We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Facilities for a Family Holiday”
Review of Hotel Baia da Luz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Baia da Luz
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We enjoyed wonderful week in Baía. As soon as we entered our apartment we relaxed, spacious modern facilities greeted us and we had a wonderful ground floor balcony which our toddler enjoyed exploring.
Food in Alloro onsite is very good.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaeWestIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Baia da Luz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 535 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

We have just returned from our second visit and once again couldn't fault these fantastic apartments & the facilities. Positioned in a beautifully unspoilt pocket of the Algarve we enjoyed spotless modern spacious accommodation gorgeous landscaping and pools and a wonderful Italian restaurant serving fresh & tantalising food. Just 5 minutes walk & you have one of several beaches nearby aswell as several fantastic restaurants. We look forward to our next visit & wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in the Algarve. Thankyou Baia!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charliex4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We rented two bedroom apartment from the owner, actually you can rent it as a hotel via their web site as well. Free parking, 50 min from Faro airport.
Strange thing about this place is the fact that the complex is located in three territories and you need to ask where will you live. A lot of rooms has a busy road view. The best part is around the pool area. Actually there are two pools - one for everybody and the second - only for adults. WiFi with slow speed is only around reception and around the pool area (too many people get connected. You hardly can do anything). Restaurant: simple junk food for lunch, good food for dinners.
Rooms with prefix 0 (AB etc) its actually a ground floor - pluses and minuses - you have your small garden but on the road level, with people around, dust.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a fabulously furnished apartment/hotel with beautiful facilities, including the delicious Alloros restaurant on site, However, our recent holiday was spoilt by the fact that the keycards to our apartment RARELY worked. this meant that whenever we were locked out, we had to walk to the reception, which was a bit of a distance away (especially with young children) to ask them to sort this out. The usual reply was "did you leave your card with your mobile fone". I eventually stopped bringing my fone with me as it happened so often despite the fact that I found this excuse rediculous as I have stayed in many keycard using hotels and have never had a "mobile fone" related incident with the card. The cards were usually reset but on returning to the apartment, the card was still not working. Eventually, I had to call the reception on the telephone from the restuarant whenever I was leaving to pool to ask for someone to meet us at our apartment to open the door. Despite the fact that the staff, especially, Isabel were very polite and helpful, this is not what I would expect from this class of hotel and I would also like to point out that the Manager never contacted us to apologies or explain. Unfortunately, we will not be returning to the hotel because of this.

Room Tip: Always ask for apartment close to pool as some are quite a distance away up a hill.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FredDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I love it in Vila Baia, I have been here about 6 or 7 times over the past 5 years during all seasons.. its very clean and modern and really close to the beach.. apartments themselves are amazing and you could live in them! most have 2/3 balconies which is great and satellite tv :)
the only thing about Luz is it is VERY QUIET at night.. but you can get a taxi to Lagos for about 10e which is a bit better for nightlife although the nightclubs are TINY!!! I was last here in May 2012 and it was relaxing but too many kids by the adult pool.. i think i would rather go in september when the children have gone back to school!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed at Baia da Luz over half term holiday, in an apartment for 4. Great accomodation, modern, clean with everything you would need.Vitor in reception was very accomodating, organising transfer taxi for us. We were a short stroll from the swimming pools and restaurant. Adult only pool was heated more than the other pool therefore lots of families used adult pool. Family pool was quite chilly in comparison. Pool bar and restaurant were great with good food and fantastic service. All staff were friendly and helpful. Plaia da Luz was a 10 minute walk away with a choice of restaurants and 2 well stocked supermarkets. A very quiet and peaceful resort, great for families. We loved it and would definitely recommend this accomodation and resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lag111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Spotlessly clean apartment with everything you might need. Location was good, staff polite. Only criticisms we had would be that the bed was not very comfy and we did have a 'poor' apartment in that there was no real view. The gate to the clock was very noisy as well as other residents lacked the consideration to close it quietly. The pool was lovely, only spoilt by the families who let their children use the adults only pool. The restaurant was amazingly nice, with excellent staff. We ate the food every night, usually getting a take away to enjoy in the apartment. Would definately stay again and hope that the people in the apartment above would have less of a habit of dragging furniture about as the sound proofing it not great.

Room Tip: There were much prettier views than the one we had, try to get a high floor room or one overlooking...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clocktowerclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
12.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
13.0 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
11.0 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,225 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia da Luz

Address: Rua Alfredo do Nascimento Baptista | Lote 35, R/C - Urb. Da luz, Luz 8600-152, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Price Range: $56 - $813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baia da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing