We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will come back, that's for sure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ilyssion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ilyssion
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Lardos
by the sea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“I will come back, that's for sure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

To be honest, I didn't believe all of those positive reviews about friendly atmosphere and wonderful people... and now... now I'm in love with Ilyssion :). Perfectly located (waves putting you to sleep... :)), with three swimming pools and a snack bar next to one of them would be just a hotel without Kostas, Katerina, Kyra, Chris, Stelios and other people working there. They gave Ilyssion a Soul, very beautiful soul indeed. I love complaining about everything and everyone, but in this case I just can't. Food was tasty and the bar was serving my favourite drinks (and if you can't see your favourite one, don't worry, you'll get one, just ask for it ;))
To sum up, if you like hospitable, friendly and domestic atmoshpere, go to Ilyssion, you'll never regret it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Len0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    71
    54
    45
    71
See reviews for
86
150
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
citizen of the world
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

I've never been to such a hotel before. I felt almost a family member. Kostas, Katerina, Kris, Kyra and Stelios are such wonderful people I'm sure I will come back if only to see them again. Ok, maybe I've been to better places as far as furniture or amenities are concerned [e.g. you have to pay for the fridge and for the AC after Aug 31], but the hotel is beautifully located, just near the sea, so you can take it in turns to swim in the sea with the fish or in one of the hotel's three swimming pools. Almost all rooms have a sea view. The hotel is clean, cozy, VERY friendly, at the time I was there the customers were 70% English, 10% Polish, 10% Italian and 10% Czech and I have to say such a mix was great, no noisy youths etc. The hotel is children friendly, with kids' menu, high chairs in the restaurant and a fun club. The food is good, provided you like Greek food. Just in front of the hotel there are two bus stops, so you can go to Lindos for EUR 1.5 or to the city of Rhodes for EUR 5, a walk to Pefkos takes about 10 minutes. Oh, and the deer are lovely :)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chomskey_on_the_rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

Without a doubt Kostas,Katrina,Kyra and Chris (not forgetting Stellios) work very hard to make this hotel enjoyable for everyone,as do all the staff.
Its location is great as well , right on the beach with two pools and only a ten minute walk from Pefkos
If you fancy a change then a short stroll to Corrali's will reward you with the best English breakfast on the island ! (and their choice of menu for lunch or evening meals are superb)
Sadly a few people were moaning about such trivia it's not worth mentioning,my opinion is if you can find better quality than this you will be paying a LOT more money!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ageingsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

We, like others, read the reviews before going out. We were a little concerned about comments regarding the food but went prepared and took extra money to compensate. The food in the restaurant is basic but it is edible, you do have to select what you want the night before and some may not like the selection but if you like chicken, pork, fish or pasta you can't go very wrong. They come with chips and sweetcorn and occasionally brocolli (mash potato not so tasty) and are served on tin plates. Starters are a bit strange (peas one night) and are served on small plates but you can help yourself to as much salad and bread as you like. Desserts a bit basic (one scoop of ice cream, 2 pear halves from a tin) but on the whole the food is edible. Breakfasts are little "samey" but again edible - you can survive on bread and cheese for 2 weeks and the odd egg. We did eat out more than perhaps we would have normally done but only because we like variety - try Zorbas in Pefkos main street - 3 course for 8.90 euro and free wine between 6 and 8.30 every night. Staff at the hotel are very friendly and accommodating, they made us feel more than welcome and were more than willing to help you out. They sat with us every night for a chat - maybe that's because we took the time to get to know them - if you spend time with them they'll spend time with you, they may even buy you a drink as happened on a couple of occasions with us! Location of the hotel for us was excellent - right on a small beach and with a bus stop directly outside the hotel (both ways) it didn't take much to get into Pefkos town or Lindos (1.50 euro both trips) - location possibly not suitable for those with mobility issues are there are no lifts at the hotel and no pavements outside the hotel and the street is very dark at night (hence us using the bus). Our initial room was very basic but clean and tidy (yes shower area a little small but this is Greece!) and we would have had to pay for the fridge had the padlock not been secure! Air con was free and the views from the room (all but 2 have sea views) were amazing - you can't beat opening the patio door each morning to a view of the sea! The shower had red hot water and was powerful, towels and linen changed regularly and if you wanted more you only had to ask. Even our light bulb was changed and TV mended as soon as we asked. We were moved on our last day to a newer part of the hotel and this room was lovely and very modern - large bedroom/living area and bathroom with big balcony, again overlooking the sea.
A family run hotel in an ideal spot for relaxation - 25 minute walk into Pefkos. Not much entertainment in the hotel but we were near the end of the season, what entertainment there was was reasonable.
In conclusion - if you want a relaxing holiday with beautiful views of the bay this is the hotel for you - do not take to heart all the reviews published by people just wanting to complain - the meals are more than edible but there is little variety - you won't starve and there are plenty of other places to eat in Pefkos (Lardos is very nice apparently but we didn't get to go there). Remember, Greece is not the UK!!! Overall we were very happy with what we got (ok spent more than normal) but it's simple, basic Greece. Would definitely return but consider B&B basis next time (which is an option) to give us more variety at night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greek_Babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

Went on a last minute week away with my daughter. Found the staff very friendly, accomodating. Rooms are basic, but have maids every day. Lots of steps. You have to pay for fridge, safety deposit box and the use of the sun beds 3 euro's a day, this I wasnt happy with. Air con was 20 euro refundable. Two swimming pools and baby pool, snack bar, limited opening 12 - 3.30pm with a varied menu. The Evening meals were satisfying, had better but have had a lot worse, although my daughter wasnt as keen, but a would prefer a Mac D every day! Basic breakfast, cereals, fruit juices cold meats etc. Eveing meal was 3 course, with a choice of main meal, also salads bar, as much as you like and crusty bread. The brochure describe as 800m walk into Pefkos, I would say it is at least a mile, on a sometimes lonely road with limited foot paths, It took us 20 mins to walk, not sutable if have walking difficulties. I would go back for a getaway from it all holiday, as situated on the beach which is stunning, but not if I was looking for entertainment as this was sparse on an evening and found the evenings long especially with a teenager so took off into Pefkos

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wREXHAM
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

My daughter and myself have returned to the Ilyssion hotel on four occasions. This is a family run hotel and all members of the family have made us feel welcome. The staff are very nice people and make the effort to make you feel at home.

The hotel is in a beautiful setting and there is a lot to see and do. The gardens are of a high standard and they have two lovely pools. We both found having a bus stop on the doorstop extremely useful. Looking forward to our holiday there in 2010

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WrexhamDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

The Hotel Ilyssion is a medium sized family run hotel situated just outside the village of Pefkos. It affords a wonderful location on the edge of the sea overlooking Pefkos and beyond. The owners and their staff are extremely friendly and will do their utmost to make your stay an enjoyable one. The rooms are good and cleaned every day. Bed linen changed every other day or so, towels every day if you wish. The pool areas are excellent as are the rest of the grounds.

The food at the hotel is not 5 star nor is it advertised as such, but in my experience it is good and cooked in the Greek way. Something to do with being in Greece I suppose. Breakfast is a good typical continental style one.

Should you wish to go out in the evening the villages of Pefkos, St. George and Lardos are a short distance away where you can go to the bars and eat in the restaurants if you wish.

In Greece you get Greek food. The sun is hot, sometimes very hot. The Greek culture is very different from ours. If you don’t like either, don’t go. No point in going and then complaining afterwards.

If you want peace and quiet then the Ilyssion is the place. If you want a little more then it is close by or go to Lindos where you will find everything. Don’t listen to the moaners and wingers, they are just people who will complain just about anything hoping to get compensation when they get home. 25% of the hotel guests are repeaters i.e. people who have been to the hotel on more that one occasion. We ourselves have been going to the Ilyssion for some 15 years or more, altogether 20-30 times and can honestly say that we have never had a bad holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliveybabyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lardos
1.3 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lardos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
20.4 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coralli Apartments
Coralli Apartments
#8 of 34 in Pefkos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Thalia Hotel
Thalia Hotel
#20 of 34 in Pefkos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sun Beach Lindos
Hotel Sun Beach Lindos
#12 of 15 in Lardos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#21 of 33 in Lindos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilyssion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilyssion

Property: Hotel Ilyssion
Address: Pefki Rhodes, Lardos 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Lardos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Ilyssion Hotel Lindos
Hotel Ilyssion Rhodes/Lardos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing