We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A week of chilling”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trapezaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Afrato Village Apartments
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trapezaki
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A week of chilling”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We just spent a week at Afrato Village Apartment's and enjoyed every minute. Jerry and Christina are wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Our Apartment was spacious, immaculately clean and had all you could wish for self catering. If you want a nice time away from it all then this place is ideal.

Will definitely return some time soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andybbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    3
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just spent a blissful 2 weeks at Afrato Village Apartments - Sept. 12 -26th 2013. It was a fantastic setting with our balcony overlooking the ocean towards Zante with the mountains of southern Kefalonia to either side of us. Superb - we could not have wished for a better setting. It was all we had dreamed of - and more - of a holiday in this part of the Greek Islands. It was unspoilt Greece as we remembered it from many years ago. How wonderful to be in such a rural setting. There was lots of walking to be done from our apartments to civilisation - mini-markets, restaurants and the beaches being at some distance, but we felt it was worth it to return to our hidden oasis of Afrato Village. Our apartment was spacious with windows on 3 sides. Plus we had the use of a beautiful swimming pool which was owned by Afrato Village Aparts. This too had a magnificent view. The apartments and pool were well cared for and the extensive grounds well-maintained. The owners themselves were a responsible and lovely couple: Gerry collected and returned us to the airport and took us into Argostoli one day, whilst Christina, his wife, surprised us several times with home-made cakes and jam. Her cakes were so good we suggested she should appear on The Great British Bake-Off TV show! We would like to say a big thank you to them both and we considered that Afrato Village Aparts was a very lucky find on the internet. Ann & Frank

Room Tip: Our room was no.6 and was upstairs taking full advantage of their wonderful views.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at these apartments for one night after resort hoping trip around the island. Apartments are a good size with amazing views. The place was a little tricky to find from the main road in our hire car, but after a few corrected wrong turns we were sorted. The nearest bars and restaurants are about 25 minutes walk away, with the Olive Tree and 360 bar a good choice (see my reviews). The pool is next to apartments along the road. This had a bar which was closed and only open during the main holiday season. Even so, we had the pool to ourselves, which was pretty good for late May.
I feel this is an ideal place for peace, quiet and seclusion. Other than the pool there is not much to keep kids occupied. A hire car is recommended for Kefalonia, but is a must for this place. Its fairly cheap and we saw the entire island over a week with half a tank of fuel.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank popeyeNqy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Booked this directly and couldn't have been happier. These apartments are family run and are very secluded (25mins walk to nearest bars and shops). Each day fresh fruit was left in the apartments and they were very clean.
Size wise very large and comfortable with real air con (included in our price).
We had a great balcony and chairs overlooking the sea and it was perfect.
The pool was a good size and away from the apartments which was nice too - it was empty most days and was v peaceful. The sun loungers could be better though.
There is a small bar but jerry only opens it up as and when.
Kefalonia was again exceptional and is not a party island but a very laid back retreat. Will definitely be back.u

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank polly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Have just returned early june from 3rd visit to Afrato and Jerry has been the perfect host!!
Nothing is too much trouble for him and Christina, they go out of their way to help. We had a very restful holiday, lovely weather, lovely food and lovely company. Only 4 of us and 2 other couples, just right. Kefalonia was very quiet this year, but it was still lovely and we shall be back again soon.

Moira, Dave, Irene & Paul

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pocruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have been going back to Afrato of and on; mainly on for the last 11 years. If you want to just get away kick back and relax this is the place. Not ideal for kid's or if you are looking for a lively holiday. If like us you want well kept, clean rooms, with great views where you can relax with no other noise apart from the sound of the sea and the crickets in the back ground then this is the place.
Jerry and Christina make you feel very welcome it's like visiting friends. Looking forward to our next visit already
John& Brenda H

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnbrenda21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Arrived, looking forward to a drink by the pool. Told no bar. No bar till next week. No other guests, if we had been told we would of gone else where. No guide to local facilities, welcome pack one bottle of water. We are then told we have to pay cash, and as there is no cash point in village we have either got to find a bus (no guide in room or hire car) to main town

We wanted to get away for peace and quiet, not a morgue.

Unless you are a mountain goat you need a hire car.

We then found out that these appartments are in two places, 3 couples are in one place and we are on are own with no idea of where or what to do. Hopefully the car hire place tomorrow will be more helpfull. The only informative helpfull person was a barman in a bar we found by chance


  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapezaki
0.8 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
5.4 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
9.3 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Leivatho Hotel
Leivatho Hotel
#38 of 140 in Cephalonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
5.4 mi away
Baha Ammes Apartments
Baha Ammes Apartments
#3 of 7 in Svoronata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
10.8 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afrato Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afrato Village Apartments

Property: Afrato Village Apartments
Address: Afrato | Vlachata, Trapezaki 471 50, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Trapezaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trapezaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Afrato Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing