We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
Nearby Hotels
Luzmar Villas(Luz)(Great Value!)
$102
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belavista da Luz(Luz)(Great Value!)
$122
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vilamar Hotel(Luz)(Great Value!)
$72
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveler rating
142
85
20
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
85
20
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar is essentialthe cliffcoffee machinethe atlantic oceanfollowing morningrooms were very cleanexcept sundayrestaurants within walking distancehamsa lovely place to staywhole complexcoastal walkshot and cold foodwestern algarvehire carmin walkreception area
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 252 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here off the back of trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The apartments are set out beautifully with quaint plant edged paths in between. Lady in charge is a real gem, Nothing was too much trouble and she spoke many languages very well. We didn't hire a car and were B&B only, so the only thing we found tricky was that the resort didn't have any restaurants 'next door'. Not too big an issue though as we were happy to have an earlier evening meal and enjoy the 30 min walk back along the coastal path from Burgau whilst it was still light, or get a taxi from Praia de Luz. Nicely decorated, clean rooms and a wonderful selection at breakfast. Highly recommended. Did a jeep safari and canoe trip, and a (long) one day trip to Lisbon (2 day is recommended). The tour companies are usually happy to pick up from the resort. Thoroughly enjoyable week in Portugal.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Going in the hotel was a last minute decision, but I have no regrets at all.
This is a great romantic hotel with very friendly staff in a very quiet spot.
We had a very spacious and cosy double room with ocean view from the bed. Our balcony was right above the swimming pool.
The breakfast is at a terrace with ocean view as well. The whole complex is covered with beautiful trees and flowers.
The owner was extreme friendly and gave us lots of insider tips during our stay.
A great three star hotel with four star potential.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maat1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

It really is stretching too far to call this four star. Reception opens at 9am & is a quaint little hut with bar attached. The exception is the 4* excellent breakfast hut with freshly baked choices. There are no other central buildings. The bedrooms/apartments are clean & secluded; spread around several acres of lovely gardens; BUT almost all (including ours) looked very tired & in need of refurbishment. Typically they featured old-fashioned air conditioning & old mozzie window screens with gaps! There is a separate small new area (furthest from the sea) to which we did not have access, a handful of newer apartments with modern sliding terrace doors/windows & 3 adequate pools spread around the site. The few reception staff could not be more friendly & if it were 2/3 star it would be acceptable - if still needing a refurb - but not 4 star!!
As long as you a) have a car or b) enjoy (infrequent) buses/a half hour walk - which we do - Burgau is great for a quiet village/beach atmosphere with plenty of choice for quiet food & drink. There is a "reluctant" courtesy bus (you feel they are doing you a big favour to use it!). You are encouraged to get a taxi back (around £5).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Grandpainboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We paid 75 Eur for an apartment with two (!) identical bathrooms incl. bath tub, spacious bedroom, fully equipped kitchen and two TV's. The terrace was looking out to the pool. We found the apartment tidy and everything in perfect condition. Breakfast was plentiful and always replenished on time. You have got the choice between cakes and pastries (a whole table full), different breads, jams, fruits and vegetables, meat, cheese, yoghurts, hot and cold drinks, dried fruit and cereals. The staff were helpful and friendly. You can bring your computer to the reception or use theirs for a small fee. The reception area also has a little bar, books, games and plenty of seating inside and outside. You will also find useful travel advice that comes in chunky folders. The reception area is a nice place to hang out.

The only downside to this popular destination is that Quinta Do Mar puts emphasis is on catering for the German tourists. You will find signs in German everywhere, most travel advice is provided in German and be prepared to be chatted up by other travellers in German as they assume you speak their language.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UrbanMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We will never forgot our arrival at this hotel.

The receptionist almost ruined our holiday.

We arrived the hotel and one receptionist showed us the room, but it wasn't the sea view which we requested if at all possible when we booked, and the room was a bit dingy with no bath. So we asked her if there were any other rooms available to see, just to see, we were not complaining or angry.
She said it wasn't her decision and she had to ask to the manager.

When we visited reception the same receptionist still sounded unclear about it and either she didn't explain why we were not able to see other rooms, so we were confused.
There was another girl at the reception but either she didn't want to help us.
Finally the manager came. She already seemed to be angry with us.
She didn't check any booking system, but she kept saying,
'tell me which room you wanna see?' (we didn't know which one was available)
"you booked the cheapest room and some people spent more money, but your room is cheap one!'' (hello? Is it necessary to say? to be honest, 100euro per night isn't so cheap to spend in the Algarve but still, it's not the point!)

We were not treated nicely as her guest at all because she sounded like we booked the cheapest room? She seemed very angry and was not really making sense and it felt like we had to manage the situation very carefully, although at the same time feeling like we wanted to get back in the car and leave.
We were very upset and weren't happy about her attitude.

Luckily, this hotel's location was pretty (near the cliff), so we
had to decide to stay and tried to forget about this. We had a nice holiday in the end.

I don't know why all of the female receptionists had to show their rudeness to their customers!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank aingel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews