We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a shame ...”
Review of Denis

Denis
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Trapezaki
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opening 1st of MAy...
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Such a shame ...”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Don't get me wrong, this is a beautiful restaurant in an amazing location. The food's good, the music is chill-out all the way and people I know rate this place very highly. Sadly my husband and I had a different experience. Last year we found we were less welcome at Denis than any other place in and around Lourdas, we could see what a lovely place it was but we didn't feel the warmth we had read about. Anyway, this year we drove down to watch the sunset over a lovely meal. When we arrived the waiter positively slapped the menus down and walked away. We waited and waited for him to return to take our order or even to offer us a drink ... we must have waited over 20 minutes and they weren't that busy. We gave up in the end and left. My husband's black - I can't think of any other reason why we were treated differently. Sorry Denis but you have to be more inclusive. Maybe we'll give you another chance next year but I doubt it when there are wonderful restaurants like the Olive Lounge and Andromeda nearby.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacq_and_Eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    99
    24
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South-East
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We come back every year”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Very friendly family run restaurant right on the beach, wonderful place to take a break in the middle of the day or come back in the evening. Best combination possible which we've done many times is to stay at the Trapezaki Bay Hotel which is a few minutes walk away and come to the Denis for a change. There are quite a few cats around but they've never caused us a problem. Menu is typical Greek, freshly cooked, and the staff are all up for a chat once they know you which just adds to the experience. My personal choice is the meatballs but beef in sauce is also good, alterantive combination of starters are - be warned - VERY filling!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philtherunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A place for lunch”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Only used this Taverna for lunch but I am sure dining here in the evening would be just as pleasurable. The location close to the beach is ideal. Good choice of food well presented. Do not go here if you do not like cats who can become intrusive when eating. The staff do their best to deter them.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank STANLEY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly service & amazing food. Great location right on the beach.”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The family take great pride in producing high quality food. You may have to wait a while for it to be served but that anly means it's been cooked freshly

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wales1girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great view and proper Greek food”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Great garlic bread and the beef in tomato sauce is ace. Wine is average although show me a decent Greek wine! Owner is very welcoming and we ended up going there 3 times in a week.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank neil_atkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denis also viewed

Trapezaki, Cephalonia
Trapezaki, Cephalonia
 
Lourdas, Cephalonia
 

Been to Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing