We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life in the slow lane”
Review of Armonia Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Armonia Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Kokkari
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Life in the slow lane”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at Armonia Bay Hotel in June 2011 after 3 hectic weeks in France - what a fabulous way to finish off our holiday. The hotel was situated in a quiet area away from tourists overlooking the ocean. The surrounds were amazing, sitting on the terrace having a cool drink and looking out over the olive grove to the ocean. Nearby town Kokkari was everything you imagine a Greek island to be - we hired a scooter and rode down there for lunch and cool drinks. Each night we ventured to a new little village to have dinner. One of the best was high up in the mountains where we ate typical Greek food with all the local inhabitants. We took the scooter over the mountains to the other side of the island and checked out the archeological site. There is so much to see - I would thoroughly recommend this island and hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank babyboomers52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    37
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
109
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My daughter and I arrived to find this lovely hotel, built into the hillside, nestled amongst trees with a view to die for. First impression was, fairly basic but clean and nice. We were met by a very friendly lady who showed us to our room. We had a superior double overlooking the bay - beautiful view. There was quite a few steps (so could be tricky for some) and luckily John took our suitcases up, otherwise that would have been a problem for us! We did have to clunk them down the three flights of stairs though on departure, so perhaps something could be arranged there. This hotel provides a good b&b - hot food as well as bread, ham, cheese, jams etc. Hot coffee (fresh too) and tea + herbals. The fruit selection each day could have been more varied.
Lovely fresh oranges from the tree to squeeze for juice. I have a gluten free diet, so I was able to use my own bread to toast, the staff were accomodating too for this, which was great. Very helpful. Elpida and John were great, nothing was too much trouble and they were friendly and helpful
The infinity pool is gorgeous and very comfortable sun loungers to laze on.
We hired a car for three days and explored the island. Monolates (probably spelt this wrong) is a must! go up into the mountains to visit this old village - roads are ok, very bendy, but so worth it when you get there.
Restaurants - definitely go to Donna Rosa - wonderful food - vegetarian and fish and so fresh! really lovely spot right on the sea front, with stunning views. Our favourite restaurant - thoroughly recommmend it as it's not in the main centre of Kokkari - it''s in the other direction - ask John!
The mosquito's were not funny! that was the downside - got bitten badly, but I guess you would get that in any hot country. Our room's veranda was too hot to sit out in during the day and we met guests who stayed in the garden rooms - you wouldn't get the stunning sea view, however, it is more private and cooler! A few tweaks here and there and it would be fabulous!
So, to round up, definitely worth a visit, a beautiful place and we will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PENNY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armoniabay, Owner at Armonia Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for the nice review and the positive comments about the hotel and the island.

We are sorry for the mosquito problem during your stay; blame it on us for buying the wrong spay. There is no problem anymore for over a month now, after using the correct spray.

The superior rooms are two floors up (not three) from the main lobby. If some people have difficulties climbing steps, can ask for a room at the lobby floor, but the view from the superior rooms is fantastic, for this reason they fill up first.

We take this opportunity to inform our guests that the furniture in the common inside and outside areas of the hotel, were recently updated and replaced with new high quality design furniture (B&B). The new look is far from "fairly basic" (see our web site for new photos).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I am writing this from the balcony of room 24 of this amazing hotel, the view is to die for, after reading about this hotel on a travel writers web site about two years ago I have wanted to come here, it is living up to all expectations, will definitely come again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank profzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was our third trip to Armonia Bay, our home away from home. We were greeted once again with smiling faces by the owner and staff.

The staff is always pleasant and helpful. It makes us sad to leave. Thank you John and Elpida for you great hospitality.

The rooms are bright and very clean, bed very comfy. Free computer access with W-Fi just off the lobby.

Breakfast has choices for everyone (eggs, bacon or sausage, cheeses, cold cuts, cereal, jams, fruits and jams, breads), oranges for fresh squeezed juice, coffee and teas.
Proffessionally landscaped ground surround the infinity pool. The pool overlooks the Olive trees (which started polleneting upon our arrival) and beach below. Very tranquil.

The clothing optional peebled beach has loungers and umbrellas for rent and is a 5 minute walk down from the hotel.

Kokkari town which is a 25 minute leisure walk has many choices in restaurants and giftware. Beware that the restaurants serve big portions of good greek food. We were always to full, ask for 1/2 portions or order one meal for 2 persons.

The taxi from Kokkari to Armonia Bay is 4 Euros.

Can't wait for our return next year.

Room Tip: The view from the 4th floor Superior and Junior Suite is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jbkToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Very nice hotel, very clean and very friendly people!sometimes we have to use taxi to go there but it is cheap!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gynter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

A two week holiday in serene sunny spot, crystal waters, easy evening escapes into the lush green hills. Great service and amazing food at a variety of restaurants John recommended. Would love to go back to Samos and the Armonia Bay Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank omshantilondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I spent a week at this hotel in late May 2011 and enjoyed my stay immensely. The location is delightful, with an excellent pebble beach just below the hotel (and a very good family-run taverna slightly up from the beach). The hotel grounds are well maintained and the swimming pool is faultless.
A warm welcome was offered by Elpida who is the life and soul of the place (we did have a feeling that things ran slightly less smoothly on her days off!). Breakfast is good.
Our room benefitted from a large terrace and magnificent views out to sea towards the Turkish coast. Furnishings were fairly simple but quite acceptable. Above all it was very peaceful (with the exception of the owl which seemed to take up nightly residence in adjacent woodland, but it was soon forgiven!)
A car is useful to have, given the location, although we walked most evenings into Kokkari. A drive to the mountain villages (Manolates and others) is recommended and Samos town is worth a short visit. The island of Samos is a delight; we particularly enjoyed the south-west and the excellent beach at Psili Ammos beyond Votsalakia (and the superb taverna of the same name which lies high above it).

Room Tip: certainly aim for a room with sea view because the location is what counts here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank revitalise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkari
7.4 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kalidon Panorama Hotel
Kalidon Panorama Hotel
#2 of 20 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kalidon Beach Hotel
Kalidon Beach Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 37 in Pythagorion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#14 of 20 in Kokkari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armonia Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armonia Bay Hotel

Property: Armonia Bay Hotel
Address: Tsamadou Beach, Kokkari 831 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Kokkari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kokkari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Armonia Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its lofty position above Tsamadou Beach, famed for its crystal-clear waters, Armonia Bay Hotel looks out across the bay towards Kokkari, a picturesque fishing village 3 kilometers away.The beach is a 5 minute walk, though it may be difficult to leave the hotel with the large and well designed freshwater swimming pool and the gorgeous views.Armonia Bay Hotel is not only privileged with such a wonderful beach side location and breathtaking views, but it is also small, friendly and welcoming to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Armonia Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armonia Bay sámos
Armonia Bay Hotel Samos/Kokkari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing