We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ab Fab holiday at the Cosmos Maris”
Review of Cosmos Maris

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lardos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cosmos Maris
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lardos
Certificate of Excellence
rochdale
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ab Fab holiday at the Cosmos Maris”
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We arrived early hours of Sunday morning, George Snr. was waiting to greet us & show us to our room, a very long day as the Thomson's flight had been delayed over 1hr, & not a comfy flight.
This is a gem of a place, & we will be going back next year they treat all as family, even when my partner saw George eating an unfamiliar dish (dolmades), they brought some out for us to try, DELICIOUS. The food is great at the pool bar, & if your watching your euros it's very good value.
The walk into Lardos takes appro. 20mins, with a very good selection of restaraunts & bars, they all make you welcome.
We walked to Plakia beach most days towards Pefkos, this took appro 30mins.
Can't tell you how much we enjoyed this holiday, & we've been to quite a few Greek Isles. We don't often return to the same place twice but as I said this is definately the exception.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    54
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
115
285
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is a family run hotel, Georgina & Angelo the parents and there son and daughter George & Dimitra. This was our fourth time at the hotel and this year we had our two young sons and both sets of grandparents. Again we had the most wonderful time. The Hotel is clean, the rooms are excellent for self catering, the food & drink at the pool bar is value for money and good. The location of cosmos maris is excellent for Lardos village, with its excellent restaurant's especially Roula's and Valentina's. The bars are good memories and Yamas (which is owned by Georgina's sister, Maria and her husband Luka). Pefkos is close and there are excellent restaurant's and bars, if you have young children head to Artemis for a meal and just 100 yards up the road is a bar with a play area, great for knackering out the kids!
A short bus journey, or taxi or hire car ride is Lindos with the Castle, Acropolis and village! It's so easy to get too so don't pay money for tour operated visits. For hire cars use "Rent a car George", another relative of Georgina, great rates! Rhodes town is close and definetly worth a visit! If you love a beach then head about 20 minutes from Lardos and go to Agathia Golden Beach, you will not be disapointed!
I am biased as my wife and i love this place, Cosmos Maris is where we will be going year on year until we cannot travel anymore, it is a small peace of heaven and that is worth everything to us!
Give it a try and you will be amazed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilyBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon tyne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

George and Georgina yet again excelled in making us and everyone else feel welcome . They are a very nice family and only to pleased to help you. The rooms are immaculate and the whole place well kept.. The food is lovely and reasonable and caters for all tastes. Nice and quiet but not far from Lardos (our favourite)or Pefkos.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank March57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

The Euro is strong at about 1.14 to the pound so don't expect Rhodes to be cheap. We spent about 20 Euros each for meals and the hotel room air conditioning is 45 Euros a week.
The hotel is self catering although you can buy good bar meals by the swimming pool. This is staffed by George and Georgina, the friendly owners of the hotel. Many people return year after year, so that is a vote of confidence.
The only drawback to the bar area was the interminable loud sport being shown on the large TV which we did not enjoy - but some people would see that as an attraction.
There are 3 PCs with internet access (50cents for half an hour) , but no sign of antivirus and you need to delete your own browser history etc - not at all secure.
Our room was large (number 53) and on the ground floor well away from the pool and bar noise. It had a large enclosed patio area with table and chairs. Inside, we had 2 single beds and a sofa bed and basic furnishings. The en suite included toilet and bath with a shower over. The kitchenette had a 2 ring electric hob and very basic utensils.
We never had a problem getting a sun bed at the pool, which is a big plus - at any time of day.
The immediate village is small with a few eateries and expensive mini-markets aimed at tourists. The best restaurant is Casa di Flavia, about 7 minutes walk from the hotel. Lardos, 25 minutes walk, has more to offer with Valentina's and Roulas restaurants.
The hotel has up to 4 rooms which can be booked direct but all others are available only through Thomson Holidays.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwis in London, UK
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Cosmos Maris is in Lothiarika, a spot a short distance from Lardos (think souvenir shops and brit cuisine restaurants) and Pefkos (nicer hotels on a hill up the road). The hotel has an amazing team of cleaning ladies that work round the clock keeping the pool and rooms spotless. George, George Jr and Georgina who run the place from the poolside bar are always onhand to help and sell you stuff.

The room we had (no 34) was basic but all we needed, and on the first level at the back of property, tended to miss out on the poolside noise and nightclub action down the road. Great to have a balcony for breakfast and drying off swim gear etc.

The pool itself is excellent (especially in August with temperatures hittin 30c (108f) in the shade daily) with an infant area closed off from the graduated main pool itself that at its deepest reached about 2m (6'6").

Easy to pick up groceries from the local supermarkets and a motorscooter to get you to Glystra Beach (about 15mins away).

Aircon is additional - cost Euro45 for the week and also if you're on 'red eye' flights, be aware that checkin / out is 12 midday and a charge is applied if you need the room longer (which with Thomson packages is more often than not the case as flights tended to leave early am the next morning).

Simon & Gabrielle

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soundzgood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We and my boyfriend arrived at cosmos maris at 430 in the morning and were straight away welcomed by george, who showed us to our room and carried my suitcase. We were so excited we stayed up and took all of our beautiful surroundings in. The room was spotless as well as the rest of the hotel and the food was fantastic, so good we ate there at least once aday. Everyone made us feel so welcome and at home and there was nothing that we wanted for. The beach was gorgous and just a short walk away, and the bars and food in lardos village were great. You have to try Roulas, there were so many things we wanted to try and not enough time! Also Yamas bar is differently a must, ive never been made feel so welcome some where and had such a laugh, it also helps that cocktails are delicious.
I didnt want to leave and will differently be going back there ASAP!
From Rachel and James in devon

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xrayx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Had week in July, great rooms, well equipped, spotlesslt clean & larger than usual in Greece.Maid service daily, pretty good snacks at bar/ resataurant.£ or 4 bars & 3 or 4 restaurants two minutes walk away, Lardos village about half hour walk,theres pavement & streetlights.loved Lardos, nice square with maybe 4 bars, 5 retaurants overlooking it.All restaurants served very good Greek food,also got bus to Pefkos-a bit too built up & touristy for us, but worth a look.Had car From Georges, at bottom of lane,did island plus Rhodes town which was fantastic-park for free at stadium, georges will give directions.Also loved Lindos, with greaet architecture., but v expensive restaurans! Stifado about 6-7 Euro in Lardos, Pefkos, was 13 in Lardos!Only bad thing we did was moth/butterfly valley, really rubbish as moths sit on treres & don't fly, so only go if the sight of moths on trees excites you.Definately rent car for 2-3 days, was best days of holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterChococat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lardos
1.9 mi away
Lindian Village
Lindian Village
#2 of 14 in Lardos
885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lindos Princess Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lardos
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lardos
560 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
434 reviews
13.0 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmos Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmos Maris

Property: Cosmos Maris
Address: Lardos, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lardos
#1 Family Hotel in Lardos
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Cosmos Maris Pefkos
Cosmos Maris Hotel Pefkos
Cosmos Maris Rhodes/Lardos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing