We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Sunshine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunshine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Lardos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Yet another relaxing and restful holiday at this lovely family run hotel. We stayed in the Studio apartments for the first time. These are lovely. Good size with double bed and sofa to relax on. With basic cooking equipment, including a kettle should you want to cook. But there is really no need with the wonderful food served in the restaurant everyday. Enjoyed one of the best carrot cakes and chocolate torte prepared by Peter. Popi, Dimitri and the boys once again made us very welcome. It really is like returning home. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean, and the pool is very welcoming after a day's sightseeing. Would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet, relaxing holiday away from the crowds.

Room Tip: Studios are quiet and well kitted out. Hotel rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 206 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day stay at the Sunshine Hotel, Lardos. This was our second trip to see Popi and her family. We went back because we were impressed the first time, this trip was even better !! The hotel and its surroundings are spotlesly clean, the whole of the team are warm and welcoming and do everything they can to make your stay a memorable one. The food served in their own restaurant is second to none and all reasonably priced. A little gem, see you next year

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just spent 2 weeks at the sunshine hotel in lardos with my wife, and 2 kids and mother in law. What a great place to stay.
The hotel itself is pretty basic, as you expect in Greece, but is worth more than the 2 star rating. Rooms are cleaned daily and the whole place is clean and tidy.
The hotel is family run and by far the most friendly and welcoming place we have ever stayed. Popi, Peter, Alex and Steven all made our stay a pleasure. Whatever you want is no dealt with swiftly and efficiently with nothing being too much trouble. The family dog, Paris, is great fun too!
In the evenings we ate at Popi's garden restaurant on many occasions and can safely say that this was the best food with the best atmosphere of all the restaurant we tried.
Lardos itself is still a quiet resort, great for relaxing. The only downside is the beach is quite gritty and pebbly. If you want a good sandy beach the Pekos is only about 2 1/2 Kms away , but is more crowded.
We have never returned to the same hotel or resort as we like to try new places, but we will definitely return here!

A really great place.

Nick, Sian, Dylan, Darcey and Chris.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just returned from a one week stay at the sunshine hotel, felt at home from the moment we arrived. Popi and her family were very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Attention to detail ensuring a relaxing and stress free stay. We dined most nights in the garden restaurant run by Alex and Peter which served top quality authentic Greek cuisine cooked by Popi. To complete your meal continue onto the bar where Stephen will serve a wide range of drinks and cocktails in relaxing atmosphere. The pool area was clean and well maintained and comfortable sun loungers available at anytime of the day. Totally unspoilt with a village feel as not overly developed although a well stocked supermarket next door for any essentials you have forgot to pack. Standard hotel room with high standard of cleanliness, for a fee air conditioning, fridge and safety deposit box available. If its not in the room or hotel in general just ask one of the family who are always happy to oblige. There a few places we would revisit as the world is a big place but this is definitely worth another visit. It's taking many holidays to find this gem but with "time" good results are archived. Missing the family already Karen, Gary and Emma

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are generally quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

What a lovely hotel..2 STAR ? should be more in my opinion.

friendly staff, Popi is lovelly, nothing is too much trouble.

We never go to the same place twice, we will be coming back next year I hope for our third year.
People have complained about the breakfast, I am a (in the words of my mother) a big lad and a roll, coffee and juice drink at 9 ish always saw me through til my lunch time beer and Gyro. If you are one of these people who need a 'full engerlish breakfast cuz I'm on holiday' try one there great but I didn't need it every day.

The Mixed Grill is excellent, the Beef Stifado the best! Pork chops are huge, Steaks lovely, Greek Salad fantastic (apparently, I dont eat green stuff!)....Even with all the other places to eat why bother? Many non residents seem to eat at Popi's every day. The refurbed bathroom that Popi is rightly proud of was great, non slip floor, hot shower (why is it still good when its 35+ outside?)
If you want a good honest place to use as a base as we did or a full on stay in the hotel and pool area I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Returned home on the 7th August after a fantastic two weeks at the Sunshine Hotel. It was a last minute booking and after seeing how many people return year after year to the hotel we decided to give it a go. What a real little gem of a place it turned out to be!
Our room 102, was basic and the shower was a bit, hit and miss, but everything was very clean and comfortable. Cleaned daily and linen and towels regularly changed.
The real secret is the family and staff that run the hotel. They are warm and friendly, nothing is ever too much trouble. The hotel's food is extremely good and the garden restaurant at night looks beautiful. We both enjoyed a couple of cocktails after an excellant meal (usually a mojito and a B52 both very recommended!). Steve and his partner were always so friendly.
The hotel is situated near the beach and Lardos is well positioned to explore the island, as we did when we hired a car.
We had previously visited Rhodes about 12 years ago, staying a few miles from Rhodes town, but by staying in Lardos it allowed us to access the whole island easily as nothing was too far away to travel to eg. Rhodes town, Lindos, Prassonisi, Monolithos, Epta Piges and Butterfly Valley.
Although we went out a great deal to explore the island it was lovely to return to the Sunshine Hotel late afternoon and know that we would be able to enjoy a relaxing swim in the pool and get a sunbed to relax on. We would love to return to this happy welcoming hotel sometime in the future and would have no qualms about recommending it to others.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel but personally did not find the road overly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrison92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Have Just come back from holidaying in the sunshine hotel. Had a great time. The room was spacious and the balcony was roomy though the weather was so hot we didn't use it much. We had a lower floor room which meant that we were below the ground level at the front but had a pleasant view of flowers from our window. Air conditioning and fridge were extra, which we had budgeted for as it was a must have. Popy's family and the staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant and there was no need to leave the hotel if you wished for a realy lazy holiday as the pool was good, you could get snacks drinks and light meals all through the day and the restaurant served good food at reasonable prices.The bar stayed open till late and nothing was too much trouble for Steve and the lady who helped him. We liked the beach which was less than 5 minutes away, and it was easy to catch the bus if we wanted to go exploring.There was a supermarket next door which sold everything that we needed.Our bathroom looked a bit tatty but everything worked and it was cleaned every day but Sunday.The room altogether was very good vaue for money. I would love to go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneCymreag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lardos
0.6 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lardos
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bel Mare Hotel
Bel Mare Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lardos
205 reviews
1.7 mi away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#22 of 30 in Lindos
340 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lindian Village
Lindian Village
#2 of 14 in Lardos
947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lindos Princess Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel

Address: | Lothiarika Beach, Lardos, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lardos
#2 Family Hotel in Lardos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lardos
Price Range: $29 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunshine Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunshine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Lardos
Sunshine Hotel Rhodes/Lardos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing