We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic”
Review of Zakspitaki B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loggos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zakspitaki B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Loggos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent a week here at the end of April and it was idyllic. We stayed in the Zanzibar room, which was perfect and the whole setting was so relaxing with amazing breakfasts every day. Helen and Nick were very attentive as hosts and obviously genuinely care about making sure you have the best experience possible. Being picked up from the port and having the beach and bar within easy walking distance meant we didn't need to hire a car, which really made a difference. I can't imagine ever wanting to go anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireandroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
110
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We visited Zakspitaki at the end of September for a 10 days and can honestly say we had one of the best holidays of our lives. All the reviews below give you plenty of detail so we won’t go into that again, but if you're looking for a unique and special holiday on Paxos look no further.

We stayed in the Jacaranda Cottage which was large and spacious with a great kitchen, the decor an eclectic mix of furniture and artefacts from their travels that oozed charm. There is attention to detail and thoughtfulness throughout with special touches from beach bag, making sandwiches with you breakfast leftovers and frozen water for the scorching days, to the beer/water honesty jar and the tray of nightcaps. Relaxation is the order of the day with the most difficult decision being your choice of beach and taverna to visit. The Beaches on Paxos are heavenly, each with its unique charm - you'll never run out of options.

Nick and Helen were incredibly helpful and made life easy by amongst other things arranging our scooter and boat hire which was a highlight of our trip and a must do. From the first welcome at the port, it feels like you've known them both forever and are good friends returning for a visit. They’ve perfected the balance between being helpful and attentive while giving you enough space to make you feel secluded. They’re a generous and down to earth couple who were great company over a bottle of wine.

There is nothing that we would change if we went back other than staying longer!! If possible try arrange/share a sea taxi from Corfu to avoid wasting a day on either side waiting for the ferry which will give you more time to relax and explore the beautiful island.

Thanks to Helen and Nic for a magical holiday - hope to see you both again soon. R & A

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobbyandQueeny11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Zakspitaki is such an oasis. The wonderful hosts have created an amazing place where you can really escape all the hustle and bustle of the everyday, and just RELAX.

Helen and Nick were incredibly helpful - they booked our ferry tickets from Corfu, helped us book a tour of the island, recommended beautiful beaches and had great ideas for delicious restaurants.

Unfortunately though, we only stayed for 2 nights. Ideally, spend much longer than this - it will really give you time to explore the beautiful beaches and nearby islands. Also, it is quite a trek to get to from the local restaurants, especially when it is really hot during the day or really dark at night. A small price to pay for the beautiful views from the B+B!! Transport (car or motorbike) is almost essential here - it will also be a great help in exploring the island.

We'll be back - for longer next time!

Room Tip: We stayed in the summer house without air con (all other rooms were booked out) - very hot in the he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babycondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 5 nights here in October, Nick and Helen are very welcoming and the B & B is so comfortable and tastefully and thoughtfully fitted out. Why doesn't every place have a mosquito net round the bed. Nick and Helen are so friendly and have lots of information to help you make the most of Paxos. Don't be put off by the news from Greece this is a great place to chill, wonderful breakfasts and the nearest taverna is good value with above average food. If you are feeling adventerous the kitchen is better equipped than many so called luxury apartments I have stayed in, in fact it's got more kit than our kitchen at home! Love to get back there one day!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radusrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for four nights of our honeymoon with Nick and Helen's Zakspitaki B&B. Well – What an amazing experience! All of Nick and Helens accommodation oozes their wonderful warm characteristics and fantastic travel stories. The couples previous experience of living in Zanzibar and their love for food and wine resonates throughout their properties with a charming mix of European and African fusion. All the rooms and enriched with travel treasures which creates a unique story for each corner of all the houses they offer. Of the more fundamental features, the beds are probably the best you will ever sleep in. Skimping on quality is not in Nick and Helens vocabulary, everything has been thought about with utmost attention to quality and detail. The stunning views and amazing breakfasts are just some of the side details. We will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardandKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was my first time in Paxos - a fantastic island. Zatspataki B&B is simply beautiful, but in a laid-back, understated way. My friend and I stayed in the summerhouse, the cheapest of the three rooms. I think it cost 60 euros for the night for the two, and we stayed 7 nights. I couldn't believe my luck in finding somewhere so reasonably priced yet so perfect. The room was very clean, with an en suite loo and adjoining shower. Nick and Helen had collected some wonderful pieces of furniture on their travels, including the French walnut bed and Kenyan masks, which added character. I particularly liked eating breakfast on our own private little seating area, looking down towards the sea over Nick and Helen's colourful garden.

Which brings me on to the breakfasts... which also doubled up as lunch, as there was always a plethora and Nick and Helen leave tin foil expressly for that purpose. Local yogurt and honey with fresh fruit, HOME MADE bread and cakes (my personal favourite was the banana and cardamon loaf), and a generous plate of parma ham, salami and cheese. Plus juice, tea coffee etc. When we were there, another couple preferred savoury food for breakfast so I noticed Helen producing delicious-looking greek salads etc.

One evening, all the guests were invited to dinner by Nick and Helen. We had a selection of curries - the best I've ever tasted. The aubergine chutney was particularly good. Obviously we brought wine but H and N would not allow us to contribute financially to the meal - unbelievable! And they are great company.

There is so much more I could say, e.g. organising rental of scooters, endless lifts to and from Gaios, Helen's patience in explaining walking routes etc, but it would take all day. I cannot recommend Zatspataki highly enough.

Thank you Nick and Helen, I will be back!
Clara

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanAndClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our most recent stay at zakspitaki was another delight. We knew from past years that staying at nick and Helen's bed and breakfast is what makes our holidays on the beautiful island of Paxos so perfect. This was our third stay with Nick and Helen and our 4 th on Paxos. From the moment Nick meets you at the tiny port of gaios, your holiday really begins. The drive from the port along the coast road with the warm sun and the ultra blue sea makes you feel like you are in heaven immediately.it always surprises us how quickly we become accustomed to the slower pace of life on the island.
Although all previous reviews explain in detail how incredible Helen's breakfasts are, it would be improper not to add another. Basically Helen's breakfasts are full of a vast selection of alternatives it would be difficult not to find something to suit your taste. From the fresh fruit, homemade breads and this year especially the jam made from Helen's own Plums from the tree in the garden with the addition of cardamon added from their travels to India. Breakfast is not to be rushed if you mean to savour all the delights of Helen's baking which include homemade lemon drizzle cake, freshly baked muffins and all different sorts of bread.

Breakfast is served outside with a view to die for, looking across the blue sea to the Greek mainland.
Nick and Helen's hosting skills are also legendary, we had a meal with them and other guests one night and nick opened a bottle of his chateauneuf de pape called Colombis. The wine was amazing and this was unanimous!!

The little touches like flowers on your pillow every night and the regular changing of towels and bed linen is a standard above the norm on Paxos.

Regarding the island itself there are many good places to visit and eat out in the evening. Some of the not to be missed are the sunset bar at erimitis, loggos village where there is no music, just the sound of people eating and enjoying themselves. Roxis bar in loggos is definately not to be missed as a place for pre dinner drinks. There is a great taverna 5 mins walk from nick and Helen's if you don't want to take the road to loggos which is a 20 min walk downhill but not so quick back after your meal and possibly a few drinks, however a taxi is only 5 euros. We also went to Biros taverna this year which was something different on this island. The reviews on trip adviser confirm this.
We hired a car this year again which gives you a great deal of freedom however the taxis are good and the bus service is definately something to experience.
We will definately return another year after travelling to some very nice parts of the world, this property and island rank as one of the best.
Thanks Nick and Helen for another great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APS186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loggos
0.0 mi away
Torri e Merli Hotel
Torri e Merli Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lakka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paxos Club
Paxos Club
#2 of 3 in Gaios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paxos Beach Hotel
Paxos Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gaios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
0.0 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.0 mi away
Olympia Paxos Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zakspitaki B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zakspitaki B&B

Property: Zakspitaki B&B
Address: Kangatika | Between Loggos and Fontana,, Loggos 282 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Paxos > Loggos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Loggos
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Olive Groves on a hilltop, one kilometer above Loggos and 100 meters from the main bus route for the island, this delightful stone cottage enjoys veranda-views across the Ionian sea to the Greek mainland and Corfu. The 100-year-old property has been lovingly restored by its owners, combining Greek traditional exterior with a warm, comfortable, Arabic/African interior, inspired by the owner's many trips to Zanzibar and East Africa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zakspitaki Bed And Breakfast
Zakspitaki Hotel Loggos
Zakspitaki B&B Paxos, Greece - Loggos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing