We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect cure for a stressful life”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trapezaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Afrato Village Apartments
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trapezaki
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect cure for a stressful life”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just back from our 2nd visit to Afrato Village, we enjoyed again a wonderful and peaceful holiday. The apartments are clean and well equipped. The view is absolutely fantastic and romantic (especially under the moon). The terrace and the swimming pool are great and well equipped too. Jerry and Christina make you feel at home. They are friendly, hospitable and attentive. The apartments are conveniently located, near to wonderful beaches and great tavernas. A car is needed if you really want to take full advantage of the loviest places in kefalinia. We really recommend this place for a relaxing and reinvigorating holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank einter10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    3
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have been holidaying at Afrato Village for the last ten years and have just booked again for 2013, which says everything.Jerry and Christina are delightful and helpful hosts: nothing is too much trouble. The aparments are scrupulously clean, equipped with TV and air conditioning, larger and well arranged than comparable local accommodation. Overlooking the sea the views are sumtuous and the surroundings peaceful and quiet apart from cicadas and sheep. The pool is beautifully well maintained and peaceful - sometimes it seemed like a personal item. The apartments are situated down a cul de sac - so no traffic noise and a short walk is needed to reach the nearest tavernas and shops - but a car is recommended for the less energetic. We have been to other Greek Islands and other apartments/hotels on Kefalonia but without doubt Afrato is the best - tranquility in abundance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamlingay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have just returned from our 6th visit to Afrato Village which was once again a perfect holiday. Jerry and Christina are perfect hosts with nothing being to much trouble. The apartments are immaculately clean and very well equiped. The pool is beautiful with breathtaking views out to sea. Behind the apartments stands majestic Mount Ainos, A narrow lane through the olive trees takes you out to the main road and up to the village.
Kefalonia is a stunning island made up of lovely sandy beaches and pretty villages.
For a peaceful, relaxing holiday Afrato village is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have visited Greece and the Greek islands many times and have always enjoyed the hospitality, however Gerry and his family are just ..... great, making your holiday relaxing and stress free, I think the place and people is fantastic. The Apartments are clean, well equipped, peaceful and have great views.The location has a short walk to local Tavernas and shops, but I would recommend a car to get around the island, driving is easy on Kef as the roads are quiet and most of the big drops (which I hate) are guarded, just take you time and don't worry when you get lost, just consider it as the scenic route.
The Island has a lot to offer quiet beaches and clear seas where ever you go, food and drink if eating out is generally pretty good and reasonable value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have just returned from a four-week stay with Jerry and Christina (the owners). This was our 11th year at the Afrato Village having found it by accident in 2002. We say accident but serendipity is a better word as we feel it is our Greek home from home. Jerry and Christina are both kindness itself and nothing is too much trouble for them.

The apartments which are well maintained and have everything you could want are in a fabulous setting overlooking the sea with Mount Ainos behind them and surrounded by olive and citrus trees. The area is beautifully quiet and peaceful and almost the only sounds come from the bells on local goats and sheep, the crickets and birds. From our balcony you can also hear the waves on the beach far below. You are guaranteed a restful time.

The village of Lourdas has a range of tavernas and supermarkets and is a short drive or even walk away. In fact the walk back to the apartments after a wonderful meal in the evening is very welcome. However we would recommend a car or some form of transport to be able to carry the heavier items back from the supermarkets.

The Afrato Village is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We came back to Afrato this year (4th visit) after not visiting last year. We really missed the break that a stay at Afrato offers.
The island is lovely with a variety of beaches. If you have a car it is easy to choose from wide sandy beaches with facilities right through to tiny unspoilt coves.
As a base Jerry's apartments suit us beautifully. They are simple but have all you need. Everything is clean and in good condition.The pool and terrace are spacious. We enjoy a peaceful holiday
We usually visit at about the same time and meet other regular guests - so Jerry and Christina must be doing something right. We are made to feel so welcome and leaving is hard.

Room Tip: We choose a first floor room in the pink clocks to enjoy a wonderful view across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazda5Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have been visiting Kefalonia for some 17 years now and have been lucky enough to find the people we meet are friendly and helpful. We got even luckier 5 years ago when we found the Afrato village apartments run by Jerry and Christina. The apartments are beautifully maintained and spacious and are in the most beautiful setting you could imagine, sea and lovelycoastine to the front and mount Ainos behind.
Jerry and Christina are a wonderful couple who make everyone feel welcome and, speaking personally, treat their guests more as friends than as clients. Nothing is too much trouble and the welcome we receive is beyond price. No wonder so many people return year after year.
I cannot recommend the Afrato highly enough, but do please leave us room to return again next year and the the year after....
If you enjoy peace, quiet, good food and a relaxed and friendly atmosphere you can do no better.

Steve and Pam

Room Tip: All the rooms a great, but we prefer a second floor room because the great views are even better. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapezaki
0.9 mi away
Karavados Beach Hotel
Karavados Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavados
198 reviews
2.4 mi away
Panas Hotel
Panas Hotel
#53 of 140 in Cephalonia
118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Irinna Hotel
Irinna Hotel
#6 of 7 in Svoronata
139 reviews
5.4 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
9.3 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afrato Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afrato Village Apartments

Property: Afrato Village Apartments
Address: Afrato | Vlachata, Trapezaki 471 50, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Trapezaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trapezaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Afrato Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing