We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent BUT......”
Review of Hotel Baia da Luz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Baia da Luz
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Have just returned from Baia da Luz (with hubby, daughter 20 and son 16). These apartments are fabulous: very large and spacious, exceptionally clean and well equipped. There are a large number of apartments, in different blocks, and the surrounding gardens are beautiful. There are two pools: one for children/families and one for adults only (no children under aged 16). Whilst this was fantastic for us, I could see that it caused problems for families where only one of the children were under 16. The older children didn't want to go in the children's pool but the under 16 couldn't swim with the family. The pool attendant is vigilant (good job Megan) and would not allow this rule to be broken (which I agree with). But then of course you get the ignorant parents who think the rule doesn't apply to them. There is also the rule of not being allowed to reserve sunbeds with towels and then come back after breakfast. Great rule, but the pool area was not big enough to cope with the number of holidaymakers so it did mean having to get up early in order to get a sunbed. I wasn't always happy at putting the alarm on on holiday!! If you weren't by the pool by 9.30, there was little chance of a sunbed and certainly not 4 together. I also wish there had been a supermarket on the site. However, the town is a 5 -10 minute stroll away where all the restaurants were and the beach, so fantastic location. The restaurants do get very busy so it is a good idea to book tables. The restaurant on site (Alloro) is very good. Would recommend for family/couple holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 551 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have just had the most amazing one week holiday at Hotel Baia da Luz and what a treat this has been. This place have got it all if you like space, clean living, super friendly staff and peace and quiet. The pool area is great for kids and adults alike, the baby pool is separated from the family pool and for you over the age of 16 there is also an pool for you to enjoy without getting splashed. We are a family with two girls, 16 and 10, and they had such a great time they would like to come back for two weeks next year, and we will. Luz it self is small and unspoilt and got a lot of charm and the beach is small but perfect. There is a lot of fun to be had with a wide range of water sports to enjoy. If you have kids of the age of 8-16 I would recommend the kids water sport day which takes place on Tuesdays and Thursdays, they get to have a whole day trying lots of different water sports and meet friends, lunch is also included in the price. We also was lucky enough to see bottle nosed dolphins on one of their dolphin watch trips, you can book all this at the beach which is really close to the Hotel Baia da Luz. What a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kerstin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just back from Baia da Luz. Apartment was great, clean, spacious and well equipped. We were in block 7-9 which is right next to the pool area which was great for us with small children. Pool area was busy and sun loungers were also busy but we always got some and Megan the pool supervisor was fab at making sure people weren't reserving loungers with towels and not actually using them imminently. We had Underground parking also which was great. Apartment was 10 mins walk from the beautiful beach and beach front cafes etc. Alloro, the restaurant in Baia Da Luz was excellent both to eat in and to take away food. Don't be out off by the fact it's not very picturesque, it really is very good. We've been to Luz many times and although its grown over the years it remains and beautiful and family friendly resort. Only down side, the rock hard beds we had, this has been mentioned in a couple of other reviews. I had to take a duvet off a spare bed we had to soften the mattress.
I would recommend and will return to Baia da Luz.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Surrey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a beautiful three bedroom apartment with three bathrooms, mezzanine and five balconies facing various directions - so plenty of views and sun-traps. The teenagers enjoyed chilling out in air-conditioned sitting room with CDs when the sun got too much for them.

Kitchen is the best-equipped we've experienced for self-catering. you even get welcome pack of milk, water, tea, coffee, sugar, dishwasher and laundry tablets.

Everything at the complex is clean and efficient, the reception staff are professional, helpful and friendly. The 'adult' pool is a little small but it never felt crowded and we always got sunbeds no matter what time we went down - so no getting up early to reserve your spot!

A five minute stroll through pretty streets takes you to the beach with a choice of golden sand or rocks to stretch out on. Towards Black Rock is quieter but it never felt too busy or overcrowded. Water sports are easy to access (Chico Time was our favourite.)

There are so many great restaurants we didn't manage to eat in all the ones we'd read about. But Chicca's stood out for freshly prepared, organic, highly imaginative dishes - and heavenly desserts.

Room Tip: Higher floors have rooftop balconies - sun traps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have just returned from a week here, the apartment was massive and spotless. My dad had his own floor, balcony and bathroom and on our floor (my husband and I and 2 teenagers) we had 2 bathrooms, 2 more balconies, large lounge and a fab state of the art kitchen with washing machine and dishwasher. Underground parking space, extremely secure. All reception staff were fab but we particularly found Vitor very helpful and friendly. The pool was busy but this was peak season, the pool supervisor Megan was very good at making sure that people didn't leave towels on sunbeds if they were not used which was a fair system. The pool bar was reasonable. The on site restaurant was very good but very popular so book ahead. The beach is really lovely although the water vv cold , didn't stop my boys trying out the watersports, reasonably priced at Chiccos. Really good restaurants to try, Chiccas and Café Fabrica.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed here from 30th July 2013 for seven days with my family of five... three bed rooms three bathrooms two storey everything was lovely, The accommodation is modern clean and spacious & we found everything we required for our stay included for self catering.. I would happily stay here again although I was not keen on the complex layout which had roads running through it when I expected a complex with gardens and pool at the centre. The beach is close enough & very nice, It is a small village so shops & stores are limited & it seems you are best advised to pre-book restaurants in the village as there is a shortage at peek times even though the resort was far from full... One other observation of restaurant staff in the resort is that they in general are not very polite, we eat out every day & I was only impressed by the Chinese restaurants service & food which I would recommend. The hotel staff on the other hand were polite & helpful. Out & about is quite & peaceful so I would not recommend if you are looking for activities etc.

Room Tip: There is a small number of apartments in the pool complex ask for one of these!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed here with a girl friend and it was lovely. The one bedroom apartment was HUGE and more than enough for 2 people. The apartments are well kept and clean. I was a little confused with the maid service as we were told on email that it was daily. However, we stayed there fore 5 days and it was cleaned twice. This was enough for us though as were are quite tidy girls but for some, this may not be enough. The pool area was verey nice and clean, but you need to get there by 11am to get a good spot during busy season. I would definitely visit here again !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l_keikei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
12.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
13.0 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
19.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,046 reviews
11.0 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,259 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia da Luz

Address: Rua Alfredo do Nascimento Baptista | Lote 35, R/C - Urb. Da luz, Luz 8600-152, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Price Range: $53 - $1,684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baia da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing