We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best eating out in Luz - going again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Fabrica

A Fabrica
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Beachfront restaurant with inside and outside dining. Daytime we serve lunches, snacks, fresh fruit juices, smoothies, teas, coffees, and great home made cakes (including gluten free options) Visit us in the evening for a full and interesting a la carte menu with an international flavour, carefully selected local wines, cocktails, kids menu. Bright and contemporary interior. Open 6 days per week through summer season. Closed Sundays
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best eating out in Luz - going again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We went to Cafe a Fabrica for lunch on our first in Luz. We ordered their home made chicken liver pate (excellent), the slow cooked, tender & tasty pork sandwich and the very generous Greek style feta salad. The staff were all very attentive and cheerful.
Tempted by the advertised home made cakes we returned the next afternoon to be equally impressed by the fig Frangipan desert served with vanilla ice cream and the Bakewell tart.
Dinner is definitely on the cards!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafeafabrica, Manager at A Fabrica, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your visit and for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your lunch and look forward to serving you at dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    163
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have eatin in many restaurants and cafes in luz and Lagos over our 2 holidays and this has to have been the most disappointing place we have eatin, we sat outside in the evening for a meal and wanted a high chair for our baby. We asked for the high chair as we sat down.35 minutes after ordering our food we still hadn't the high hair or the food we ordered. At this point we were very annoyed as our child was getting really unsettled as she has nowhere to sit and we were still waiting on our food and tried getting the attention of the waitress we decided to leave, the waiter was very sharp with my partner and said our food takes longer as its fish and steak and it is now ready (5 mins later)and apologised for the delay with the childseat. So we said we'd be polite and sit and eat the food now that it was ready, we couldn't understand what the delay was as my steak was miserably small and my partners fish were very small also. Too expensive for the food we were getting, The food was average at best and service was terrible needless to say we wouldn't be returning any time soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafeafabrica, Manager at A Fabrica, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are sorry you did not have a good experience of our restaurant. We were aware of the delay in serving your food for which the waiter apologised. Unfortunately your arrival followed several other large tables, and as all our food is cooked to order your meal was slower to deliver than usual and for this we apologise again. Regarding your steak, the dish you ordered was surf and turf which, as described on the menu, comprises a fillet medallion (130 grams) and a half portion of our large garlic prawns. The dish is priced at Euros 16.50. Our full size fillet steak is 250 grams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The place for lunch and The best burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

On the last day of our stay when we had to vacate our appartments and had time before our flight we dropped by Cafe a Fabrica for a quick lunch. We sat outside and had a good view over the beach and ocean. For an outsider it looks like a basic place but they have the most delicious burgers for 8-9 Euros, where meat is juicy and melting in your mouth. They have kids menu and the service is verywelcoming. Had we knew about this place before, probably would have had more lunches here!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NikAndNataliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafeafabrica, Manager at A Fabrica, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your visit and your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your lunch. Should you visit Luz again, do try our evening menu, which is a quite different to our more casual lunchtimes, and we offer a three course kids meal deal. You can see some of our evening dishes at the Cafe a Fabrica facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“2nd visit ... still good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Tried the burger, it was fantastic, only thing I felt slightly let down about was the generic sesame bun - though this is more of a personal taste gripe than anything else. Interior is fabulously fresh also quite different from other restaurants in the locality. Outside seating get to hear the local acts if they are playing nightly on the prom.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafeafabrica, Manager at A Fabrica, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your visit and your review of our restaurant. We are pleased you enjoyed our burger and we note your comment on the sesame bun. We agree that our home made burger deserves better. We have tried other bakery rolls in their place this year, but these were deemed too crusty, and we have yet to source a suitable soft bap variety from local bakers as these are not typical to Portugal. We shall keep trying, but in the meantime if you visit again, please feel free to request a fresh baked roll with your burger. We welcome your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Small and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our party of four booked a meal at Fabrica as it was about 20 metres from our apartment. We were fortunate to choose the first warm evening of the week so enjoyed our meals al fresco.

The food was delicious, the service efficient and the atmosphere friendly without being intrusive.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J2J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafeafabrica, Manager at A Fabrica, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your visit and for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable evening at our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Fabrica also viewed

 
Luz, Faro District
 

Been to A Fabrica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing