We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious quality apartments a stroll away from the village”
Review of Hotel Baia da Luz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Baia da Luz
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spacious quality apartments a stroll away from the village”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

These apartments are spacious with excellent facilities and of a very high quality. Our apartment had a large balcony overlooking the gardens where we could have our meals or an evening drink. There are two well maintained swimming pools with ample sunloungers and there is an excellent restaurant in the complex as well. The staff at reception were friendly attentive and helpful as was the resort management. The village of Praia da Luz is just a short walk away and has several restaurants, shops, and bars. The beach is superb with full facilities in the summer months.

Room Tip: If you are visiting off season some apartments get more sun than others on their balconies but this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    112
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
255
166
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. The apartment was spacious and clean though the bed was very hard. All modern fixtures and fittings. Pool area was nice. Only 2minutes to the beach, bars etc. Would defiantly go back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I don't normally book beach holidays but wanted a change and booked a one bedroom apartment at the Vila Baia. I wasn't expecting the apartment to be exactly the same as the photographs on the website as hotels normally show only their best rooms but my apartment was exactly the same as the photograph. The apartment was spacious, comfortable and with all mod cons. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to offer advise on where to eat and how to get to various places. Luz is very quiet but I had a truly relaxing and restful holiday which was made all the better by the accommodation

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheekybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at this upscale hotel/apartment complex with friends for a week in early May. The pictures on the website looked good but the reality of the duplex we stayed in far exceeded our expectations. Spotlessly clean, superb kitchen, Sky tv, great location - absolutely perfect. The extensive grounds are immaculately kept, the pool area too is spotless and we enjoyed the free tennis courts too. Just a short stroll to the village for the beach and plentiful eateries and supermarkets makes this a great holiday destination. The hotel staff too, especially Isobel, were extremely helpful. Minor gripes were the beds seemed a bit hard and the other guests with children ignored the signs by the adults only pool about over 16s only and let their little darlings shout and splash where they shouldn't have been.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dovinesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were 4 Canadian couples that stayed here for two weeks. The accommodations were beyond words. We enjoyed the close proximity to the the town. We walked every night to the numerous restaurants available. Could have a glass of wine without having to worry about driving. The town is quaint and quiet. It is also very close to the larger town of Lagos.
Lots of great golf courses around the area. Close to Spain for side trips.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaceyGreenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Baia da Luz is an impressive complex in many ways. The apartments are enormous, beautiful and very affordable off season. We paid 75 Euros for three bedrooms, three bathrooms, one balcony and one terrace over two floors. The location is very good; close to the beach and the small town of Luz. The on-site Italian restaurant serves excellent food and the service is great. Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay.

There is one heated pool in the complex, which we were able to use in spite of the relatively cool weather. However, this required us to violate a rather unfriendly and ridiculous house rule. Incredibly, a sign posted next to the pool informs guests that the heated pool is for adults only! Apparently, the proprietors (and, it would seem, a fair number of reviewers on this site) think it is ok to reserve the only pool that is usable off season to grownups, and expel children to the freezing cold kiddie pool. Luckily, we were not the only ones practising civil disobedience - several other families chose to disregard these silly and discriminatory regulations and no one seemed to object.

Another unpleasant surprise was that the bed sheets were not clean when we arrived. In all three rooms, the linen was infested with the distinct scent of sweat. We asked reception to change the beds, which was taken care of. With the major exception of the bed sheets, the cleanliness of the apartment was impeccable.

A minor source of irritation was the unavailability of reception staff both upon arrival and departure. When we left, we simply had to leave our key outside the locked reception door as no staff members were available, even though we had informed them of our early departure beforehand. The few staff members we did come in contact with, were friendly and helpful.

Wifi is available in reception and pool areas only, but the staff told us they were working on expanding this to the apartments.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KariDag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just came back from a lovely stay at these apartments. Never stayed in such an amazing apartment. Furnished and equipped to such a high standard with everything you could possibly need! Washing machine,dishwasher,iron, TV (bit small for room) DVD player and Sky (tuned to English channels), Full size fridge freezer, full size cooker, microwave, stereo/CD player, heating (we needed it, weather was not good!) Fully furnished/decorated in neutral colours to a really high standard. The only thing wrong is that I was paranoid we would break something and lose our deposit!! (250 E payable on check-in) Probably not ideal if you have young, devilish children or people who are clumsy with the red wine!

Stayed in a ground floor apartment but if I went again I would ask for top floor. Each set of apartments has its own security gate & with them being full in the summer I imagine the gate clanging shut would really annoy you at night if people were coming back late. The adult pool was heated which i was surprised at so my boyfriend went swimming most days, even tho the weather was cold/wet. Take your tennis stuff if you play, has about 3 courts. Pool bar had really good not badly priced food. Staff were helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again but hope for better weather next time!

Room Tip: if you like the sun, don't be on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sun1Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
12.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
13.0 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Lagos
3,093 reviews
3.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 51 in Lagos
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia da Luz

Property: Hotel Baia da Luz
Address: Rua Alfredo do Nascimento Baptista | Lote 35, R/C - Urb. Da luz, Luz 8600-152, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baia da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing