We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No better place to be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cosmos Maris

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lardos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cosmos Maris
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Lardos
Certificate of Excellence
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No better place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We have been to the Cosmos Maris for several years now and always look forward to going back there. George and the family go out of their way to accommodate you and will do their utmost to cater for your needs.

The rooms are spotless and the food is excellent value as well as being equally as good if not better than some of the local tavernos - Georgina makes the greek dishes herself.

Everyone is friendly and now we can't wait to get back there on the 14th May.

Room Tip: Each room has its good and bad points so just go with the flow
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yoyo552070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    54
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
104
268
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

The best family run hotel spotless good food would certainly recommend.very large spacious rooms with cooking facilities. George and family are always there to help. Perfectly located for seeing the whole island.

Room Tip: The cleanliness of this hotel is second to none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We arrived at midnight and there was the lovely George, waiting to meet us and get us settled in....and then serving us a lovely cold drink!

Right from the word go, we could see why people return year after year. It was such a fabulous, relaxing place that we were even looking at the net to re-book for 2014....which we did about a fortnight after we returned...it's just too good to risk not being able to come back! That said, last weekend I booked another week for June, taking my teenage daughter with us this time!

All the previous comments are so true..you couldn't wish for a cleaner, friendlier, more relaxed hotel, but it's George and family who make this happen and they must be congratulated for running such an amazing establishment.

We didn't do a great deal in the 2 weeks we were there as we wanted to chill out....round that lovely, clean, refreshing pool....we did visit Lindos and Lardos but, to be honest, it was too hot while we were there to wander about too much! We also went to the beach either early morning or tea-time (ish)....you'll need beach shoes as it's a bit rocky, but it was like dipping in a bath!

The food at the hotel is very, very good...we ate there on all but 2 evenings..there is no need to go elsewhere....and I sooooooooooooo wish I could make Kleftico like that...please give me the recipe...it was melt-in-your-mouth as were all the other homemade dishes - George's Mum is a fabulous cook! The food is also extremely reasonably-priced. We found the toaster in our room was great for breakfast and the odd toasted sandwich at lunchtime.

We stayed in Room 40, overlooking the pool. The room was very clean and we slept like logs whilst there. The air-conditioning was a must (we stayed from 27 August - 10 September).

We met some lovely people during our stay and spent most of the fortnight round the pool next to Mark and Susan from Nr Wakefield, I think?)...thanks Mark for the towel placement!!

I have to end by apologising for taking so long to write this review - it is so worth a visit...and a REAL GEM!

Thanks George, Dimitra and everyone at The Cosmos Maris - see you 31st May!!

Sally & Lee xx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunworshippe5166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lardos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Always made welcome by one of the family that own the Cosmos Maris and shown to your room on arrival. Hotel within walking distance of Lardos or Pefcos towns though taxis available and busses run throughout the day and early evening. Rental cars start at around £25.00 per day and petrol prices just slightly lower than the Uk though the Island is a lot smaller.Plenty of secluded beaches around the Island and many places of interest. The Cosmos Maris is a very clean hotel and nothing within reason is too much for the staff who are very helpful. Local shops help if your budget restricts you to home cooking and the pool bar serves food from early morning till around 8.30 pm. Restaurants in the near by towns have a splendid choice of foods at very reasonable prices. Most of the locals are very friendly and a family atmosphere is found in abundance in the local towns and bars. In general a clean friendly place to stay if you enjoy the smaller hotel and usually peaceful subject to the clientele staying there at the time, though mainly people returning time and again. Good value depending on the travel company and their ever increasing rates.

Room Tip: All rooms have something different to offer but you can always request a move if not happy with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomo1lardos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

If you want a nice relaxing holiday this is the place to go, George and his family are very friendly and very welcoming, that's why we have booked up to go again fab holiday :) see you again in June George. :)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We had our 40th Aniversary at cosmos George and his family made our stay so wonderful.The whole family and staff were always very helpful and always had time to have a little chat.Would go back anytime. Clean,good food,great company what more could you want.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The aim of my review is to those not sure whether to take the plunge with this hotel. . .

Me and my boyfriend were toying with the idea of going on our first holiday together, trawling though the internet I came across a very cheap last minute deal to Rhodes. Although the rating was only two stars with Thomson’s I took to Trip Advisor! With 5 'dots' if you will the Cosmos Maris came VERY highly recommended. I spoke to the other half and we thought 'why not!?' so I booked it and like a pair of school kids we counted down every day of our six week wait!!

We did think that the flights were at funny times but we beat the airport queues both ways.

Arriving on Rhodes we had quite a long coach transfer considering that we had been on a plane for four hours was a bit of a drag but we tried to nap.

We reached the hotel early hours of the morning to be greeted by George the owner. What a wonderful man!!

We had a quick drink in the bar and asked if he was able to do us some food, to our surprise he offered to rustle something up :o)

Our whole holiday was amazing! I've never been able to say that any holiday was faultless but this really was!

We rented a car for the day and caught the bus everywhere, we loved it.

I have never seen such beauty as Saint Pauls Bay (no photo's I have seen since do it complete justice), a MUST see!!! We now call it 'our place' as it conjured up some amazing feelings. I can definitely see why it is so popular for weddings. I must admit we went there a lot during our stay and I cried every time we left. The final day was a nightmare lol! (Silly moo I know!)

George and everyone at the hotel were amazing and couldn't do enough for you. The pool was cleaned regularly on our stay and the cleaners were always working hard.

I noticed when looking at Trip Advisor that this was a hotel that was frequently visited again and again, I now know why.

As soon as we returned from our holiday I took to the internet again and booked a longer stay in June!

We loved the hotel and the island, it was truly paradise.

I would urge those of you not so sure people out there, we were in your position once and it's the best holiday that we have ever had!!!

x We hope this helps x

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lardos
0.2 mi away
Lindos Princess Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
Lindian Village
Lindian Village
#2 of 15 in Lardos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lardos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmos Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmos Maris

Property: Cosmos Maris
Address: Lardos, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lardos
#1 Family Hotel in Lardos
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Cosmos Maris Pefkos
Cosmos Maris Hotel Pefkos
Cosmos Maris Rhodes/Lardos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing