We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
53
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthird floorwonderful personbed linenperfect locationseaviewsgreektavernasterracesamosinternetprivacybeaches
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 53 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We have been visiting Kokkari, a small fishing village that has not suffered the effects of tourism, for many years. For us it ticks all the boxes: fantastic climate (the Meltemi wind makes the summer heat comfortable); great food grown locally readily found in the tavernas; a range of very drinkable local wines, including their world famous dessert wines; fantastically friendly people and, most importantly it's great for walking, biking and windsurfing!

Mike, the new manager of Virginia Apartments, is the perfect host who will finesse your introduction to the best places on this beautiful island and ensure you have a great time ... as he has done for us for many years.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tmjk92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Virginia Apartments is very well positioned in Kokkari, on the beach and close to restaurants and bars. The house consists of three floors and the top floor, which we rented, is slightly higher than surrounding houses. The apartment is large, about 90-100 square meters, half indoor and half in the form of terraces both facing the sea and opposite side. The inside of the apartment consists of a bedroom, bathroom and kitchen. Everything in top condition, in modern Greek style with white walls and light blue details, very fresh! Good beds, efficient air conditioning with remote control, relatively large fridge, nice bathroom but with small shower without walls, not the best but we always took a shower on the terrace. The terrace is stunning with two seating areas, a great shower, flowers and assorted decorations. The apartment was always very clean, free supply of fresh towels, even for the beach, change of sheets almost too often, etc.

Virginia and her son Mike are very nice and honest people. Virginia gave us a welcoming dinner and later in the week various samples of Greek cuisine. Mike drove us to the airport.

Kokkari is a nice place, quiet and relaxed with a wide choice of restaurants and bars by the port. When we were there it was blowing pretty much northerly winds (from the sea). Some days we walked to the beach Tsamadou which is a 20-30 minute stroll west of Kokkari. The western part of that beach was sheltered.

We can highly recommend Virginia Apartments!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank FamR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

A good friend of ours recommended Virginia's apartments. I must admit we thought it sounded too good to be true - we were wrong.

Kokkari in Samos has to be the one of the loveliest places to spend a holiday and if you lucky enough to go there, Virginia's apartment just sums up everything which is good about it. Sure there must be lots of lovely places to stay there but it would be hard to find somewhere with such a perfect location, gorgeous views, open, light and very Greek and with such a high standard of friendly and personal service and cleanliness.

It's a small family run establishment. The apartments are immaculate with wonderful views of the sea coast, of Kokkari town and the mountains. The bay has a lovely breeze so it never feels too hot and to be able to hear the waves as you drop off to sleep adds to the joy. We never wanted to leave! The top floor apartment has an unusual but beautiful terrace area where you can relax and shower outside watching the sun go down or eat breakfast with fresh bread and cakes from the local bakery. It literally has views all around (see photos) - you could have a lovely holiday if you never left the apartment!

The decor is beautiful in a simple Greek style but with lots of lovely extras which Virginia adds which makes it stand out from the standard apartment style. Everything is provided, even beach towels, which helps with the luggage allowance.

Virginia, who lives downstairs with her family, could not have made us feel more welcome. She is always there to help and give advice, helped us to find good priced car hire locally, was always surprising us with special treats and generally made our stay an absolute joy. Her son Michealis dealt with airport runs and was even kind enough to take us to one of the local villages for a meal. Thank you - you are a lovely family and your business deserves to be very successful.

Kokkari itself, whilst not really suited to the younger crowd who like the clubbing scene, is buzzing with wonderful restaurants, cafe bars, many with wonderful settings and views, and some nice shops, yet manages to keep its Greek charm without feeling like a 'resort'. Hiring a car can take you to nearly Samos Town, some truly charming villages, waterfalls and lovely beaches.

A special mention for Uli and Christos in the Cavos Bar, who also made us very welcome and make the best cakes and cocktails! There are too many good places to mention but the service, selection and quality of food was excellent everywhere we went..

Happy to say more to anyone who wants to e-mail us. We cannot recommend these apartments more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SnakeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed in Kokkari for 2 wonderfull weeks and rented both 2nd and 3rd floor in Virginias Apartments (our teenagers stayed in the 2nd floor). Virginia is a very caring person, who spoiles her guests and make them feel very much at home. We got this delicous lunch when we arrived, and got to taste her fabulous cakes with honey and cinnamon several times.
The review of gavagai from Belgium describes very well both the accomondation and its owners. The terrace on the 3rd floor is huge, and we used the open-air shower every day. Virginia offered us even towels to be used on the beach, in addition to lots of ordinary towels for showering. We didn't use the aircondition more than 2 nights because of the pleasent everlasting breeze from the sea. We were lucky to have Virginias son Mike to drive us both ways to the airport.
This is really a magic place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed for one week at Virginia's apartment on the third floor. We found out about it via the very nice designed website, made by Mike, Virginia's son. Mike also manages the email correspondences. He is extraordinarily helpful, replies very fast and everything is very relaxed and straight-forward. For instance, we asked Virginia for the room in the last minute before the trip, and at that point she could offer us a room only for one week, and since we wanted to spend two weeks in Kokkari, we were in need of finding another apartment for the second half of our stay. Mike and Virginia managed within a few minutes to find a very nice place for our second week.
The apartment is wonderful, and it is rather a suite: it has a kind of living room with kitchen, a sleeping room, a bathroom with shower, a balcony towards the sea and a huge terrace. All rooms are beautifully arranged by Virginia: with flowers and a love for charming details. They are extraordinary clean and equipped with everything you possibly need. Virginia cleans the rooms daily and exchanges towels and bed-sheets. Furthermore, the rooms are full of light due to the many windows. The balcony doors are equipped with mosquito nets which can be slided back and forth. In general, furniture and windows are of first quality. Due to the fact that the room faces the wonderful long
beach of Kokkari, there is always a breeze which makes the aircondition unnecessary (even though, the room has an air-conditioner installed). Also there were literally no mosquitoes. The balcony faces the long beach and it is very nice to stand or sit there and enjoy the fresh and vital air from the sea. The terrace is very big. Half of it is under a roof. In the middle you find an open-air shower (there are curtains) which we used every day (there is also an indoors shower, of course). There are many places to sit for having a meal or to read. The view is also great: you have more or less a full roundabout view: on the back the village and the countryside surrounding it, in front the sea.
Virginia is not just very professional in the way she manages her apartments, she is also a really kind host. Upon our arrival, we were welcomed by her with a most delicious breakfast. Due to her warm-hearted personality, it is always nice to have a little chat with
her. If you need to know something about Samos, she has always great information for traveling, eating and beaches. The same goes for Mike. He even picked us up from the airport. You feel immediately homely at Virginia and she does just the best to ensure that her guests have the most comfortable and relaxing holidays possible.
As for Kokkari: most about it has been said on other places in the internet. The punchline is always the same. It is a wonderful fishermen's village. You find along the village one long main beach which can be pretty wavy and was also on some days during our stay very calm (depends on the wind), and two smaller very calm beaches. The main beach is really long. You find many opportunities to rent sun-umbrellas (5-6 euros per two chairs and an umbrella). There are also many cafes along the beach. It is also a great place for wind-surfing. If you want to know more about it, best is to ask Mike,
since he's himself a surfer. The smaller beaches are also very nice, though there are no chairs or sun-umbrellas to rent. Two big beaches are a few hundred meters out of the village. A foot-walk brings you there in about 15 minutes. You can also take the bus (we never did since it's such a short walk). The village itself is wonderful. There are lots of cafes and restaurants along the long promenade. You have your drink or meal directly at the sea. In the evening it gets lively though never too loud or too crowded.
We wholeheartedly recommend Virginia apartments. If you wanna spend some vacation time in a really special apartment in a wonderful surrounding: this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank gavagai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews