We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valentino's - CLOSED

Valentino's
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a wonderful meal at Valentinos last Saturday. There is a varied menu of meat and fish with a seperate menu for children. The service was excellent and the prices of both the food and wine competitive with other restaurants in the area. Tables are situated both inside and outside which gives the opportunity to enjoy the warm summer evenings eating outside if you should choose to do so. The staff are very friendly and appear to be very well organised. All in all a very good dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    16
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OK but not first on my list of preferred restaurants in Luz”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Food was acceptable, service acceptable though I think we were lucky, one couple sat there the whole time we were there with their litre of wine and no food! It seemed as though the employees were under pressure and were racing to meet demands of customers. Wine was well chilled, breem was very good with lots of lemon, would visit again but wouldn't be first on my list.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annapanna44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Know What to Expect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

The trouble with going to a restaurant for the first time is that you never know what to expect - even if frineds have recommended it. Valentinos won't be everyone's cup of tea but read the menu before you go in. It's largely an English Menu but it's in Portugal so don't expect local food. Shez and Andy have been running this establishment for years and our visit last night was not the first. We had Steak & Kidney Pie, Chicken and Bacon Pie and Swordfish Steak - all beautifully cooked. The Swordfish was moist and succulent - always a big test of a chef's ability. The Steak and Kidney Pie was just as described on the menu - 'melt in the mouth' and the chicken pie was delicious. We made a point of trying the apple crumble - which a previous reviewer had described as having no apple. It was delicious with plenty of apple and a hint of cinnamon.
Valentinos is not blessed with the best basement surroundings or atmosphere but the welcome is always warm and friendly and the food is good honest homefare and always well cooked. Prices are average and will not break the bank.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Dirty wine glass. Wine not opened at the table. There was a maggot of some sort in the bottle. We saw a couple at another table complaining about the wine they got. They did the proper thing and left.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Fantastic food at a good price. Family run restaurant, so freindly and very helpfull. They are fantastic with children and will deff be going back. Really nice meals and puddings to die for. Brilliant service thank you.x x x x x x x x

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moocow38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentino's also viewed

Luz, Faro District
Luz, Faro District
 
Luz, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing