jake's Bistro - CLOSED

Jake's Bistro
Price range: $11 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Special occasions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been to Jakes recently to celebrate Burns Night and Valentines day. Food and atmosphere excellent - not so good for the weigh in the day after but who cares. Just love the care taken by Gaye and Steve over the food and presentation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best ribs in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great food, great choices and exceptionally good value. Well worth a visit when next in Praia da Luz. The ribs are a must!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheBudha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab little eatery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Excellent roast dinners! Friendly family run business, great menu and lovely atmosphere. Little Jakes also do AMAZING burgers!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

amazing food fantastic service.. the ribs there i've never had anything like it. well worth a look when your in Luz

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank toplad121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Home Cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We went in to Jakes new premises on the 2nd night after it had opened, having moved from around the corner. We think they need some smaller tables as they are all for 6-8 people, as a couple we had a table for 6 and they were turning people away, hopefully by now they will have sorted the problem. That aside the food at the old place was 1st class but I think there were a few teething prblems of 1st/2nd night nerves, it was all a bit disorganised. I had Goulash but bizarrely it had pasta in in but when I had it at the old place the week previously it didnt. Come on Jakes youre food is amazing so Please dont spoil it, it was almost as if they had run out of Goulash and were trying to stretch it out!! Give this place a try as I am sure it will have settled down now, and I stress the food is so so good, real home cooked food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol23263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's Bistro also viewed

Luz, Faro District
Luz, Faro District
 
Luz, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing