We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, food needed more seasoning.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Amici Ristorante Bar - CLOSED

Amici Ristorante Bar
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service, food needed more seasoning.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Our party of 4 was looking for authentic Italian. We are visiting Luz for the first time and it is off season. Only 1 other table seated when we arrived at 8:15 and a 2nd group of 4 arrived shortly thereafter. Our waiter,
Ricardo, was excellent and they have a nice wine list. The calamaria Meditterneo was served in a tortilla shell for some reason and lacked flavor. Our pasta dishes included vegetables that had been overcooked but the pasta was cooked just right. The desserts were excellent- panna cotta was exceptional and coffee delish. Would not return on another visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    35
    15
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bad food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The menu outside looked very enticing and it also stated that they take time and pride in preparing each dish so it might take longer to get each course. My first course was a calamari that had bad texture and flavor. A disappointment. But I thought surely this was an exception and the rest of the meal would be good. We ordered a variety of salads, pastas and entrees.i actually think that when they asked my friend if he wanted his pasta spicey, they just added tobacco for extra heat. Everything else desperately needed salt and pepper. The food never got better. In fact I would say it got worse. It wasn't until the desert and cappuccino that we got something we enjoyed. The waiter Ricardo was excellent. We enjoyed him very much. But I would never go back. Jjpdds

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjpdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
398 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Best ravioli ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a relatively new restaurant in Luz, and a great addition! We ate here 4 times over 3 weeks and loved it every time. The chef is from Tuscany and definitely cooks great Italian food. I especially liked the duck ravioli and the mushroom risotto. The goat cheese and pear appetizer is also superb. The wine list is very good, with both Italian and Portuguese offerings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food & quick service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were really pleased we found this restaurant on our first night in Luz. I had the prawn starter which was absolutely delicious- food looked and tasted amazing. Beautiful sea bass main course, and my boyfriend had a pizza he loved. We arrived quite late but this wasn't a problem, food arrived very quickly and we couldn't fault it at all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey8413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
151 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great little Italian with friendly service and tasty pizzas. This was our fourth trip to Luz and we usually eat at the restaurants near the beach but this is worth finding. It's away from the other restaurants but great service and really good crispy pizzas. Can't believe I've walked past this place for four seasons and not visited ! Will be back next year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MazSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amici Ristorante Bar also viewed

 
Luz, Faro District
 
Luz, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing