We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over rated restaurant”

The Dolphin Restaurante
Ranked #2 of 56 Restaurants in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
galway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“over rated restaurant”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

was recommended to us by friends .
i found it over rated foood was good but not excellent servcie folllowed the same pattern good but not excellent
prices were high for what we got and did not represent value for money

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank terence49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    164
    49
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
limerick,ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best steak”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We go back to the Dolphin every year.Its not cheap but it does really good steak.The prawn and mango starter is excellent as is the prawn main course.The kids love the curry.I would highly reccomend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deauvile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Still superb...”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Back to the Dolphin for the forth year and their food is still A1. We have the babotie, the carpet-bagger and the kebab, all great. As seen in other reviews, a little pricey, but you get what you pay for and well worth the money.
Let's hope we can get back there next year for 5 in 5.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisley, Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of South Africa”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

What a lovely meal out with my family I have just had. We were greeted by the owner - which is always a good sign. The service was attentive though not overbearing. The menu was varied but not excessive. I had a traditional South African dish while my wife followed the Portugese route. Both meals were well presented and delicious. I find a good way to judge a venue is to see what the children are given. Since the little 'uns aren't paying, some restaurants are tempted to serve lower quality meals to this age group. This criticism certainly could not be levelled here. Between them, my four children had three different main courses. Each meal used top quality meats and other ingredients, each was cooked to perfection; the best spag bol he had ever had, according to my well seasoned eight year old son. Another sign of a good restaurant is that it gets busy - so book.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justadaytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Praia da luz, hands down”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous, can't fault service, food or atmosphere. Wine selection amazing; food incredible. The only down side to this restaurant is that it is hot as hell til about 10pm . A definite for visiting Praia da luz but book in advance to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dublinmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dolphin Restaurante also viewed

Luz, Faro District
Luz, Faro District
 
Luz, Faro District
 

Been to The Dolphin Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing