We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Fabulous Food and Ambience””

The Dolphin Restaurante
Ranked #6 of 64 Restaurants in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 18, 2019

This is our second trip to Luz in 4 months and The Dolphin was on our ‘must visit’ list, as always (5 years of coming to Luz) this restaurant never lets us down. It is a family run restaurant and that comes across from the minute you walk in as they certainly have got looking after their customers off to a fine art. The wine selection is superb and compliments the menu immensely. Highly recommended are the ‘piri piri chicken livers’ and the ‘mango and prawns with curry sauce’ followed by a truly magnificent dish called ‘capetbagger’ which is fillet steak filled stuffed with mussels & cheese, also fantastic was the ostrich espetada (a Portuguese kebab), lovely to have a choice of either chips or jacket potato, all meals served with a simple but tasty salad. As mentioned the service is always superb and despite us dining on an unnaturally cold February evening, there was a large blazing fire which was very welcoming. This restaurant is easily one of the finest in Luz and we can’t wait to return.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tray-Map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 998 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2019

Always deliciuos food and a warm welcome from Vim and the team. Looking forward to returning in April.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LandHCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2018

Had eaten here on two previous holidays and was looking forward to returning. However I felt both the standard of service and quality of food had fallen. Our meal was very rushed they seemed more concerned about getting our table back than us relaxing and enjoying our meal. The food was fair but nothing to write home about.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LightPacker320535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

First visit to this fabulous restaurant and it won’t be our last. Will visit again when back in Luz. From the moment we entered the restaurant we were welcomed by the friendly staff. They were very attentive throughout the evening and I couldn’t fault them. This is a South African themed restaurant but also has local dishes. Turning to the food. I had the prawns with mango and curry sauce. Very tasty and delicious. For main course the kudu. This was very tender and succulent cooked to perfection. Accompanied by sauté potatoes and vegetables. We were even offered extra veg. My wife had the spare ribs. These were again very tasty with a subtle glaze. Cheese was our choice for dessert and it’s certainly big enough to share. All in all a fantastic restaurant with great food and hospitality. A must visit place and would certainly recommend.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank JPE56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

We had a very nice meal at The Dolphin Restaurante. Tasted their steak and it was delicious. The mussels were not what we were expecting (thought they would be hot and in a broth, and they were served cold (they are from NZ and very large and chewy). Also the Peri peri steak app was way too spicy (for all 6 of us so was very spicy). The shrimp app was good, but not great.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Naxcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dolphin Restaurante also viewed

Luz, Faro District
 
Luz, Faro District
 
Luz, Faro District
 

Been to The Dolphin Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing